LUN (iScsi) volume size wrong

All questions regarding the Synology system as a iSCSI Target can go here.
Forum rules
We've moved! Head over to Synology Community (community.synology.com) to meet up with our team and other Synology enthusiasts!
sav@point-soft.com
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 10:28 am

LUN (iScsi) volume size wrong

Unread post by sav@point-soft.com » Fri Sep 14, 2018 10:43 am

hello,
i'm using Synology DS418 and the LUN capacity isn't the same in Windows DiskManagement and Syno iSCSI Manager.
see my screenshots :

LUN1
https://zupimages.net/up/18/37/0sb2.jpg

LUN2
https://zupimages.net/up/18/37/c339.jpg

Squozen
Guru
Guru
Posts: 1561
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 1:35 am

Re: LUN (iScsi) volume size wrong

Unread post by Squozen » Wed Sep 19, 2018 3:02 pm

This is normal. You're using thin provisioned LUNs, and even though Windows doesn't consider all of the blocks have useful data in them, the Synology doesn't know that.

There are Windows tools (like SDelete) that will zero out unused blocks so that the Synology can reclaim them.
Last edited by Squozen on Wed Sep 19, 2018 3:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

sav@point-soft.com
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 10:28 am

Re: LUN (iScsi) volume size wrong

Unread post by sav@point-soft.com » Wed Sep 19, 2018 3:04 pm

ok, thanks.
but what is the real remaining size : Windows or Synology ?

Squozen
Guru
Guru
Posts: 1561
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 1:35 am

Re: LUN (iScsi) volume size wrong

Unread post by Squozen » Wed Sep 19, 2018 3:06 pm

The size on disk - trust the Synology. The amount of REAL data that Windows cares about - trust Windows.

sav@point-soft.com
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 10:28 am

Re: LUN (iScsi) volume size wrong

Unread post by sav@point-soft.com » Wed Sep 19, 2018 3:08 pm

ok, thanks a lot.

Locked

Return to “iSCSI Target”