Insufficient capacity for update [merged thread]

Topics pertaining to volume setup, boot/shutdown, initialization, DSM update, HDD migration.
Forum rules
We've moved! Head over to Synology Community (community.synology.com) to meet up with our team and other Synology enthusiasts!
User avatar
Aiolizator
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 3:03 pm

DS207+ : Not enough free disk space for FW upgrade

Unread post by Aiolizator » Tue May 04, 2010 9:54 am

Hi,

I have a DS270+ with 2.3.1157 FW.

When I go to the "Firmware Upgrade" section in the DiskStation Manager, a popup appears, saying (in french as my Syno is configured in french) "Insufficent free disk space to upgrade. Make sure the volume works fine and has at least 300 MB free space".

Here's the result of df -h command on dy Syno :

Code: Select all

DiskStation> df -h
Filesystem                Size      Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/md0                755.9M    455.1M    200.8M  69% /
/tmp                     61.9M      4.1M     57.8M   7% /tmp
/dev/md2                915.7G    580.1G    335.4G  63% /volume1
There's only 200 MB free space in /.

How can I free more space to be able to upgrade my fw whe an new one will be released ?

Thanks for for help.

User avatar
maxxfi
Compiler
Compiler
Posts: 6794
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 12:13 pm
Location: Espoo, Finland

Re: DS207+ : Not enough free disk space for FW upgrade

Unread post by maxxfi » Tue May 04, 2010 10:06 am

Try the following commands:

Code: Select all

DiskStation> cd /
DiskStation> du -ks *
It should tell you how much space (in KB) each main directory is taking.
Then cd to the the one with biggest number and repeat the "du -ks *" command
until you hopefully find somewhere where you can remove something (old logs, etc.)
No longer using Synology NAS, moved to more open source solutions.
DS-106j > DS-210j > DS-411

User avatar
Aiolizator
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 3:03 pm

Re: DS207+ : Not enough free disk space for FW upgrade

Unread post by Aiolizator » Tue May 04, 2010 10:33 am

The problem, is that I don't see anything I could delete without damages, only system files, databases, no logs... :/

Here's the result of df -hs / :

Code: Select all

1.3M    bin
44.0k   dev
1.4M    etc
1.3M    etc.defaults
4.0k    initrd
104.4M  lib
4.0k    lib64
0       linuxrc
4.0k    lost+found
4.0k    mnt
1.6M    proc
16.0k   root
4.4M    sbin
0       sys
4.1M    tmp
185.2M  usr
139.9M  var
132.0k  var.defaults
580.0G  volume1
df -hs /usr/* :

Code: Select all

DiskStation> du -hs /usr/*
8.7M    /usr/bin
0       /usr/lib
12.0k   /usr/local
604.0k  /usr/sbin
428.0k  /usr/share
175.5M  /usr/syno
df -hs /var/*:

Code: Select all

DiskStation> du -hs /var/*
139.2M  /var/database
4.0k    /var/empty
28.0k   /var/lib
8.0k    /var/lock
204.0k  /var/log
4.0k    /var/packages
348.0k  /var/run
8.0k    /var/services
84.0k   /var/spool
8.0k    /var/state
0       /var/tmp

User avatar
maxxfi
Compiler
Compiler
Posts: 6794
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 12:13 pm
Location: Espoo, Finland

Re: DS207+ : Not enough free disk space for FW upgrade

Unread post by maxxfi » Tue May 04, 2010 11:18 am

Yeah, I seems there is not much margin to remove old stuff and keep the NAS still running.
I guess the only 'clean' solution should be backup ALL data and let the Synology (via Assistant, probably)
to reformat completely the hard disk(s), and restore data back.

A possible, RISKY, shortcut to that would be (after a good backup, anyway!) to plug the disk to a PC and with a partition
managing tool that handles EXT3 partitions shrink /dev/md1 and give space to /dev/md0 (well actually not
the /dev/mdX device, but the physical device underneath /dev/hdX).

What disk configuration do you have, maybe 2x 1TB in RAID? And probably it was originally initialized with a
quite old FW, right?
I noticed with my recent DS210j that for one 1TB disk, the DSM2.3-1141 has created /dev/md0 as big as 2 GB...
Last edited by maxxfi on Tue May 04, 2010 12:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
No longer using Synology NAS, moved to more open source solutions.
DS-106j > DS-210j > DS-411

User avatar
Aiolizator
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 3:03 pm

Re: DS207+ : Not enough free disk space for FW upgrade

Unread post by Aiolizator » Tue May 04, 2010 12:17 pm

You're right, I have 2x 1TB in RAID1, and my Syno was initialized about 3 years ago.
I think I'm gonna backup all my data and create a new volume from scratch, and then restore my data.

Thanks for your help.

BartV
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 9:07 pm

md0 too small for update

Unread post by BartV » Sat Aug 21, 2010 12:56 pm

When I try to update DSM from 2.3-1157 I get the following error:

Insufficient capacity for update. Please make sure the system partition must be in normal condition and has at least 300 MB available.

I checked, md0 is only 750MB and only 270MB is free. How do I shrink md2 and enlarge md0 without losing data?

User avatar
maxxfi
Compiler
Compiler
Posts: 6794
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 12:13 pm
Location: Espoo, Finland

Re: md0 too small for update

Unread post by maxxfi » Sat Aug 21, 2010 9:11 pm

You cannot do that, at least from DSM.
If your disk configuration is simple, you may have some chance if you remove the disk
and plug it to a Linux PC.

See instead if you can reduce the usage of md0 by ~30MB.
No longer using Synology NAS, moved to more open source solutions.
DS-106j > DS-210j > DS-411

BartV
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 9:07 pm

Re: md0 too small for update

Unread post by BartV » Sun Aug 22, 2010 8:40 am

No, I know DSM can't do this, but I was hoping mdadm and resize2fs would help.

As far as I can tell, md2 is my data, md0 is the RAID1 system disk and md1 is swap or backup? So I'm trying to shrink md2, leaving room at the start of the partition, move md1 to the back and expand md0 into this new free space. Doesn't sound too hard, but how do I make sure a resize action moves the start of the partition?

And ofcourse I can try to make some more room, but I'm hoping to solve this more permanently so I don't run into the same problem on the next update. My DS410j has 2,5 GB md0, so it looks like newer units don't have this problem.

User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
Posts: 19674
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: md0 too small for update

Unread post by HarryPotter » Sun Aug 22, 2010 11:25 am

It is not a question of newer or older models. I upgraded my DS106 as well as DS207+, DS408 and DS109+ and never come across an md0 size problem.

There must be something wrong in your special case.
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS718+ / DSM 6.2-23511 / ST4000VN000-2AH166 / SA400S37120G SSD cache /16 GB RAM
DS415+ / DSM 6.2-23511

LMS 7.9.1-166, 2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom

APC Smart UPS SUA750i

User avatar
maxxfi
Compiler
Compiler
Posts: 6794
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 12:13 pm
Location: Espoo, Finland

Re: md0 too small for update

Unread post by maxxfi » Sun Aug 22, 2010 12:51 pm

I still think that your best bet is to plug the disk to a PC and start e.g. the gparted LiveCD,
as it has a decent graphic interface that will ease the burden of running by hand mdadm, resize2fs, etc.
and it has all the tools that you would need to do filesystem maintenance.

All that, if you have a simple RAID1 configuration, where perhaps you can doing your trickeries on one disk
and if you have a second one, keep it untouched in case the resizing experiments go wrong.
No longer using Synology NAS, moved to more open source solutions.
DS-106j > DS-210j > DS-411

fredoparis
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 11:16 am

Re: md0 too small for update

Unread post by fredoparis » Tue Aug 24, 2010 11:27 am

Hello,
I have the same problem than BartV but on a CS407. The firmware version is DSM from 2.3-1157 also I and want to upgrade the firmware in order to test the new beta version.
I receive the same message abiut the size of md0.
The difference is that I have 4 DD mounted in RAID 5.
How could I resize the md0 ?
Regards.

fredoparis
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 11:16 am

Re: md0 too small for update

Unread post by fredoparis » Tue Aug 24, 2010 12:45 pm

Hello again,

I tried the command df -k and I obtained this :

CubeStation75> df -k
Filesystem 1k-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/md0 774040 396880 274760 59% /
/tmp 63396 512 62884 1% /tmp
/dev/md2 2879119128 2471866352 407150376 86% /volume1

I have clearly a lack of palce on md0 but I dont know how to change the situation.

User avatar
maxxfi
Compiler
Compiler
Posts: 6794
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 12:13 pm
Location: Espoo, Finland

Re: md0 too small for update

Unread post by maxxfi » Tue Aug 24, 2010 1:17 pm

fredoparis wrote: I have clearly a lack of palce on md0 but I dont know how to change the situation.
Are you sure you that there is nothing under /dev/md0 that you can *safely* remove,
so that you get a few extra free MB?
No longer using Synology NAS, moved to more open source solutions.
DS-106j > DS-210j > DS-411

fredoparis
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 11:16 am

Re: md0 too small for update

Unread post by fredoparis » Mon Aug 30, 2010 4:23 pm

I browse the directory / to find some too big files but since I didn't install anything else than the firmware It's very hard for me to choose a file to delete.
I delete all the logs but through the application but It didn't increase the available place.
:idea: It seems to be a specific problem on CS407 and the firmware 1157 (the last available). I haven't the same problem on my DS508 nor on my DS410j both installed with the same firmware.

User avatar
maxxfi
Compiler
Compiler
Posts: 6794
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 12:13 pm
Location: Espoo, Finland

Re: md0 too small for update

Unread post by maxxfi » Tue Aug 31, 2010 6:07 am

fredoparis wrote::idea: It seems to be a specific problem on CS407 and the firmware 1157 (the last available). I haven't the same problem on my DS508 nor on my DS410j both installed with the same firmware.
If the x07 series is older than x08 and x10 series, probably it is because the first firmware you installed on the CS407 was smaller and so it also created a smaller system partition.
No longer using Synology NAS, moved to more open source solutions.
DS-106j > DS-210j > DS-411

Locked

Return to “Installation, Configuration, Migration, Expansion”