Can't access diskstation

Questions pertaining to Power settings, Auto Block, Permissions, User Quotas and Email alerts may be posted here.
Forum rules
1) This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form:

https://account.synology.com/support/support_form.php?lang=enu



2) To avoid putting users' DiskStation at risk, please don't paste links to any patches provided by our Support team as we will systematically remove them. Our Support team will provide the correct patch for your DiskStation model.
dar346
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 8:01 pm

Can't access diskstation

Postby dar346 » Mon Apr 29, 2013 12:25 am

I'm having trouble accessing the diskstation on my home network. I had a problem with the router that was reset. I put it back to same settings before the problem. Clients on the network can access the internet and the router (192.168.1.1 - gateway). 192.168.1.8 shows in the router as an active client connected to the network

The diskstation ip address is 192.168.1.8

I can open a browser window and access it using Synology Assistance

When I try to access files using Windows Explorer I get an error, "Windows can not access diskstation -- adress not valid". But when I go to network places, it shows there

I opened a command window to ping the ip address. The request times out

running DSM 4.1-2647
DS 209

Network settings in DSM
Server Name: HomeDiskstation
Default Gateway: 192.168.1.1
Manual config:
Ip Address 192.168.1.8
subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
Network status: 100, Full duplex, MTU 1500
Jumbo Frame: Disable Jumbo Frame, The MTU value is 1500

prior to problems with the router I was accessing the server from the internet using DS Audio and DS File with no problems.

this is frustrating... any suggestions? thanks
Dave
dar346
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 8:01 pm

Re: Can't access diskstation

Postby dar346 » Mon Apr 29, 2013 1:07 pm

when I try to map a drive from Synology Assistant, I get "Authentication Failed (error code: 67)
Does this help id the problem?
synology_ukman
Enlightened
Enlightened
Posts: 482
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 4:51 pm

Re: Can't access diskstation

Postby synology_ukman » Mon Apr 29, 2013 2:49 pm

Does NOT sound like a nas issue, what happens when you connect direct to a pc.

[edited!]
Last edited by synology_ukman on Mon Apr 29, 2013 3:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
dar346
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 8:01 pm

Re: Can't access diskstation

Postby dar346 » Mon Apr 29, 2013 3:01 pm

I'll try direct connect tonight when I get home.
I also tried changing the static IP address, no difference
This NAS was connected to the internet. Could the security certificates be causing any problem? How would I delete the security certificates?
synology_ukman
Enlightened
Enlightened
Posts: 482
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 4:51 pm

Re: Can't access diskstation

Postby synology_ukman » Mon Apr 29, 2013 3:19 pm

If you can't ping it has nothing to do with security.
dar346
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 8:01 pm

Re: Can't access diskstation

Postby dar346 » Mon Apr 29, 2013 3:22 pm

OK, that makes sense :o
dar346
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 8:01 pm

Re: Can't access diskstation

Postby dar346 » Tue Apr 30, 2013 1:22 am

To connect the DS direct to a computer, do I need to set the computer ip address to a static IP address? When I connect it, I should be able to ping it and map a drive?
synology_ukman
Enlightened
Enlightened
Posts: 482
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 4:51 pm

Re: Can't access diskstation

Postby synology_ukman » Tue Apr 30, 2013 9:00 am

dar346 wrote:To connect the DS direct to a computer, do I need to set the computer ip address to a static IP address? When I connect it, I should be able to ping it and map a drive?


Yes, say 192.168.1.80 computer, 192.168.1.8 NAS.

I think you are missing something here, why the NAS does not ping.
dar346
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 8:01 pm

Re: Can't access diskstation

Postby dar346 » Tue Apr 30, 2013 12:16 pm

I connected the nas to the computer.
couldn't ping
couldn't map a drive from Synology Asst. got an error message "authentication failed error code 67"
I was able to open Synology Asst and access the nas
next step?
synology_ukman
Enlightened
Enlightened
Posts: 482
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 4:51 pm

Re: Can't access diskstation

Postby synology_ukman » Tue Apr 30, 2013 4:25 pm

dar346 wrote:I connected the nas to the computer.
couldn't ping
couldn't map a drive from Synology Asst. got an error message "authentication failed error code 67"
I was able to open Synology Asst and access the nas
next step?


Turn it off, pull all the drives and see if the assistant will allow access and prompt for re-installation of dsm.

Otherwise I suspect there's something up with your network.

I would contact Synology for remote support.
dar346
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 8:01 pm

Re: Can't access diskstation

Postby dar346 » Tue Apr 30, 2013 5:08 pm

ok thanks.. I'll give it a try and see what happens
dar346
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 8:01 pm

Re: Can't access diskstation

Postby dar346 » Wed May 01, 2013 12:36 am

I contacted Synology support. They figured it out...

In the firewall settings in control panel, there are no rules. at the bottom there's a radio button, "if not rules are matched" set to allow or deny. It was set to "deny access". Once I changed it to "allow access", everything was working fine.

:D very happy it's up and running again.
synology_ukman
Enlightened
Enlightened
Posts: 482
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 4:51 pm

Re: Can't access diskstation

Postby synology_ukman » Wed May 01, 2013 2:31 pm

Shows how nice they are when it was nothing to do with your NAS.
oboehack
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 1:01 pm

Re: Can't access diskstation

Postby oboehack » Tue Oct 08, 2013 1:10 pm

I realize this is an old thread, but I had a similar problem with the same solution. It cropped up after trying to install some of the additional packages and prevented me from connecting to DS until I ticked the box mentioned in this thread (I think I also did some EZ internet thing . . ) Just to point out, the firewall the OP is referring to is in the synology assistant software.

So by clicking the "if no rules apply then allow connection" box, have I left the NAS vulnerable?
quint
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 8:35 am

Re: Can't access diskstation

Postby quint » Fri Aug 15, 2014 8:42 am

ah... I recognise this. My NAS accessible through the web - local or via the internet. But no luck via the Windows Explorer or Ping.

I had just upgraded to the latest patch on my DS408 because of security vulnarabilities. But I also remember not too long ago enabling DLNA / Mediaserver.

Using this thread, I took a look at the Syno FW settings and indeed.... it added a rule to allow DLNA / Mediaserver and the radio button at the bottom is set to "Deny access". Meaning effectively only DLNA protocal is allowed access.

I cannot wait to get back home to test if this is now working, But I'm very positive it will!!

many thanks in advance!!!

Return to “System Management”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests