Can't mount CIFS shares, Missing /sbin/mount.cifs

Questions regarding using the Web File Manager, "File Station" and "File Browser" can be placed here
Forum rules
We've moved! Head over to Synology Community (community.synology.com) to meet up with our team and other Synology enthusiasts!
doocoo
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2018 5:33 am

Can't mount CIFS shares, Missing /sbin/mount.cifs

Unread post by doocoo » Sat Jun 30, 2018 5:51 am

I need to mount a cifs share on another NAS. I used to do it without any problem in File Station. But it doesn't work now. file station say "Failed to connect to the remote folder. Please make sure the remote server is accessible via CIFS protocol. "
I connect this share using PC, it works fine.
I created a CIFS share on my Win10 PC, tried to mount it in File Station, it failed again.
so the problem must be in the DSM.

I accessed DSM via SSH, try to mount it using:
sudo mount -t cifs //192.168.1.xx/Public ~/public
message shows

Code: Select all

wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on //192.168.1.xx/Public,
       missing codepage or helper program, or other error
       (for several filesystems (e.g. nfs, cifs) you might
       need a /sbin/mount.<type> helper program)
So I run:

Code: Select all

ls /sbin/mount*
There's no /sbin/mount.cifs!

Will this be the cause of my problem?

User avatar
Rusty1281
Sagacious
Sagacious
Posts: 3246
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 10:51 pm

Re: Can't mount CIFS shares, Missing /sbin/mount.cifs

Unread post by Rusty1281 » Sat Jun 30, 2018 9:12 pm

Are the 2 NAS device in question using the same DSM version? Are they on BTRFS or EXT4 file system?

If you are targeting a EXT4 OS make sure to double check and test out CIFS/SMB settings on that NAS. Put SMB to ver1 and test again. As I recall there is a problem connecting from one to another if the SMB version is not at a valid lvl.

This might cause a problem with your win10 mounts because they might ask for smb v2 or 3 to work. Give it a shot and test it out that way.

https://forum.synology.com/enu/viewtopi ... fs#p527744
Synology DS918+ (4x4TB WD RED - RAID 5 with 2x250GB 960EVO NVMe) | Synology DS412+ (4x3TB WD RED - RAID 5) | RT1900AC

bigbertha
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2018 3:09 pm

Re: Can't mount CIFS shares, Missing /sbin/mount.cifs

Unread post by bigbertha » Tue Jul 03, 2018 3:14 pm

I'm having similar problem with CIFS share. For months I have been able to transfer files between my Synology NAS (using DSM) and the internal HDD on my NUC on the same network. I had successfully mounted a CIFS remote folder, but all of a sudden it will no longer connect and I can’t for the life of me figure out why…

User avatar
Rusty1281
Sagacious
Sagacious
Posts: 3246
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 10:51 pm

Re: Can't mount CIFS shares, Missing /sbin/mount.cifs

Unread post by Rusty1281 » Tue Jul 03, 2018 5:02 pm

SMB versions on NAS side? Did you try and play with those? What OS is your NUC running?
Synology DS918+ (4x4TB WD RED - RAID 5 with 2x250GB 960EVO NVMe) | Synology DS412+ (4x3TB WD RED - RAID 5) | RT1900AC

cmoro
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 12:00 am

Re: Can't mount CIFS shares, Missing /sbin/mount.cifs

Unread post by cmoro » Wed Jul 04, 2018 12:04 am

I'm having the same problem. Mounting CIFS shares used to work fine, but now it can't mount anymore and I also noticed /sbin/mount.cifs is missing. My backup job stopped working because of this. Is anyone here able to help?
Last edited by cmoro on Fri Jul 06, 2018 3:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Rusty1281
Sagacious
Sagacious
Posts: 3246
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 10:51 pm

Re: Can't mount CIFS shares, Missing /sbin/mount.cifs

Unread post by Rusty1281 » Wed Jul 04, 2018 10:24 am

You can escalate yourself. Open up a ticket to Syno support. This is a user forum.
Synology DS918+ (4x4TB WD RED - RAID 5 with 2x250GB 960EVO NVMe) | Synology DS412+ (4x3TB WD RED - RAID 5) | RT1900AC

cmoro
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 12:00 am

Re: Can't mount CIFS shares, Missing /sbin/mount.cifs

Unread post by cmoro » Thu Jul 05, 2018 5:33 am

Your reply is useless. Thanks.
Last edited by cmoro on Fri Jul 06, 2018 3:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Rusty1281
Sagacious
Sagacious
Posts: 3246
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 10:51 pm

Re: Can't mount CIFS shares, Missing /sbin/mount.cifs

Unread post by Rusty1281 » Thu Jul 05, 2018 8:00 am

Ofc you can keep you hopes high. gl
Synology DS918+ (4x4TB WD RED - RAID 5 with 2x250GB 960EVO NVMe) | Synology DS412+ (4x3TB WD RED - RAID 5) | RT1900AC

cmoro
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 12:00 am

Re: Can't mount CIFS shares, Missing /sbin/mount.cifs

Unread post by cmoro » Thu Jul 05, 2018 8:03 pm

Another useless reply from you. I have notifications on for this post and this is a total waste of time. Please refrain from replying if you don't have anything useful to add. Good job getting your stars up.

User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
Posts: 19674
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Can't mount CIFS shares, Missing /sbin/mount.cifs

Unread post by HarryPotter » Fri Jul 06, 2018 7:02 am

cmoro wrote:
Thu Jul 05, 2018 5:33 am
I'm sure they watch this.
No, they dont!
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS718+ / DSM 6.2-23511 / ST4000VN000-2AH166 / SA400S37120G SSD cache /16 GB RAM
DS415+ / DSM 6.2-23511

LMS 7.9.1-166, 2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom

APC Smart UPS SUA750i

User avatar
Rusty1281
Sagacious
Sagacious
Posts: 3246
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 10:51 pm

Re: Can't mount CIFS shares, Missing /sbin/mount.cifs

Unread post by Rusty1281 » Fri Jul 06, 2018 10:19 am

cmoro wrote:
Thu Jul 05, 2018 8:03 pm
Another useless reply from you. I have notifications on for this post and this is a total waste of time. Please refrain from replying if you don't have anything useful to add. Good job getting your stars up.
There is nothing better then getting star points on trolls like you. Like I said, hope dies last. GL again.
Synology DS918+ (4x4TB WD RED - RAID 5 with 2x250GB 960EVO NVMe) | Synology DS412+ (4x3TB WD RED - RAID 5) | RT1900AC

cmoro
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 12:00 am

Re: Can't mount CIFS shares, Missing /sbin/mount.cifs

Unread post by cmoro » Fri Jul 06, 2018 3:17 pm

Good job Rusty. So what if they don't watch this? I'm a real user with a real problem and I'm sure there are others facing the same problem. If you have 5 stars why don't you try to help me other than pointing me to support or posting useless comments? Very classy of you calling me a troll.

telos
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 1093
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 6:12 pm

Re: Can't mount CIFS shares, Missing /sbin/mount.cifs

Unread post by telos » Fri Jul 06, 2018 3:54 pm

cmoro wrote:
Fri Jul 06, 2018 3:17 pm
Good job Rusty. So what if they don't watch this? I'm a real user with a real problem and I'm sure there are others facing the same problem. If you have 5 stars why don't you try to help me other than pointing me to support or posting useless comments? Very classy of you calling me a troll.
LOL... So you opened up a ticket to Syno support as suggested? What did they say? Please post the solution here for others,

cmoro
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 12:00 am

Re: Can't mount CIFS shares, Missing /sbin/mount.cifs

Unread post by cmoro » Fri Jul 06, 2018 4:41 pm

I did open a ticket. And I referenced this forum topic. That's why I said "I'm sure they will watch this". But no reply yet.

User avatar
Rusty1281
Sagacious
Sagacious
Posts: 3246
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 10:51 pm

Re: Can't mount CIFS shares, Missing /sbin/mount.cifs

Unread post by Rusty1281 » Sat Jul 07, 2018 7:37 pm

Ok, lets start over. 1st off I am here (as we are all) to help one another. Syno support might look at this topic considering that you have linked to it, but in general as HP said, they are not active on this forum at all.

Getting them via the proper support chanells is the best way to get then to fix your problem. I'm sure that they will figure out what the problem is (or patch it later on if this is something that has surfaced as a bug of some sort).

They are not fast on responses thats for sure so please be a bit patient. Like I said they will write back and hopefully fix this problem. If anyone of us knew the solution you do know that we would post it right?
Synology DS918+ (4x4TB WD RED - RAID 5 with 2x250GB 960EVO NVMe) | Synology DS412+ (4x3TB WD RED - RAID 5) | RT1900AC

Locked

Return to “File Station”