firewall by countries and DSM port

Questions pertaining to Power settings, Auto Block, Permissions, User Quotas and Email alerts may be posted here.
Forum rules
We've moved! Head over to Synology Community (community.synology.com) to meet up with our team and other Synology enthusiasts!
BUGabundo
Versed
Versed
Posts: 244
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 10:24 pm

firewall by countries and DSM port

Unread post by BUGabundo » Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:12 am

I've enabled the firewall on DSM and allowed some protocols only for the two countries i live in.
To my surprised DSM UI is accessible from several places in the world (tested with VPN) while for example SSH and VPN ports get properly filtered.

Am i missing something?

User avatar
WST16
Versed
Versed
Posts: 261
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 10:03 am

Re: firewall by countries and DSM port

Unread post by WST16 » Sat Aug 11, 2018 3:01 pm

Hi,

Can double check your DSM ports against your firewall settings

Under control panel > network > DSM settings
DS216+II : DS118 : APC Back UPS ES 700 : Mac user

tb123
Knowledgeable
Knowledgeable
Posts: 362
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:55 am

Re: firewall by countries and DSM port

Unread post by tb123 » Sat Aug 11, 2018 3:19 pm

Make sure your firewall is set to
- allow LAN
- allow country of choice
- deny ALL
DS916+, 3 x 4TB WD Red, 1 x 4TB WD Purple
UniFi USG, 16 port PoE switch and 4 x AP’s, some Windows, Mac, Android and iDevices

BUGabundo
Versed
Versed
Posts: 244
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 10:24 pm

Re: firewall by countries and DSM port

Unread post by BUGabundo » Sat Aug 11, 2018 3:56 pm

tb123 wrote:
Sat Aug 11, 2018 3:19 pm
Make sure your firewall is set to
- allow LAN
- allow country of choice
- deny ALL
Doesnt it deny all by default?

Briolet
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 145
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 4:47 pm

Re: firewall by countries and DSM port

Unread post by Briolet » Sat Aug 11, 2018 7:45 pm

No

Default is to let everything throug.

BUGabundo
Versed
Versed
Posts: 244
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 10:24 pm

Re: firewall by countries and DSM port

Unread post by BUGabundo » Sat Aug 11, 2018 9:35 pm

Briolet wrote:
Sat Aug 11, 2018 7:45 pm
No

Default is to let everything throug.
So why is vpn and ssh to the NAS when connecting from a country outside the allowed list?
Rather confusing

User avatar
WST16
Versed
Versed
Posts: 261
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 10:03 am

Re: firewall by countries and DSM port

Unread post by WST16 » Sun Aug 12, 2018 6:50 am

DS216+II : DS118 : APC Back UPS ES 700 : Mac user

Locked

Return to “System Management”