mining bitcoins?

Can not find somewhere to post your question? Or want to test your signature, avator, links? Post it here. Thanks!
Forum rules
We've moved! Head over to Synology Community (community.synology.com) to meet up with our team and other Synology enthusiasts!
SergeS
Apprentice
Apprentice
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 7:23 pm

mining bitcoins?

Unread post by SergeS » Sat Oct 28, 2017 5:27 pm

Are there expirience on how to mine bitcoins on Synology?
I've understood it is not the way to became rich :-), question is not about money, question is about technology.
I would like to play with it to see how it is working, anyway server is running 24/7, so why not?

User avatar
eaz
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 1158
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 9:04 pm

Re: mining bitcoins?

Unread post by eaz » Sat Oct 28, 2017 6:03 pm

Because of the 3- 6 W processors in the synologies.

Best to first investigate how much processor capacity you need to mine. Most mining is done on combined servers each with several dedicated grapic cards and in combination with many cpu's/servers. Even then it is not anymore the gold mine that some might think.
If it was this easy....
Please share if a reply was useful or how the issue was solved, it helps other DS users.

DS415+ (4TB HGST+ 4TB Seagate raid1 + 2*480GB SSD raid1), DS212+ (2*WD red 2TB), previous DS411J, DS106

SergeS
Apprentice
Apprentice
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 7:23 pm

Re: mining bitcoins?

Unread post by SergeS » Sat Oct 28, 2017 7:06 pm

My purpose s not to make money, my purpose is just to see how mining is working, i have never try.
So, in other words, my question is: mining on NAS will give absolutelly nothing, just perfect zero, no bitcoins at all or just very small amout?
If very small amout - I would try :-)

User avatar
eaz
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 1158
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 9:04 pm

Re: mining bitcoins?

Unread post by eaz » Sat Oct 28, 2017 9:58 pm

https://www.bitcoinmining.com/getting-started/

This site will help you estimate what a nas will do.
A 2000$ rig, probably 10000x faster than a nas, brings max 0,36bitcoin a month. You can calculate yourself what you will do on a nas. You may need many years before you find one.
Please share if a reply was useful or how the issue was solved, it helps other DS users.

DS415+ (4TB HGST+ 4TB Seagate raid1 + 2*480GB SSD raid1), DS212+ (2*WD red 2TB), previous DS411J, DS106

SergeS
Apprentice
Apprentice
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 7:23 pm

Re: mining bitcoins?

Unread post by SergeS » Sat Oct 28, 2017 11:11 pm

eaz wrote:https://www.bitcoinmining.com/getting-started/

This site will help you estimate what a nas will do.
A 2000$ rig, probably 10000x faster than a nas, brings max 0,36bitcoin a month. You can calculate yourself what you will do on a nas. You may need many years before you find one.
again, my question is not "how many", my question is "how to do". If it will generate few hundredth (bitcoin cents :-) ) in a month- i would try. How?

User avatar
eaz
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 1158
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 9:04 pm

Re: mining bitcoins?

Unread post by eaz » Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:36 am

Install a linux distro in a vm, and install one of the programs mentioned on the bitcoin site.
If you want to run it natively on the nas, find help in the modders section.
Please share if a reply was useful or how the issue was solved, it helps other DS users.

DS415+ (4TB HGST+ 4TB Seagate raid1 + 2*480GB SSD raid1), DS212+ (2*WD red 2TB), previous DS411J, DS106

Magicien
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2016 6:36 pm

Re: mining bitcoins?

Unread post by Magicien » Tue Sep 04, 2018 7:04 am

I also would like to explore this concept of synology mining. This is fun!
But I will not say it is a zero value.

First, don't expect the syno CPU to do the thing. As a syno cannot have a graphic card, you'll need a ASIC, mostly on USB. Then, take the previous advice to install a Linux on VM and all the mining softwares. The CPU will just provides datra to the ASIC which will do all the work. Although, I didn't know if Syno VM can handle USB as Virtual software can do on PC...
Be aware of ASIC consomption. The regular USB 500mW is far insufficient. They need 2-3W !

Tell me if you go on that project !

Locked

Return to “Others & Testing”