How to remove from "Network Locations"

All questions regarding using our system with Windows XP, Vista, 7 may go here.
Forum rules
We've moved! Head over to Synology Community (community.synology.com) to meet up with our team and other Synology enthusiasts!
azonicds2
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2016 11:22 pm

How to remove from "Network Locations"

Unread post by azonicds2 » Fri Jan 22, 2016 11:29 pm

Hi all

New here and new to sinology. I have a DS213J and I have a problem.

I have set up my shares etc and configured users and permissions. Yet I went on to my fathers pc in the house and he could access my shares without having an account or inputting any credentials.

He did it by using this synology icon in "Network Locations". It seems to show the 3 default shares, Music, Photos and Video and doesn't seem to require any sort of permission, it just lets him waltz right in and open files...

Image

Is there a way I can turn this off? Otherwise what on earth is the point in permissions in the first place?

Thanks
Danny

User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
Posts: 19674
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: How to remove from "Network Locations"

Unread post by HarryPotter » Fri Jan 22, 2016 11:34 pm

user "guest" enabled?
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS718+ / DSM 6.2-23511 / ST4000VN000-2AH166 / SA400S37120G SSD cache /16 GB RAM
DS415+ / DSM 6.2-23511

LMS 7.9.1-166, 2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom

APC Smart UPS SUA750i

azonicds2
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2016 11:22 pm

Re: How to remove from "Network Locations"

Unread post by azonicds2 » Fri Jan 22, 2016 11:39 pm

No, its disabled

azonicds2
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2016 11:22 pm

Re: How to remove from "Network Locations"

Unread post by azonicds2 » Fri Jan 22, 2016 11:41 pm

When you access the shares through the normal way via explorer it prompts for credentials, but that icon just seems to allow free roam of those 3 default shares, is it something to do with Media Server perhaps?

User avatar
Etz
Versed
Versed
Posts: 245
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:07 am

Re: How to remove from "Network Locations"

Unread post by Etz » Sat Jan 23, 2016 9:30 am

Probably those shares have permission issues, I would check that out first.
...life is random, so am I...

azonicds2
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2016 11:22 pm

Re: How to remove from "Network Locations"

Unread post by azonicds2 » Tue Jan 26, 2016 9:33 pm

Etz wrote:Probably those shares have permission issues, I would check that out first.
pretty sure it was down to the Media Server as obviously it allows DLNA through those shares via TV etc. Assume windows was just treating that shortcut as a media server the same way my TV does.

The permissions on the shares themselves were spot on. I've just created new shares for private bits that I wouldn't be fussed about on the media server. Mainly photos etc. Not ideal as really you should be able to have private items and folders inside of those default shares that aren't visible through DLNA.. but apparently not, unless anyone knows how?

Thanks
Danny

Locked

Return to “Windows OS”