disconnect expansion chassis

Topics pertaining to volume setup, boot/shutdown, initialization, DSM update, HDD migration.
Forum rules
We've moved! Head over to Synology Community (community.synology.com) to meet up with our team and other Synology enthusiasts!
John42
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2015 6:32 am

disconnect expansion chassis

Unread post by John42 » Wed Jul 04, 2018 4:34 am

I can't seem to find any information about this, and don't want to find out the hard way...

I have a DS2415+ and a DX1215 expansion chassis. Each unit is is its' own volume (12x drives in RAID-6). Can I power the system down, disconnect the DX1215 expansion chassis, boot up the DS2415, and have everything be OK? At a future date, power down the DS2415, connect the DX1215, and have access to my volume 2

I don't need the data on volume 2 to be live 24/7, which is the motivation to save power, heat, and drive life.

Thanks.

User avatar
Rusty1281
Sagacious
Sagacious
Posts: 3246
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 10:51 pm

Re: disconnect expansion chassis

Unread post by Rusty1281 » Wed Jul 04, 2018 10:41 am

Considering that the exp is hosing its own volume there shouldn’t be any degrade volume status at all. If no apps or DSM services are installed on that volume then I see no reason for any problems.

Can’t say for sure but 99% it will be ok. With some RS models that I work with (same scenario) there are no problems, apart from network devices and services that report that data is missing if the volume is inaccesible (if the expansion is off), and thats a valid reason.
Synology DS918+ (4x4TB WD RED - RAID 5 with 2x250GB 960EVO NVMe) | Synology DS412+ (4x3TB WD RED - RAID 5) | RT1900AC

John42
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2015 6:32 am

Re: disconnect expansion chassis

Unread post by John42 » Wed Jul 11, 2018 11:07 pm

Got this response from Synology support:

"As long as you are shutting down the NAS before disconnecting or reconnecting the DX1215 there technically wouldn't be any issues. Any packages installed in the expansion units volume would need to be reinstalled on the main unit volume however."

After migrating some more data, and validating my backup, I'll give it a go.

Locked

Return to “Installation, Configuration, Migration, Expansion”