Show home folder as root

For issues regarding settings and usage of FTP and WebDAV service, post it here!
Forum rules
We've moved! Head over to Synology Community (community.synology.com) to meet up with our team and other Synology enthusiasts!
MirkoW
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 7:49 am

Show home folder as root

Unread post by MirkoW » Wed Sep 19, 2018 7:56 am

Hello,

i Need to migrate all ftp users and their Content from ws-ftp to synology.

actually each user uses their home Folder as root Folder. and one tecnical user have Access to all Folders via smb to all Folders.

How can i change the root folder to home Folder of each ftp user?

Regards, Mirko

User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
Posts: 19674
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Show home folder as root

Unread post by HarryPotter » Wed Sep 19, 2018 9:26 am

DSM - Control Panel - File Services - FTP - Advanced Settings.
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS718+ / DSM 6.2-23511 / ST4000VN000-2AH166 / SA400S37120G SSD cache /16 GB RAM
DS415+ / DSM 6.2-23511

LMS 7.9.1-166, 2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom

APC Smart UPS SUA750i

MirkoW
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 7:49 am

Re: Show home folder as root

Unread post by MirkoW » Wed Sep 19, 2018 9:31 am

Hello,

i can't choose sub-directorys as root folder.

i enable the use Home-Folder feature but there are not exist anoption to set home folder als root folder.

I need to add more then 100 accounts and all users should have only access to their home folder only.

User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
Posts: 19674
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Show home folder as root

Unread post by HarryPotter » Wed Sep 19, 2018 11:39 am

Home folder is the setting you need. Each user will only see his own home folder then (enough threads about what "home" is and how it works).
Unfortunately you need to set it up for each user individualy.
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS718+ / DSM 6.2-23511 / ST4000VN000-2AH166 / SA400S37120G SSD cache /16 GB RAM
DS415+ / DSM 6.2-23511

LMS 7.9.1-166, 2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom

APC Smart UPS SUA750i

MirkoW
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 7:49 am

Re: Show home folder as root

Unread post by MirkoW » Wed Sep 19, 2018 11:58 am

I can't find a thread which explain how i can use home folder as base folder

if i logging in via ftp i see my home-folder as folder-item. But i want to starting up in home folder directly and dont want to switching to my home folder manually after logging in.

Actually its only possible when i create a shared one shared folder for each user and change the individual home folder to this share folder.


There are an option to create a symlink in gui? for example all folders in /volume1/ should be displayed in /somefolder/ of a tecnical user.

User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
Posts: 19674
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Show home folder as root

Unread post by HarryPotter » Wed Sep 19, 2018 1:00 pm

MirkoW wrote:
Wed Sep 19, 2018 11:58 am
if i logging in via ftp i see my home-folder as folder-item.
I can not confirm this. Just tested it with a test user, set ftp root directory to "user home" and connected with filezilla. I "landed" directly into the folder "home". No additional click needed.
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS718+ / DSM 6.2-23511 / ST4000VN000-2AH166 / SA400S37120G SSD cache /16 GB RAM
DS415+ / DSM 6.2-23511

LMS 7.9.1-166, 2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom

APC Smart UPS SUA750i

MirkoW
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 7:49 am

Re: Show home folder as root

Unread post by MirkoW » Wed Sep 19, 2018 1:30 pm

Hello,

i reproduced this issue with follow steps:

1. enable "Enable user home service" under User / Advanced
2. enable FTP and SFTP Services
3. create a user "test4" with follow details:
-Name, Password
- Groups: users checked (no changes)
- Folder permissions: no checkboxes checked (no changes)
- Quota: no changes
- Application permissions: allow FTP
- Limit Setting: no changes

After logging in with "test4" root-folder contains home-folder as item.

Here are the client command with result:

C:\Users\tec>ftp 172.xxx.xxx.xxx
Connected to 172.xxx.xxx.xxx
220 NAS-Server FTP server ready.
User (172.xxx.xxx.xxx:(none)): test4
331 Password required for Test4.
Password:
230 User Test4 logged in.
ftp> dir
200 PORT command successful.
150 Opening BINARY mode data connection for 'file list'.
drwxrwxrwx 1 Test4 users 0 Sep 19 14:24 home
226 Transfer complete.
ftp: 68 bytes received in 0.00Seconds 68000.00Kbytes/sec.
ftp>

Here are some Infos about the synology devices:

Device: 2x RS818+ in HA-Mode
DSM: DSM 6.2-23739 Update 2

User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
Posts: 19674
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Show home folder as root

Unread post by HarryPotter » Wed Sep 19, 2018 1:42 pm

I did the same:

Code: Select all

C:\Users\MyName>ftp 192.168.1.11
Verbindung mit 192.168.1.11 wurde hergestellt.
220 DS718 FTP server ready.
500 UTF8: command not understood.
Benutzer (192.168.1.11:(none)): ftpbenutzer
331 Password required for ftpbenutzer.
Kennwort:
230 User ftpbenutzer logged in, access restrictions apply.
ftp> dir
200 PORT command successful.
150 Opening BINARY mode data connection for 'file list'.
226 Transfer complete.
ftp>
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS718+ / DSM 6.2-23511 / ST4000VN000-2AH166 / SA400S37120G SSD cache /16 GB RAM
DS415+ / DSM 6.2-23511

LMS 7.9.1-166, 2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom

APC Smart UPS SUA750i

User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
Posts: 19674
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Show home folder as root

Unread post by HarryPotter » Wed Sep 19, 2018 1:46 pm

Image
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS718+ / DSM 6.2-23511 / ST4000VN000-2AH166 / SA400S37120G SSD cache /16 GB RAM
DS415+ / DSM 6.2-23511

LMS 7.9.1-166, 2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom

APC Smart UPS SUA750i

User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
Posts: 19674
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Show home folder as root

Unread post by HarryPotter » Wed Sep 19, 2018 1:49 pm

Are you on an old DSM version? It may be that this was an earlier FTP behaviour.
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS718+ / DSM 6.2-23511 / ST4000VN000-2AH166 / SA400S37120G SSD cache /16 GB RAM
DS415+ / DSM 6.2-23511

LMS 7.9.1-166, 2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom

APC Smart UPS SUA750i

MirkoW
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 7:49 am

Re: Show home folder as root

Unread post by MirkoW » Wed Sep 19, 2018 1:50 pm

now it works,

i rechecked the option "change user root directories"

Locked

Return to “FTP & WebDAV Server”