Redeploy DS213j as NAS backup

Topics pertaining to volume setup, boot/shutdown, initialization, DSM update, HDD migration.
Forum rules
1) This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form:

https://account.synology.com/support/support_form.php?lang=enu



2) To avoid putting users' DiskStation at risk, please don't paste links to any patches provided by our Support team as we will systematically remove them. Our Support team will provide the correct patch for your DiskStation model.
telos
Versed
Versed
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 6:12 pm

Redeploy DS213j as NAS backup

Postby telos » Mon Feb 12, 2018 8:40 pm

Recently added a DS418play and now I want to use my DS213J to backup critical files from the new unit via Hyper Backup. The DS213j has 2x3TB WD Reds as RAID1.

I want to reconfigure the DS213j with 2 basic volumes, and completely reinstall DSM 6.1. Here's my plan...

1. Delete the DS213j volume. I'm assuming I'll then have the opportunity to configure the HDDs as separate basic volumes. Is it that simple, or are there additional steps?
2. Assuming the HDD change works, I then plan to "double reset" the DS213j to force the OS to reinstall.

Am I missing something here? Is there a better way to do this? I welcome advice/critique.
dario_zgb
Versed
Versed
Posts: 266
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2014 5:11 pm

Re: Redeploy DS213j as NAS backup

Postby dario_zgb » Tue Feb 13, 2018 1:12 pm

1. Yes: delete the volume and create two separate volumes.

2. There's actually no need to do this if your DS is working fine as is.
--
DS416play (4x4TB WD Red, SHR) * DS216se (2x3TB WD Red, RAID 0) *
DS214se (2x2TB WD Red, SHR) * DS115j (2TB WD Blue) * RT2600ac
pgotze
Novice
Novice
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 8:43 am

Re: Redeploy DS213j as NAS backup

Postby pgotze » Tue Feb 13, 2018 3:28 pm

Yopu just have to simply reorganize your2 discs by creating single disk volume per disc, or RAID0 over 2 discs.

Thats, all, nothing else.
DS916+(3x2TB SHR, 1x1TB single) primary, DS213j(1x1 TB, 1x 500GB) off-site backup
telos
Versed
Versed
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 6:12 pm

Re: Redeploy DS213j as NAS backup

Postby telos » Tue Feb 13, 2018 7:25 pm

Thanks for the responses...

I thought about the OS reset to clean up users and groups as well as to rid myself of packages and settings that I no longer need. I'm still thinking that one out. The DS does run well, and I'm not keen on self-inflicting new problems I don't now have.

Return to “Installation, Configuration, Migration, Expansion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: leightonw and 11 guests