find.synology.com reliability

Topics pertaining to volume setup, boot/shutdown, initialization, DSM update, HDD migration.
Forum rules
We've moved! Head over to Synology Community (community.synology.com) to meet up with our team and other Synology enthusiasts!
horizonbrave
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun May 06, 2018 9:37 am

find.synology.com reliability

Unread post by horizonbrave » Sun Sep 23, 2018 2:04 am

Hi,
yesterday I started for the fist time my DiskStation.. went to find.synology.com from my browser and it diligently showed me both my Synology router and the DiskStation itself: wow, happy!
Today, from the same browser, same computer, same OS (no settings changed, no updates, Fedora 28) find.synology.com can't find neither.. It's Sunday though, maybe they're off!
Please any better explanation? Many thanks :)

Briolet
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 145
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 4:47 pm

Re: find.synology.com reliability

Unread post by Briolet » Sun Sep 23, 2018 1:38 pm

For me "find.synology.com" has never worked. I always get the result it can't find any nas. (I have two)

Probably because I changed the default name of my nasses. When I look in the html code of the page, it tries connecting with the default names DiskStation, RackStation etc.
Last edited by Briolet on Sun Sep 23, 2018 1:57 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Briolet
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 145
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 4:47 pm

Re: find.synology.com reliability

Unread post by Briolet » Sun Sep 23, 2018 1:53 pm

I just tested this by renaming my nas back to "DiskStation". And yes, it was immediately found. Even my other nas. Maybe coincidence as it kept working when giving my nas its name back.

Till now I never saw it working.

Edit: When closing the browser tab and start a search in a new tab, I could not find anything again.

telos
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 1093
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 6:12 pm

Re: find.synology.com reliability

Unread post by telos » Sun Sep 23, 2018 2:00 pm

Briolet wrote:
Sun Sep 23, 2018 1:53 pm
I just tested this by renaming my nas back to "DiskStation". And yes, it was immediately found. Even my other nas. Maybe coincidence as it kept working when giving my nas its name back.
Coincidence. Each of my units are renamed. All are found.

User avatar
sciurius
Sharp
Sharp
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2013 9:35 am

Re: find.synology.com reliability

Unread post by sciurius » Sun Sep 23, 2018 3:44 pm

It depends on whether your system supports mDNS. If not, find.synology.com will not find your NAS.
Most systems nowadays support mDNS out of the box but sometimes it is disabled for good reasons, e.g. if you are running your own (local) name servers.
DS418 / DSM 6.2-23739 Update 2 / 2 x WD40EFRX-68WT0N0 (SHR) / MailServer / MailStation / ownCloud / Transmission / ResilioSync / Syncthing / spotweb / LMS+Spotify
DS413 / DSM 6.2-23739 Update 2 / 2 x ST3000DM001-1CH166 (SHR) / Testing

horizonbrave
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun May 06, 2018 9:37 am

Re: find.synology.com reliability

Unread post by horizonbrave » Sun Sep 23, 2018 3:51 pm

It happened that after resetting the DiskStation I could both find the router and the DS, now for some reason back to not finding anything. Do you know if Synology staff ever interact in the forum? Cheers

horizonbrave
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun May 06, 2018 9:37 am

Re: find.synology.com reliability

Unread post by horizonbrave » Mon Sep 24, 2018 1:07 am

sciurius wrote:
Sun Sep 23, 2018 3:44 pm
It depends on whether your system supports mDNS. If not, find.synology.com will not find your NAS.
Most systems nowadays support mDNS out of the box but sometimes it is disabled for good reasons, e.g. if you are running your own (local) name servers.
Fedora 28 Linux 28 user here, I'll have a looik into.. but it's a pretty vanilla installation. Thanks

Briolet
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 145
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 4:47 pm

Re: find.synology.com reliability

Unread post by Briolet » Mon Sep 24, 2018 8:12 am

The code starts querying the Synology QuickConnect server. When the nas is using QC, this server hands over the local IP adres of the nas(ses).

Briolet
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 145
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 4:47 pm

Re: find.synology.com reliability

Unread post by Briolet » Mon Sep 24, 2018 5:17 pm

After digging a bit deeper, I see that the find looks if there is a nas connected with Quick Connent. If not it tries in the lan the default names on the default port.

If it finds one in this way, it asks that one for the list of all nasses in the lan. It seems that they all are aware of other nasses in the lan and know the name and (custom) admin ports of the others.

So, when keeping at least one nas with its default name "DiskStation" and at its default port 5000, (or register one nas with QC), "find.synology.com" can find all nasses in your lan.
If not, it will find nothing.

eTron
Novice
Novice
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 2:28 am

Re: find.synology.com reliability

Unread post by eTron » Tue Sep 25, 2018 10:06 pm

Briolet wrote:
Mon Sep 24, 2018 5:17 pm
After digging a bit deeper, I see that the find looks if there is a nas connected with Quick Connent. If not it tries in the lan the default names on the default port.

If it finds one in this way, it asks that one for the list of all nasses in the lan. It seems that they all are aware of other nasses in the lan and know the name and (custom) admin ports of the others.

So, when keeping at least one nas with its default name "DiskStation" and at its default port 5000, (or register one nas with QC), "find.synology.com" can find all nasses in your lan.
If not, it will find nothing.
My experience would suggest that Briolet is correct. Both of my DiskSations were originally found on first install, both were renamed, and neither uses QuickConnect. I've just finished reinstalling DSM on both, and this time "find.synology.com" found neither one. I needed to manually download DSM for each.

Note: I attempted to do a factory reset on each NAS before reinstall, but neither one gave the indications expected according to the knowledge base, leading me to believe that the DiskStation name was not reset, and accounting for it's not being found. Of course, the name was reset when DSM was reinstalled.

Locked

Return to “Installation, Configuration, Migration, Expansion”