DS1815+ died (no lights) - how to move disks to another DS1815+ without having configuration backup

Topics pertaining to volume setup, boot/shutdown, initialization, DSM update, HDD migration.
Forum rules
Synology Community is the new platform for the enthusiasts' interaction, and it will soon be available to replace the Forum.
polanat
Skilled
Skilled
Posts: 655
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 9:09 am

Re: DS1815+ died (no lights) - how to move disks to another DS1815+ without having configuration backup

Unread post by polanat » Thu Aug 24, 2017 3:58 am

richyo wrote: It looks like i got a brand new 1815+. New accessories and books ect, cleanly wrapped and packaged new SN#. Will see what happens when i turn it on. Hopefully the issue doesn't reoccur in the next 2 years :roll:
Could you pls publish first three digits of the S/N of your brand new 1815+ and provide CPU stepping version via CLI. Thanks!
DS415+ [5.2-5967 Update 3 + 4xST3000VN000] & DS112 [DSM 6.1.2-15132 + WD40EFRX+ Ext1 WDBEMM0010BBK-U3] / Transmission 2.84-10 / Transmission Remote GUI 5.0.1
Samsung SMART TV 3D FullHD UE40ES6307 / Samsung UE32H4000 + iconBIT Toucan Duo Plus mk2 / iconBIT NetTAB THOR ZX (NT-0907S)
TP-LINK TD-W8961ND +2TL-ANT2408CL + TL-SG1008D / UPS Powercom WOW-500U

richyo
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2017 6:31 pm

Re: DS1815+ died (no lights) - how to move disks to another DS1815+ without having configuration backup

Unread post by richyo » Thu Aug 24, 2017 1:08 pm

polanat wrote:
richyo wrote: It looks like i got a brand new 1815+. New accessories and books ect, cleanly wrapped and packaged new SN#. Will see what happens when i turn it on. Hopefully the issue doesn't reoccur in the next 2 years :roll:
Could you pls publish first three digits of the S/N of your brand new 1815+ and provide CPU stepping version via CLI. Thanks!
SN#1571. CPU stepping is 8 so i think its still the affected one??
DS1815+
4X WD RED 3TB
RAID 5

polanat
Skilled
Skilled
Posts: 655
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 9:09 am

Re: DS1815+ died (no lights) - how to move disks to another DS1815+ without having configuration backup

Unread post by polanat » Thu Aug 24, 2017 5:05 pm

richyo wrote:
SN#1571
Manufacturing dated July 2015
richyo wrote:CPU stepping is 8 so i think its still the affected one??
Yes, it is! It is the same affected Intel C2538 ...
DS415+ [5.2-5967 Update 3 + 4xST3000VN000] & DS112 [DSM 6.1.2-15132 + WD40EFRX+ Ext1 WDBEMM0010BBK-U3] / Transmission 2.84-10 / Transmission Remote GUI 5.0.1
Samsung SMART TV 3D FullHD UE40ES6307 / Samsung UE32H4000 + iconBIT Toucan Duo Plus mk2 / iconBIT NetTAB THOR ZX (NT-0907S)
TP-LINK TD-W8961ND +2TL-ANT2408CL + TL-SG1008D / UPS Powercom WOW-500U

tommyd
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 113
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 6:48 pm

Re: DS1817+ Blinking Blue LED

Unread post by tommyd » Thu Aug 24, 2017 6:26 pm

Sounds like you have a failed Atom processor.
This was common with the DS1815+.
Supposed to have been fixed with a motherboard change.
Contact Synology support ASAP!

richyo
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2017 6:31 pm

Re: DS1815+ died (no lights) - how to move disks to another DS1815+ without having configuration backup

Unread post by richyo » Sun Aug 27, 2017 10:43 am

polanat wrote:
richyo wrote:
SN#1571
Manufacturing dated July 2015
richyo wrote:CPU stepping is 8 so i think its still the affected one??
Yes, it is! It is the same affected Intel C2538 ...
How can i figure out the manufacturing date? is it 15 in year and 7 in month? I have contacted Synology and will update when possible.
DS1815+
4X WD RED 3TB
RAID 5

polanat
Skilled
Skilled
Posts: 655
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 9:09 am

Re: DS1815+ died (no lights) - how to move disks to another DS1815+ without having configuration backup

Unread post by polanat » Sun Aug 27, 2017 10:52 am

richyo wrote:How can i figure out the manufacturing date? is it 15 in year and 7 in month?
Exactly so!
DS415+ [5.2-5967 Update 3 + 4xST3000VN000] & DS112 [DSM 6.1.2-15132 + WD40EFRX+ Ext1 WDBEMM0010BBK-U3] / Transmission 2.84-10 / Transmission Remote GUI 5.0.1
Samsung SMART TV 3D FullHD UE40ES6307 / Samsung UE32H4000 + iconBIT Toucan Duo Plus mk2 / iconBIT NetTAB THOR ZX (NT-0907S)
TP-LINK TD-W8961ND +2TL-ANT2408CL + TL-SG1008D / UPS Powercom WOW-500U

IGBI
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 10:37 pm

Re: Keeps Shutting Down - Panic!

Unread post by IGBI » Sun Aug 27, 2017 11:44 pm

This has happened to me also with the 15152-3 update. After I updated the DS1515+ to the 15152-3 update the NAS shut itself down over night in the middle of a Hyper backup and wouldn't startup. I believed it was out of warranty so i stripped it apart. Tested the power supply and it was fine. Plugged in the motherboard with out the PCIex4 and PCIex1 plugged and it started to blink the blue light(a good sign). I reassembled the DS1515+ and started it up with out any drives in it and the blinking blue light(good sign again) was on. Turned the NAS off and put the drives in and booted it up again (it started). Went to login and the 2 step authentication did not work. I had to reset the admin password and logged in. I found I had a problem accessing a folder where even the admin didn't have permission to access it( rather odd, had to do some mondo problem solving to get access to the folder). I started backing up the NAS again to an external Hard drive and sometime during the night it turned it self off and wouldn't start after. I have found if I leave the power unplugged for half the day and then plug in the power it will start. Looking at the amount of data backed up, it turned itself off after i closed the web interface.
The DS1515+ was running fine for a little over 2 years before this last update. All these problems after an update. :(
If it is a CPU problem at least allow the users of these products to down grade to an older working update. Like myself and other people we cant afford to go out and buy a new NAS every-time there is a failed update.

Anyone know where I can get a manual update file for the update numbered before the 15152 update?

richyo
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2017 6:31 pm

Re: DS1815+ died (no lights) - how to move disks to another DS1815+ without having configuration backup

Unread post by richyo » Mon Sep 04, 2017 1:07 pm

So 3 days after i got my replacement NAS working and configured to how i needed it. I saw that my NAS was ~90% full which was odd. I rebooted it and it failed to boot again. Constant flashing blue power LED. Next NAS please :roll: :lol:
DS1815+
4X WD RED 3TB
RAID 5

oholiab2000
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2017 5:07 pm

Re: DS1815+ died (no lights) - how to move disks to another DS1815+ without having configuration backup

Unread post by oholiab2000 » Thu Sep 07, 2017 5:17 pm

I'm not an IT professional, but I play one in our studio.

Just thought I would add that our both of our two DS1815+ units gave out on us this past weekend. Walked in to the studio after the holiday weekend and both were dead. They were configured as a HA Cluster with active and passive. Both failed on the same weekend while we were all away. So much for backup...

Advance RMA units are expected to arrive today. Again, I'm not an IT professional, and this is my first time even visiting the forums. I would appreciate any guidance that anyone is willing to offer on how to setup the new units. From what I have read, I simply plug the old HDDs into the new units and it should be good to go? Will it remember my configuration (IP addresses, HA Cluster, etc) ?

Thank you in advance.

coop777
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2016 4:21 pm

Re: DS1815+ died (no lights) - how to move disks to another DS1815+ without having configuration backup

Unread post by coop777 » Fri Sep 08, 2017 8:54 pm

There are several of us whom have gone through this - once you receive the new units, take a spare Sata drive NOT part of your array and put it in bay 1. Power the unit on and reassign your static IP, then let DSM fully update. Once that completes, power the unit down, remove the temp sata drive and move the disks one at a time from the old to the new unit. Some say the disk order doesn't matter, I was very careful to make sure I did it in order. Once that is done power it up and you should be back in business. Rinse and repeat for the 2nd NAS.

coop777
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2016 4:21 pm

Re: DS1815+ died (no lights) - how to move disks to another DS1815+ without having configuration backup

Unread post by coop777 » Fri Sep 08, 2017 8:58 pm

Also - if you have expansion cabinets for those units make sure you reconnect them to the new NAS replacements prior to booting up, and don't forget to migrate any additional RAM that you installed in the old ones if you did.....

ttpjd1
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2017 4:46 pm

Re: DS1815+ died (no lights) - how to move disks to another DS1815+ without having configuration backup

Unread post by ttpjd1 » Sun Sep 10, 2017 4:50 pm

Hi All,

Just a quick note to let you know that as of this week (early Sep 2017) I'm in the same boat, and awaiting a response from Synology.

Is anyone collecting stats of those affected, Synology response times and/or distributing an "agreed best practice" for recovery?

Thanks in advance


Phil (UK, unit purchased late August 2015 - so worked OK for two years)

kavaa
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 6:09 pm

Re: DS1815+ died (no lights) - how to move disks to another DS1815+ without having configuration backup

Unread post by kavaa » Tue Sep 19, 2017 2:32 pm

Does anyone have a manual on how to replace the PowerSupply and witch steps to follow?

maxime10
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2017 2:30 pm

Re: DS1815+ died (no lights) - how to move disks to another DS1815+ without having configuration backup

Unread post by maxime10 » Thu Sep 28, 2017 2:35 pm

My DS1515+ reboot randomly since the 11.09.2017
==> System booted up from an improper shutdown.

Code: Select all

Système
Niveau,Journal,Date et Heure,Utilisateur,Evénement,
Warning,Système,2017/09/28 15:20:43,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/28 15:14:50,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/28 15:04:59,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/28 14:58:44,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/28 08:17:33,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/27 15:13:04,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/27 15:07:06,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/27 15:04:30,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/27 15:01:19,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/27 00:49:46,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/26 11:58:43,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/26 09:00:42,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/26 08:56:59,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/23 12:48:16,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/23 12:44:48,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/23 12:38:46,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/22 12:26:24,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/22 12:22:21,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/22 12:09:55,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/22 12:05:00,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/22 12:00:45,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/22 11:32:35,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/22 11:16:47,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/21 15:25:35,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/20 12:32:25,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/20 12:30:12,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/20 12:15:48,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/20 12:12:34,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/20 12:09:03,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/20 11:21:53,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/19 09:29:23,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/18 13:04:38,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/15 12:44:20,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/13 16:57:39,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/12 11:37:40,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/11 12:18:39,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/11 09:55:40,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.
Warning,Système,2017/09/11 08:17:50,SYSTEM,System booted up from an improper shutdown.

User avatar
Twisted World
Seasoned
Seasoned
Posts: 558
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2016 8:29 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: DS1815+ died (no lights) - how to move disks to another DS1815+ without having configuration backup

Unread post by Twisted World » Fri Sep 29, 2017 12:30 pm

Finally took some time to read through this entire thread because I'm still pretty worried about my DS1815+ which is, up till now, still functioning okay btw.

The only thing missing in this thread (from most users) is the kind of load your were putting on your NAS.

Intel responded to The Register with "a degradation of a circuit element under high use conditions at a rate higher than Intel’s quality goals after multiple years of service."

I am kind of wondering if this is true, of just regular Intel BS to make matter appear less terrible than they actually are.

Did all of you dead 1815+ victims use the device under constant heavy load?

Another thing I'm wondering; is this "fix" of soldering a resistor to the motherboard really a "fix"? As I understand it, once the Atom dies, it is REALLY dead, no way to revive. I think this so called "fix" is not a fix at all but rather a solution to prevent death from happening on the motherboards that aren't dead yet and if so, should we all just send in our working units to have this thing soldered on anyway?
[ DS918+ | DS916+ | DS216+II | DS1815+ | DS115j | EDS14 | DS212+ | DS211+ | DS411slim ]

Post Reply

Return to “Installation, Configuration, Migration, Expansion”