First boot: DS107+ grabs router's IP 192.168.1.1

Topics pertaining to volume setup, boot/shutdown, initialization, DSM update, HDD migration.
Forum rules
1) This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form:
https://myds.synology.com/support/suppo ... p?lang=enu
2) To avoid putting users' DiskStation at risk, please don't paste links to any patches provided by our Support team as we will systematically remove them. Our Support team will provide the correct patch for your DiskStation model.
Albert
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2008 10:39 am

First boot: DS107+ grabs router's IP 192.168.1.1

Postby Albert » Mon Dec 08, 2008 10:48 am

Had quite some trouble with 2 new DS 107+.

At the first boot, they grab the IP address 192.168.1.1, which (as in most small networks) happens to be the router's address. So the DS is not accessible, and the Internet connection breaks for the whole network due to the address conflict.

Apparently, there is a bug in these machines which either have a preset fixed IP, or fail to get an address through DHCP and fallback to a very bad choice of fixed IP. What's up?
User avatar
Franklin
Synology Inc
Synology Inc
Posts: 6664
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 11:33 pm
Location: Washington, USA

Re: First boot: DS107+ grabs router's IP 192.168.1.1

Postby Franklin » Mon Dec 08, 2008 11:56 pm

Greetings Albert

Please make sure that DHCP is enabled on your router, and that you have a high DHCP limit, such as 255 addresses.
Or alternatively, power up only one device, set that one unit up, and then power up the second device.

Ensure that both Synology systems are using direct wired connections to the router.

Hope this helps
**Franklin is not available**
**Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!**
Library ~ SynologyWiki ~ Synology FAQ ~ Compatibility Lists
Forum Links ~ Forum Policy ~ 3rd-party forums ~ Help us help you ~ Posting Images
Demo Links ~ DSM GUI ~ Photo Station
Downloads ~ Firmware Downloads ~ Beta Program
Support ~ Support Form ~ Submit Kernel ~ Synology eNews
Albert
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2008 10:39 am

Re: First boot: DS107+ grabs router's IP 192.168.1.1

Postby Albert » Tue Dec 09, 2008 8:36 am

Of course, in both cases when this happened, the router was giving out DHCP addresses and had enough free addresses in the pool. This was with 2 different (but similar) Netopia ADSL routers.

Another difficulty was that the DS would refuse to be set to DHCP if it couldn't contact a DHCP right away. I connected directly to the DS so that I could access it on 192.168.1.1. Then I changed it's config from fixed IP to DHCP. Since there was no DHCP server at that moment, it reverted back to the bad fixed IP instead of just doing what I told it to and waiting until the DHCP server is connected again.

It is solved now, but I thought you migth want to know about this weird "out-of-the-box" behaviour of the DS 107+. (serial , Firmware version DSM 2.0-0722 for the one I have here now)
User avatar
Franklin
Synology Inc
Synology Inc
Posts: 6664
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 11:33 pm
Location: Washington, USA

Re: First boot: DS107+ grabs router's IP 192.168.1.1

Postby Franklin » Tue Dec 09, 2008 7:12 pm

Greetings Albert

It's good to hear that your error has been resolved, about the error you've experienced, I've seen this type of error reported once before in the US, it ended up being identified that the router need a firmware update to resolve the IP address conflicts.


Have a good day.
**Franklin is not available**

**Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!**

Library ~ SynologyWiki ~ Synology FAQ ~ Compatibility Lists

Forum Links ~ Forum Policy ~ 3rd-party forums ~ Help us help you ~ Posting Images

Demo Links ~ DSM GUI ~ Photo Station

Downloads ~ Firmware Downloads ~ Beta Program

Support ~ Support Form ~ Submit Kernel ~ Synology eNews

Albert
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2008 10:39 am

Same problem with DS109: grabs router's IP 192.168.1.1

Postby Albert » Thu May 28, 2009 9:40 am

I just received 2 new DS109 (firmware DSM 2.1-0844), and this problem apparently still isn't fixed: at first boot, they do not get their IP from the LAN's DHCP server, but instead boot with a fixed IP of 192.168.1.1!
User avatar
jekyll
Wizard
Wizard
Posts: 1832
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 7:55 pm
Location: Epworth - UK
Contact:

Re: First boot: DS107+ grabs router's IP 192.168.1.1

Postby jekyll » Thu May 28, 2009 3:10 pm

Different devices, same problem....

Sounds like your DCHP device at fault or something your doing wrong.
I cant see how a device grabs a taken IP especially the routers IP

Have you tried a different device? or maybe start the DHCP pool at 10, 20, 50 or 100
Synology DS1010+ 4.3-3827-U8 | DS410 4.3-3827-U7 | DS509+ 4.2-3252 | DS209+ 3.1-1748 | VS80 x 2

APC UPS1500RM2U | APC AP7920 | Linksys SRW224G4P | Linksys SRW224G4 | 802.3af IP cameras x 10

www.jekyll.info

Return to “Installation, Configuration, Migration, Expansion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests