Foscam problem SS 7.0-3742

All questions/comments regarding the Surveillance Station using IP Cameras may be placed here
Forum rules
1) This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form:

https://account.synology.com/support/support_form.php?lang=enu



2) To avoid putting users' DiskStation at risk, please don't paste links to any patches provided by our Support team as we will systematically remove them. Our Support team will provide the correct patch for your DiskStation model.
vizer40
Novice
Novice
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 8:19 pm

Foscam problem SS 7.0-3742

Postby vizer40 » Wed Feb 04, 2015 11:00 am

I just got new foscam camera FI9816P and SS automatic search don't find it. If I manually add camera FOSCAM model FI9816P (edit camera) test connection say OK and I get picture but status shows disconnected. I tried with default port 88 and RTSP port 554, no luck. But If a choose ONVIF generic camera at port 888 everything works well. Another bug I found is SS recording don't remember thumbnail view it is always start with list view.
DS415+
DSM 5.2 - 5644
4 x WD30EFRX Raid 5
level380
Seasoned
Seasoned
Posts: 592
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 12:31 am

Re: Foscam problem SS 7.0-3742

Postby level380 » Thu Feb 05, 2015 1:48 am

vizer40 wrote:I just got new foscam camera FI9816P and SS automatic search don't find it. If I manually add camera FOSCAM model FI9816P (edit camera) test connection say OK and I get picture but status shows disconnected. I tried with default port 88 and RTSP port 554, no luck. But If a choose ONVIF generic camera at port 888 everything works well. Another bug I found is SS recording don't remember thumbnail view it is always start with list view.


That model camera is on the HCL and requires Device Pack 3.0-0557 or above installed. Can you confirm your camera device pack?

On SS7 (just released), go into the Add-ons app and then click on device pack. It will advise the version. Latest is 3.1-0582.
vizer40
Novice
Novice
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 8:19 pm

Re: Foscam problem SS 7.0-3742

Postby vizer40 » Thu Feb 05, 2015 8:49 am

My device pack is 3.1-0582 and yes, the camera is listed.
DS415+
DSM 5.2 - 5644
4 x WD30EFRX Raid 5
FiddeX
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 7:52 pm

Re: Foscam problem SS 7.0-3742

Postby FiddeX » Fri Feb 06, 2015 12:17 pm

Hi.

I have the same camera and I have the same problem, not working when I chose Foscam FI9816P. When i configure the camera as ONVIF generic it is working but it is constantly recording :( I also have a dlink camera and that one is working great.

//Fredrik
level380
Seasoned
Seasoned
Posts: 592
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 12:31 am

Re: Foscam problem SS 7.0-3742

Postby level380 » Fri Feb 06, 2015 12:31 pm

FiddeX wrote:I have the same camera and I have the same problem


Then I guess both of you need to submit a support request to get Synology to look into the issue. (forum post isn't a support request).

From your DSM interface, Click on Support Center and fill out the support form or fill out this form

https://myds.synology.com/support/support_form.php
vizer40
Novice
Novice
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 8:19 pm

Re: Foscam problem SS 7.0-3742

Postby vizer40 » Sat Feb 07, 2015 6:48 pm

I submit a request, now I will see how long it will takes for an answer.
DS415+
DSM 5.2 - 5644
4 x WD30EFRX Raid 5
vizer40
Novice
Novice
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 8:19 pm

Re: Foscam problem SS 7.0-3742

Postby vizer40 » Mon Feb 09, 2015 12:27 pm

I get quick response from support center as follow:
If the test connection works, it means the account and password is correct and the system will also retrieve one snapshot from the IP camera at the same time. But it doesn't mean that the streaming (video/audio) will work, it may be failed when setup the video or audio streaming from the IP camera.

I will suggest you to check the following:

1. If the IP camera is connected over Internet, you need to forward the ports of camera's web management (generally would be 80) and the rtsp port (generally would be 554) to the IP camera.
2. If the IP camera and DiskStation are in the same LAN, then you need to check if you have enabled DSM firewall and the needed ports have been blocked.


Unfortunately some universal answer, nothing I've already check.
DS415+
DSM 5.2 - 5644
4 x WD30EFRX Raid 5
level380
Seasoned
Seasoned
Posts: 592
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 12:31 am

Re: Foscam problem SS 7.0-3742

Postby level380 » Mon Feb 09, 2015 12:43 pm

vizer40 wrote:I get quick response from support center as follow:


Bummer.... well respond saying you have checked all these, now whats next. This camera is on the HCL so should be working.
vizer40
Novice
Novice
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 8:19 pm

Re: Foscam problem SS 7.0-3742

Postby vizer40 » Fri Feb 13, 2015 10:24 am

I get this answer from support:

According to our engineer, the root cause is due to the firmware of grade of the IP camera.
The design changed so Surveillance Station can't add it now. We will prepare a patch file for you but it's not available yet.

You can also try to downgrade the firmware of the IP camera. (not using the latest one on their website)

I will mail you again when the patch is ready.
DS415+
DSM 5.2 - 5644
4 x WD30EFRX Raid 5
level380
Seasoned
Seasoned
Posts: 592
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 12:31 am

Re: Foscam problem SS 7.0-3742

Postby level380 » Mon Feb 16, 2015 4:59 am

vizer40 wrote:I get this answer from support:


Can't really ask for much better support than that. They acknowledged the bug and are preparing a fix for it now! YAY! :D
vizer40
Novice
Novice
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 8:19 pm

Re: Foscam problem SS 7.0-3742

Postby vizer40 » Thu Feb 26, 2015 10:55 am

I just got a patch from support and it fix the problem.

[edit mod: link to patches get removed, don't hesitate to contact our support team to get it]
DS415+
DSM 5.2 - 5644
4 x WD30EFRX Raid 5
level380
Seasoned
Seasoned
Posts: 592
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 12:31 am

Re: Foscam problem SS 7.0-3742

Postby level380 » Thu Feb 26, 2015 10:56 am

vizer40 wrote:I just got a patch from support and it fix the problem.


Great news and great support!
Vasilis669
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 3:58 pm

Re: Foscam problem SS 7.0-3742

Postby Vasilis669 » Wed Mar 25, 2015 4:03 pm

Hi, can you email me the patch on my email address v_charalambous@hotmail.com. I have the exact same problem. Very frustrated.

Regards, vasilis
luettich
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 2:59 am

Re: Foscam problem SS 7.0-3742

Postby luettich » Sat Apr 18, 2015 3:02 am

HI. I am also interested in this patch. Can you pass it on to me as well?
alvarosff
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 8:14 pm

Re: Foscam problem SS 7.0-3742

Postby alvarosff » Wed May 25, 2016 8:26 pm

Hi, can you email me the patch on my email alvarosff@gmail.com. I have the exact same problem

Return to “Surveillance Station”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests