Hibernation and multiple volumes?

All questions regarding system hibernation may be placed here. Thanks!
Forum rules
1) This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form:

https://account.synology.com/support/support_form.php?lang=enu



2) To avoid putting users' DiskStation at risk, please don't paste links to any patches provided by our Support team as we will systematically remove them. Our Support team will provide the correct patch for your DiskStation model.
User avatar
skarbd
Student
Student
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 1:01 pm

Hibernation and multiple volumes?

Postby skarbd » Mon Jan 28, 2013 2:03 pm

If I allocate a disk to a separate volume, say to record TV to, but also have another volume created for long term storage (7 disks), say for movies.

If the volume for recorded TV is woken up (1 disk), does that spin up the other volume (of 7 disks).
DS106 DSM 3ish
DS411+ DSM 4.2 (3211)
DS2413+ DSM 4.2 (3211)
User avatar
maxxfi
Compiler
Compiler
Posts: 6794
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 12:13 pm
Location: Espoo, Finland

Re: Hibernation and multiple volumes?

Postby maxxfi » Mon Jan 28, 2013 8:02 pm

Probably yes, but that's because typically when one volume is accessed, the DSM needs to access also the system partition (to fetch commands etc.) and that one spans over all disks.
No longer using Synology NAS, moved to more open source solutions.
DS-106j > DS-210j > DS-411
User avatar
skarbd
Student
Student
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 1:01 pm

Re: Hibernation and multiple volumes?

Postby skarbd » Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:19 am

That's a shame.
DS106 DSM 3ish
DS411+ DSM 4.2 (3211)
DS2413+ DSM 4.2 (3211)
Fulco
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 10:39 pm

Re: Hibernation and multiple volumes?

Postby Fulco » Wed Jan 30, 2013 11:28 am

+1
Synology DS2413+; DSM 4.2-3161 (beta)
damo911
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 8:19 am

Re: Hibernation and multiple volumes?

Postby damo911 » Tue Apr 30, 2013 4:23 pm

I'm in the same boat. I have the DS413j with a hdd that runs 24/7 with transmission. The other hard drives have no reason to be on unless I'm trying to access data from them once every couple of days.

If I cannot hibernate the other hard drives. There was really no point in me getting a 4-bay NAS. I don't want to wear out the other hard drives as quickly and of course would like to see the lowered power usage.


Is it possible, or could it ever be possible to Hibernate other drives. I'd find it quite disappointing if all drives have to run equally.
User avatar
skarbd
Student
Student
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 1:01 pm

Re: Hibernation and multiple volumes?

Postby skarbd » Tue Apr 30, 2013 4:54 pm

Well could you change from BT to newsgroups and run a power management strategy?
DS106 DSM 3ish
DS411+ DSM 4.2 (3211)
DS2413+ DSM 4.2 (3211)
sejtam
Novice
Novice
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 12:44 pm

Re: Hibernation and multiple volumes?

Postby sejtam » Fri May 10, 2013 8:26 am

Sorry, could you elaborate on that last comment? I see no connection between BT, newsgroups and Power?
User avatar
skarbd
Student
Student
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 1:01 pm

Re: Hibernation and multiple volumes?

Postby skarbd » Mon May 13, 2013 10:12 am

With BT you are relying on other people uploading to you and, so you potentially need to run your NAS box for longer. With usenet you can have a connection running at the max speed (bearing in my traffic magic management and traffic shaping polices).

So you bring you NAS box up a couple times a day (Using the power scheduling) acquire what you need and shut it down.
DS106 DSM 3ish
DS411+ DSM 4.2 (3211)
DS2413+ DSM 4.2 (3211)
timow
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 5:36 pm

Re: Hibernation and multiple volumes?

Postby timow » Tue May 28, 2013 5:49 pm

+1
I would prefer all disk going to sleep except: those with DSM on it and the number of disks that is in use.. the others should go into hibernate. So Synology!! Let us choose what we want, DSM on all of the drives or just 1 operating drive.
User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
Posts: 19065
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Hibernation and multiple volumes?

Postby HarryPotter » Tue May 28, 2013 7:09 pm

There si no "disk with the DSM on it". ALL disks contain the DSM (system partition is a RAID1 over all disks)
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS718+ / DSM 6.2-23511 / ST4000VN000-2AH166 / SA400S37120G SSD cache /16 GB RAM
DS415+ / DSM 6.2-23511

LMS 7.9.1-166, 2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom

APC Smart UPS SUA750i
john.doe1
Student
Student
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 3:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Hibernation and multiple volumes?

Postby john.doe1 » Thu May 30, 2013 12:21 am

The same problem. DS413 with two volumes. One RAID 5 with 3 hard drives of 3TB. Other volume with a SSD 250GB drive only to download.

PROBLEM: SSD download and the hard drives of the RAID 5 not hibernate.

PLEASE Synology developers, must solved it's a great problem
polppol
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 4:39 am

Re: Hibernation and multiple volumes?

Postby polppol » Tue Sep 03, 2013 5:51 am

+1
This also happen on me,
1 Disk for CCTV, 7 Disks for etc.
but all 8 Disks wake 24 hrs
FTP
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2017 9:38 pm

Re: Hibernation and multiple volumes?

Postby FTP » Mon Oct 09, 2017 9:15 pm

Having the same problem, I did not found any feature request on the topic since those posts in 2013.
So I've created one. If you want to vote and/or contribute... :wink:
https://forum.synology.com/enu/viewtopi ... 3&t=135947

Return to “Hibernation Room”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests