NAS mixed RAID configuration (newbie inside)

Topics pertaining to volume setup, boot/shutdown, initialization, DSM update, HDD migration.
Forum rules
Synology Community is the new platform for the enthusiasts' interaction, and it will soon be available to replace the Forum.
kdphot
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:17 pm

NAS mixed RAID configuration (newbie inside)

Unread post by kdphot » Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:26 pm

Hi everyone,

Last time I posted a message on an online forum was 10 or 12 years ago I think, and I never used a NAS.
So for these two reasons, please forgive me if my question is stupid or if I do something wrong.

I am a pro photographer with 60TB+ of data and I am looking for a NAS, I am interested in the DS1517+

I would like to know if it is possible to use a mixed RAID configuration in the 5 bays: meaning for instance using the 3 first bays in RAID 5 or RAID 6 and the 2 last bays in RAID 1?

If anyone knows the answer, thank you very much! :D

Regards

User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
Posts: 19615
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: NAS mixed RAID configuration (newbie inside)

Unread post by HarryPotter » Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:45 pm

Yes this is possible (for RAID6 you need at least 4 bays).
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS718+ / DSM 6.2-23511 / ST4000VN000-2AH166 / SA400S37120G SSD cache /16 GB RAM
DS415+ / DSM 6.2-23511

LMS 7.9.1-166, 2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom

APC Smart UPS SUA750i

kdphot
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:17 pm

Re: NAS mixed RAID configuration (newbie inside)

Unread post by kdphot » Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:47 pm

Thanks a lot! :D

kdphot
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:17 pm

Re: NAS mixed RAID configuration (newbie inside)

Unread post by kdphot » Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:53 pm

And last question, is it possible to create the two volumes sequentially or does it have to be done at the same time during initial configuration?

I won't start with 5 empty disks, so it might be easier for me if I could start by say building the RAID1 volume with 2 disks, and then build the RAID5 volume by adding 3 disks, without losing data in the RAID1 volume.

I imagine it is feasible, but I prefer to ask before :)

User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
Posts: 19615
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: NAS mixed RAID configuration (newbie inside)

Unread post by HarryPotter » Fri Dec 01, 2017 10:11 pm

Yes this is feasible, no problem.
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS718+ / DSM 6.2-23511 / ST4000VN000-2AH166 / SA400S37120G SSD cache /16 GB RAM
DS415+ / DSM 6.2-23511

LMS 7.9.1-166, 2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom

APC Smart UPS SUA750i

kdphot
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:17 pm

Re: NAS mixed RAID configuration (newbie inside)

Unread post by kdphot » Fri Dec 01, 2017 10:36 pm

Thank you!! :)

coop777
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 100
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2016 4:21 pm

Re: NAS mixed RAID configuration (newbie inside)

Unread post by coop777 » Thu Dec 07, 2017 4:36 pm

One other piece of advice - you may want to consider Synology Hybrid RAID (SHR) instead of traditional raid as it allows you to utilize the full capacity of larger disks should you want to add them in the future.

Post Reply

Return to “Installation, Configuration, Migration, Expansion”