NAS as a DC?

All questions pertaining to Windows Active Directory Service can go here
Forum rules
We've moved! Head over to Synology Community (community.synology.com) to meet up with our team and other Synology enthusiasts!
brewder
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 7:50 pm

NAS as a DC?

Unread post by brewder » Mon Aug 06, 2018 4:06 pm

I currently have a Windows 2012 Active Directory environment as a home network. It has TWO domain controllers.. One is physical (Proliant), and another is virtual running on one of my Win10 workstations.

I have a brand new DS918+ which I joined to my domain.. So far, so good.

I installed a third virtual domain controller using Virtualization Station on the NAS and transferred all of the FSMO roles to it... then shutdown my giant Proliant server which was the previous role holder.

I use Group Policies for many things but one in particular is Folder redirection to a Shared Folder on the NAS. This is working GREAT.

I'm wondering if a more efficient setup would be to now:

1. Transfer the FSMO roles to the vm on my Win10 client
2. setup the AD Server NAS package and use that as a domain controller
3. Shutdown the VM running on the nas

Thoughts?

//Brew
_____________________
DS918+
(4) Seagate IronWolf 3TB Drives
(2) Samsung 970 EVO Cache drives
16GB RAM

User avatar
Shadow771
Enlightened
Enlightened
Posts: 473
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2018 11:48 pm
Location: the Netherlands

Re: NAS as a DC?

Unread post by Shadow771 » Mon Aug 06, 2018 5:11 pm

brewder wrote:
Mon Aug 06, 2018 4:06 pm
1. Transfer the FSMO roles to the vm on my Win10 client
I wouldn't do this. A NAS is way more capable of running 24/7 .
brewder wrote:
Mon Aug 06, 2018 4:06 pm
2. setup the AD Server NAS package and use that as a domain controller
The Synology AD server package can't run as an Additional Domain Controller in an existing domain.
https://forum.synology.com/enu/viewtopi ... 45#p535190
brewder wrote:
Mon Aug 06, 2018 4:06 pm
3. Shutdown the VM running on the nas
See 1.
Synology DS216+II <--> Synology RT1900AC <--> <site-to-site VPN tunnel> <--> Synology RT1900AC <--> Synology DS118

brewder
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 7:50 pm

Re: NAS as a DC?

Unread post by brewder » Mon Aug 06, 2018 7:01 pm

Ahhh I had no idea the NAS couldn't function as an additional DC so I'm glad I asked. :)

//Brew
_____________________
DS918+
(4) Seagate IronWolf 3TB Drives
(2) Samsung 970 EVO Cache drives
16GB RAM

User avatar
Shadow771
Enlightened
Enlightened
Posts: 473
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2018 11:48 pm
Location: the Netherlands

Re: NAS as a DC?

Unread post by Shadow771 » Tue Aug 07, 2018 10:32 pm

brewder wrote:
Mon Aug 06, 2018 7:01 pm
Ahhh I had no idea the NAS couldn't function as an additional DC so I'm glad I asked. :)
Well I had to find that out for myself.. Luckily I built a test environment with virtual DSM's when I discovered this.. Very disappointed and therefor useless for me.. I'm sticking with LDAP (Synology Directory Server) for a while..

If I were you I'd keep the DC roles on the Windows Server 2012.
Synology DS216+II <--> Synology RT1900AC <--> <site-to-site VPN tunnel> <--> Synology RT1900AC <--> Synology DS118

Locked

Return to “Windows AD Domain”