Expand Drive Storage

Topics pertaining to volume setup, boot/shutdown, initialization, DSM update, HDD migration.
Forum rules
We've moved! Head over to Synology Community (community.synology.com) to meet up with our team and other Synology enthusiasts!
sydney
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2018 7:57 pm

Expand Drive Storage

Unread post by sydney » Mon Jul 16, 2018 7:53 pm

Hello,

I have a DS218 with two 2TB drives in each bay. I want to replace them with 4TB Western Digital drives.

What's the proper procedure to do this while maintaining zero data loss?

Thanks!

telos
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 1093
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 6:12 pm

Re: Expand Drive Storage

Unread post by telos » Tue Jul 17, 2018 12:02 am

SHR? RAID0? JBOD? ???

PS: How'd you get 2 HDDs in each bay :mrgreen:

sydney
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2018 7:57 pm

Re: Expand Drive Storage

Unread post by sydney » Tue Jul 17, 2018 12:34 am

Just wanted to clarify ... I have one 2TB in each bay - a total of two 2TB drives.

I took the default configuration which was SHR.

sincarne
Guru
Guru
Posts: 1578
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 9:57 pm

Re: Expand Drive Storage

Unread post by sincarne » Tue Jul 17, 2018 3:11 am

there is guide on synology website to replace drive

sydney
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2018 7:57 pm

Re: Expand Drive Storage

Unread post by sydney » Tue Jul 17, 2018 1:06 pm

Can you share the link to the guide you referenced?

Squozen
Guru
Guru
Posts: 1561
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 1:35 am

Re: Expand Drive Storage

Unread post by Squozen » Tue Jul 17, 2018 3:33 pm


sydney
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2018 7:57 pm

Re: Expand Drive Storage

Unread post by sydney » Tue Jul 17, 2018 4:35 pm

OK. I read the article. Since my drives are identical in size (2TB each).

Does it matter which bay I insert my new 4TB into it first? For example, can I put the new 4TB
disk into bay #1 and turn on the NAS?

dario_zgb
Knowledgeable
Knowledgeable
Posts: 326
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2014 5:11 pm
Location: Croatia / UK

Re: Expand Drive Storage

Unread post by dario_zgb » Tue Jul 17, 2018 7:16 pm

Doesn't matter which drive you replace first.

Replace one drive, rebuild, replace the other drive, repair the array again. When this is finished, you'll end up with 4 TB total space.
--
DS416play (4x4TB WD Red, SHR) * DS216se (2x3TB WD Red, RAID 0) *
DS214se (2x2TB WD Red, SHR) * DS115j (2TB WD Blue) * RT2600ac

sydney
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2018 7:57 pm

Re: Expand Drive Storage

Unread post by sydney » Wed Jul 18, 2018 12:57 am

Great. I have some idea now. I will read up on it a bit more before I start messing with my data.

A side question. I have a hard drive docking station that takes 2.5 and 3.5 disks to perform disk mirroring/cloning.
If I pull out one of my 2TB drives out of the ds218 and plug it into my docking station. Stick my new 4TB into the
docking station. Then perform a disk clone (press one button on the unit). When done, take out the 4TB
and put my second new 4TB. Perform another disk clone. Finally stick these two 4TB drives back to the ds218.
Does this actually work? Just a though since I have docking station for disk mirroring.

dario_zgb
Knowledgeable
Knowledgeable
Posts: 326
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2014 5:11 pm
Location: Croatia / UK

Re: Expand Drive Storage

Unread post by dario_zgb » Wed Jul 18, 2018 6:49 am

Some people have reported this to be working generally with some tweaks (google and you should find it) and have used this usually when replacing a single drive in a single-bay NAS with a larger one but I am a bit sceptic as the DSM would have to expand storage at some point (and give you 4 TB instead of 2 TB on that volume). The thing that makes me a bit sceptic is that DSM keeps track of the drives, and once you remove a particular drive, it will not accept it back into the array (for data consistency purposes) so I am not sure how it would react to an externally mirrored drive. So just thinking about this, I would not recommend to try it out.

I suggest you take the official route and do the rebuilds. With 2/4 TB drives, rebuilds will be rather quick. Your data will remain available throughout the process.

Re: "messing with your data". While the rebuild process is fine and safe in 99.9% of the cases, do have a backup before you start.
--
DS416play (4x4TB WD Red, SHR) * DS216se (2x3TB WD Red, RAID 0) *
DS214se (2x2TB WD Red, SHR) * DS115j (2TB WD Blue) * RT2600ac

jpurssey
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue May 26, 2015 5:05 am
Location: Australia

Re: Expand Drive Storage (DS214se Raid 1)

Unread post by jpurssey » Wed Jul 18, 2018 6:53 am

I hope it's OK to piggyback on this thread.

DS214se
2 x 2Tbyte drives RAID 1 (89% full)
DSM 6.2 (latest update)

I have followed the instructions:-
Shut down NAS
Replaced one 2TByte HDD with a 3TByte HDD
Started NAS

After 10 hours the HDD lights are green, The LAN light is green and the DS214se appears on the network with the same IP as before, BUT the status light is still flashing amber.

I have tried stopping and restarting the NAS using the power button but it is still just flashing the status light amber.

In the past, I have replaced a failing HDD with a replacement and I do not remember the rebuild of the array taking that long.

How long should I wait?

Or should I just start from scratch with the 2 x 3Tbyte array and restore data from my backups? (I neglected to do a configuration backup, so perhaps I should return the 2Tbyte HDD first and do a config backup.)
DS214se 3Tbyte Raid 1: DSM6.2, CP1500 AVR UPS - Cyber Power System, Inc,
Zolid Mini DVB-T Stick - Integrated Technology Express (Works sometimes)

dario_zgb
Knowledgeable
Knowledgeable
Posts: 326
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2014 5:11 pm
Location: Croatia / UK

Re: Expand Drive Storage (DS214se Raid 1)

Unread post by dario_zgb » Wed Jul 18, 2018 11:03 am

jpurssey wrote:
Wed Jul 18, 2018 6:53 am
After 10 hours the HDD lights are green, The LAN light is green and the DS214se appears on the network with the same IP as before, BUT the status light is still flashing amber.
I have tried stopping and restarting the NAS using the power button but it is still just flashing the status light amber.
Is the DSM booting or not? Can you log in to DSM?

Status LED will blink orange while the volume is degraded (as it is in your case) (https://www.synology.com/en-global/know ... _in_orange) but the DSM should boot normally and then repair the array.

I don't think returning the 2 TB will work as the DSM will know that it has been removed and will not allow it back into the array.
--
DS416play (4x4TB WD Red, SHR) * DS216se (2x3TB WD Red, RAID 0) *
DS214se (2x2TB WD Red, SHR) * DS115j (2TB WD Blue) * RT2600ac

jpurssey
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue May 26, 2015 5:05 am
Location: Australia

Re: Expand Drive Storage

Unread post by jpurssey » Wed Jul 18, 2018 12:20 pm

No, I cannot log in to DSM. (So I cannot give Synology access to sort it out for me)

I think you are right about returning the 2 TByte HDD. I remember seeing that elsewhere.

I am going to let it run for another 10 hours and then take another course of action.

I am wondering about removing the 3 TByte drive and seeing if I can then backup the configuration, assuming it will boot with the one 2Tbyte HDD. But I don't know if that will prevent me re-inserting the 3 TByte drive.
Alternatively, I can do a reset of the DSM without destroying the data. But I don't know how that will work when it is in this state.
DS214se 3Tbyte Raid 1: DSM6.2, CP1500 AVR UPS - Cyber Power System, Inc,
Zolid Mini DVB-T Stick - Integrated Technology Express (Works sometimes)

dario_zgb
Knowledgeable
Knowledgeable
Posts: 326
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2014 5:11 pm
Location: Croatia / UK

Re: Expand Drive Storage

Unread post by dario_zgb » Wed Jul 18, 2018 12:24 pm

jpurssey wrote:
Wed Jul 18, 2018 12:20 pm
I am wondering about removing the 3 TByte drive and seeing if I can then backup the configuration, assuming it will boot with the one 2Tbyte HDD. But I don't know if that will prevent me re-inserting the 3 TByte drive.
Try as you are suggesting - by booting with just one 2 TB drive. Provided that the drive is OK, the DSM should boot (with the volume in a degraded state). Are you sure that the 3 TB drive is OK?
--
DS416play (4x4TB WD Red, SHR) * DS216se (2x3TB WD Red, RAID 0) *
DS214se (2x2TB WD Red, SHR) * DS115j (2TB WD Blue) * RT2600ac

sydney
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2018 7:57 pm

Re: Expand Drive Storage

Unread post by sydney » Wed Jul 18, 2018 1:33 pm

dario_zgb,

Just following up on your comments about my comments regarding disk cloning via docking station.
Yes, I absolutely want to give this a try and to test out my theory. At the same time and as you hinted, when a drive is
pulled out and you try to re-insert it back, somehow DSM knows. I suspect there's some type of configuration data
written to the chip (not your disk) and that's how it knows. Here's my first post regarding the test I did when
I was testing the data replication:

https://forum.synology.com/enu/viewtopi ... 36#p532736

So having gone through that, I am not sure I want to test disk cloning. When disks are pulled out and reinserted back,
you most likely end it up rebuilding/repairing and this could hours!!.

Locked

Return to “Installation, Configuration, Migration, Expansion”