Multiple Volumes/Disk

Topics pertaining to volume setup, boot/shutdown, initialization, DSM update, HDD migration.
Forum rules
We've moved! Head over to Synology Community (community.synology.com) to meet up with our team and other Synology enthusiasts!
vuldub
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 2:23 pm

Multiple Volumes/Disk

Unread post by vuldub » Sun Nov 19, 2017 5:38 pm

I have a new DS418j that I install 3 4TB drives configured as SHR RAID. I did not setup up a disk group for these original 3 disks, they were simply configured as SHR RAID and as one single volume. I understand the hierarchy of disk groups vs volumes.

I would like to add a 4th disk 8TB, but not have it as part of the original raid group - so a separate disk group - thus one group as 3 drive in SHR RAID and one group as 1 (8TB) single.

My main concern in adding the fourth disk is I have data on the 3 RAID disks I do not want to disturb.

If i insert the new 4th disk into the system will I be able to separate it in a unique disk group? Or will it automatically attempt to add it to my RAID?

Since I do not have any disk groups, would I need to start completely over and wipe the 3 RAID volumes to have them configure in a disk group?

Srandista
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 10:14 am
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Multiple Volumes/Disk

Unread post by Srandista » Sun Nov 19, 2017 6:54 pm

In DSM 6.1 you should be able to migrate Volume to Disk Group, when you are adding new disk to array. You have to use SHR tho.

From Release Notes: "You can now migrate a single volume to a disk group and then create multiple volumes while using SHR."

When you look at Storage Manager, there is Manage button under Volume tab. You should see option "Convert to Disk Group by adding hard disks". Before adding disk, it's greyed out, after adding disk should be applicable.
DS218+ 6GB RAM / 2x4TB WD Red (btrfs) / DSM 6.1.6

vuldub
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 2:23 pm

Re: Multiple Volumes/Disk

Unread post by vuldub » Sun Nov 19, 2017 11:11 pm

Srandista wrote:In DSM 6.1 you should be able to migrate Volume to Disk Group, when you are adding new disk to array. You have to use SHR tho.

From Release Notes: "You can now migrate a single volume to a disk group and then create multiple volumes while using SHR."

When you look at Storage Manager, there is Manage button under Volume tab. You should see option "Convert to Disk Group by adding hard disks". Before adding disk, it's greyed out, after adding disk should be applicable.
As I am nervous what it will do when I insert the 4th disk, I am asking these questions in advance.
As it stands now with just the 3 drives in SHR RAID single volume, the option migrate a volume to a disk group is not available.; as well the option to create a disk group is not available.
If I understand you, when I insert the new drive a new option will be presented that allows me to migrate the existing volume to a disk group, then create a new disk group for the single 8TB drive. Correct?

User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
Posts: 19674
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Multiple Volumes/Disk

Unread post by HarryPotter » Mon Nov 20, 2017 9:19 am

You dont need to convert anything.
Simply insert the 4th disk and create a new volume on it.

It wont be mirrored in this case.
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS718+ / DSM 6.2-23511 / ST4000VN000-2AH166 / SA400S37120G SSD cache /16 GB RAM
DS415+ / DSM 6.2-23511

LMS 7.9.1-166, 2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom

APC Smart UPS SUA750i

synology_ukman
Seasoned
Seasoned
Posts: 569
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 4:51 pm

Re: Multiple Volumes/Disk

Unread post by synology_ukman » Mon Nov 20, 2017 9:53 am

HarryPotter wrote:You dont need to convert anything.
Simply insert the 4th disk and create a new volume on it.

It wont be mirrored in this case.
So not recommended....

User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
Posts: 19674
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Multiple Volumes/Disk

Unread post by HarryPotter » Mon Nov 20, 2017 11:16 am

His goal was 3 disks in shr and 1 drive as single. Recommended or not is not part of the question. There are many reasons not to use redundancy.
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS718+ / DSM 6.2-23511 / ST4000VN000-2AH166 / SA400S37120G SSD cache /16 GB RAM
DS415+ / DSM 6.2-23511

LMS 7.9.1-166, 2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom

APC Smart UPS SUA750i

vuldub
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 2:23 pm

Re: Multiple Volumes/Disk

Unread post by vuldub » Mon Nov 20, 2017 3:40 pm

HarryPotter wrote:You dont need to convert anything.
Simply insert the 4th disk and create a new volume on it.

It wont be mirrored in this case.
Good to know. So I will have two volumes (1 3x4TB and 1 1x8TB) and no disk groups? I am a bit confused now. I thought in order to subdivide volumes you had to have disk groups.

Also, yes I do not want the 8TB drive mirrored. It by itself will be used manually to back up another drive in another NAS. If I was to put in into the 3x4TB raid, I would not be able to use all 8TB of its space.

User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
Posts: 19674
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Multiple Volumes/Disk

Unread post by HarryPotter » Mon Nov 20, 2017 4:07 pm

Yes you will have 2 volumes.
Disk groups are only needed if you want to create multiple volumes on the same group of disks. Thats not the case in your situation.
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS718+ / DSM 6.2-23511 / ST4000VN000-2AH166 / SA400S37120G SSD cache /16 GB RAM
DS415+ / DSM 6.2-23511

LMS 7.9.1-166, 2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom

APC Smart UPS SUA750i

vuldub
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 2:23 pm

Re: Multiple Volumes/Disk

Unread post by vuldub » Mon Nov 20, 2017 6:51 pm

HarryPotter wrote:Yes you will have 2 volumes.
Disk groups are only needed if you want to create multiple volumes on the same group of disks. Thats not the case in your situation.
Thank you Mr. Potter. Cheers.

vuldub
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 2:23 pm

Re: Multiple Volumes/Disk

Unread post by vuldub » Thu Dec 07, 2017 2:52 am

I finally received the new 8Tb hard drive. Inserted it into slot 4. It shows up as an uninitialized disk, but there is no option to simply add a new volume. I can Volume, manage: "convert disk group by adding hard drives" or
Volume, create: "custom"

Where do I go to add this new volume?

sincarne
Guru
Guru
Posts: 1578
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 9:57 pm

Re: Multiple Volumes/Disk

Unread post by sincarne » Thu Dec 07, 2017 5:36 am

vuldub wrote:I finally received the new 8Tb hard drive. Inserted it into slot 4. It shows up as an uninitialized disk, but there is no option to simply add a new volume. I can Volume, manage: "convert disk group by adding hard drives" or
Volume, create: "custom"

Where do I go to add this new volume?
custom then basic as volume type

vuldub
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 2:23 pm

Re: Multiple Volumes/Disk

Unread post by vuldub » Thu Dec 07, 2017 5:55 am

sincarne wrote: custom then basic as volume type
That option is not listed. Options listed under Custom are Single Volume on RAID or Multiple Volumes on RAID. Remember, I do not want to disturb the existing 3 disk volume.

sincarne
Guru
Guru
Posts: 1578
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 9:57 pm

Re: Multiple Volumes/Disk

Unread post by sincarne » Thu Dec 07, 2017 7:05 pm

vuldub wrote:
sincarne wrote: custom then basic as volume type
That option is not listed. Options listed under Custom are Single Volume on RAID or Multiple Volumes on RAID. Remember, I do not want to disturb the existing 3 disk volume.
either option work

vuldub
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 2:23 pm

Re: Multiple Volumes/Disk

Unread post by vuldub » Fri Dec 08, 2017 3:10 am

sincarne wrote: either option work
Well I took the leap of faith and selected one of the responses and it becomes apparent that the process will only affect the newly added drive. So it worked out. Thanks.

But I hate programs that expect you to make a choice in order to find out what happens later. Let me know up front Synology - if you are reading this...

Locked

Return to “Installation, Configuration, Migration, Expansion”