BTRFS 1 disk

Topics pertaining to volume setup, boot/shutdown, initialization, DSM update, HDD migration.
Forum rules
1) This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form:
https://myds.synology.com/support/suppo ... p?lang=enu
2) To avoid putting users' DiskStation at risk, please don't paste links to any patches provided by our Support team as we will systematically remove them. Our Support team will provide the correct patch for your DiskStation model.
porkchop1
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 6:55 pm

BTRFS 1 disk

Postby porkchop1 » Wed Dec 06, 2017 7:01 pm

Hi,
is BTRFS supported with only 1 disk ?

I'm planning on getting the DS218+ and setup two separate volumes with no RAID/disk fault tolerance.

Most important to me is that the filesystem can protect against silent corruption. Offsite backup will be done, but I need to ensure data integrity.
sincarne
Navigator
Navigator
Posts: 971
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 9:57 pm

Re: BTRFS 1 disk

Postby sincarne » Wed Dec 06, 2017 10:04 pm

it require RAID1 to heal. synology have page that say. why have two separate volume?
Last edited by sincarne on Wed Dec 06, 2017 11:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
Posts: 18867
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: BTRFS 1 disk

Postby HarryPotter » Wed Dec 06, 2017 10:12 pm

Yes you can create a BTRFS volume with 1 disk.

Image
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS718+ / DSM 6.1.3-15152-7 / ST4000VN000-2AH166 / 16 GB RAM
DS713+ / DSM 6.1.3-15152-7 / HD501LJ + HD502IJ (RAID0)
DS415+ / DSM 6.1.3-15152-7

2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom

APC Smart UPS SUA750i
sincarne
Navigator
Navigator
Posts: 971
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 9:57 pm

Re: BTRFS 1 disk

Postby sincarne » Wed Dec 06, 2017 11:04 pm

HarryPotter wrote:Yes you can create a BTRFS volume with 1 disk.

Image


it not have healing
Srandista
Apprentice
Apprentice
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 10:14 am
Location: Czech Republic

Re: BTRFS 1 disk

Postby Srandista » Thu Dec 07, 2017 9:52 am

You have 2 completely opposite requirements.

Yes, you can create just 1 disk btrfs volume without data protection.
No, with that setup, you will NOT be protected against silent corruption, because system will not have healthy backup of file available, thus it cannot repair that file.
DS218+ 6GB RAM / 2x4TB WD Red (btrfs) / DSM 6.1.4

Return to “Installation, Configuration, Migration, Expansion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests