Setting up 4 x 8TB drives in Raid 1 config

Topics pertaining to volume setup, boot/shutdown, initialization, DSM update, HDD migration.
Forum rules
We've moved! Head over to Synology Community (community.synology.com) to meet up with our team and other Synology enthusiasts!
jeff-b
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2018 10:10 am

Setting up 4 x 8TB drives in Raid 1 config

Unread post by jeff-b » Wed Jun 20, 2018 10:35 am

Hi there. Yet another newbie asking should-be-obvious questions :(

I've just migrated from a DS216+ to a DS918+ with 4*8TB WD Red drives (32TB total). Because I need the security of 100% mirroring, I've gone for Raid 1. However, do I set up the system as two "Groups" of two drives each? If I do this, does Raid1 "mirror" group1 to group2, or does the mirroring occur within the group itself? What I am trying to achieve is actually disks1 & 2 behaving as though they were one drive, being mirrored to disks 3 & 4 (also acting as one drive).

Any help would be gratefully accepted, and apologies if I'm asking questions that have already been answered elsewhere in this forum.

Squozen
Guru
Guru
Posts: 1561
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 1:35 am

Re: Setting up 4 x 8TB drives in Raid 1 config

Unread post by Squozen » Wed Jun 20, 2018 2:16 pm

You want to use RAID 10, not RAID 1. It's a striped pair of mirrored disks.
Last edited by Squozen on Thu Jun 21, 2018 9:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

jeff-b
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2018 10:10 am

Re: Setting up 4 x 8TB drives in Raid 1 config

Unread post by jeff-b » Wed Jun 20, 2018 3:09 pm

Thanks for the info, Squozen; I hadn't actually considered Raid 10 as an option. Does Raid10 automatically treat disks 1 & 2 as a single entity, or do I still need to "group" them?

Squozen
Guru
Guru
Posts: 1561
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 1:35 am

Re: Setting up 4 x 8TB drives in Raid 1 config

Unread post by Squozen » Thu Jun 21, 2018 9:42 am

You don't need to do a thing, it's all taken care of by the NAS.

jeff-b
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2018 10:10 am

Re: Setting up 4 x 8TB drives in Raid 1 config

Unread post by jeff-b » Thu Jun 21, 2018 10:10 am

Great :D Thanks for the advice and info. I've re-loaded the NAS o/s, and this time chose Raid10. All operating perfectly. Luckily, I hadn't got to the stage of migrating the data, so it was a simple job to start again from scratch. BTW, you're absolutely correct about using Raid10 in my particular configuration; the way I had set up everything originally, all Raid1 would have done is given me three back-up copies of the primary drive :lol:
DUH !!

Locked

Return to “Installation, Configuration, Migration, Expansion”