create basic volume with DSM5.0 Wizard

Topics pertaining to volume setup, boot/shutdown, initialization, DSM update, HDD migration.
Forum rules
1) This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form:

https://account.synology.com/support/su ... p?lang=enu



2) To avoid putting users' DiskStation at risk, please don't paste links to any patches provided by our Support team as we will systematically remove them. Our Support team will provide the correct patch for your DiskStation model.
Jonathan_HC
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2014 8:49 am

create basic volume with DSM5.0 Wizard

Unread post by Jonathan_HC » Sun Sep 14, 2014 9:10 am

I have a new DS214play and I want to install two 2TB drives as JBOD (one will mostly backup the other). From several forum posts I gather I need to create two 'basic' volumes using the custom menu of 'create a volume' of Storage Manager.

However when I try this the DSM 5.0 'Volume Creation Wizard' that appears does not list a non-RAID option under the 'custom' option. The choice given is either 'Single volume on RAID' or 'Multiple Volume on RAID'. Synology's help on the topic also seems to omit any mention of how to choose a 'basic' or non-RAID option.
https://help.synology.com/dsm/?section= ... olume.html

What am I missing? How do I create a 'basic' volume using DSM5.0?

Thanks

User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
Posts: 19439
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: create basic volume with DSM5.0 Wizard

Unread post by HarryPotter » Sun Sep 14, 2014 1:14 pm

Single volume on RAID, then select only 1 disk, then chose "basic". Then repeat this steps for the 2nd disk.
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS718+ / DSM 6.2-23511 / ST4000VN000-2AH166 / SA400S37120G SSD cache /16 GB RAM
DS415+ / DSM 6.2-23511

LMS 7.9.1-166, 2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom

APC Smart UPS SUA750i

Post Reply

Return to “Installation, Configuration, Migration, Expansion”