expanding shr volume and changing Filesystem from ext4 to btrfs

Topics pertaining to volume setup, boot/shutdown, initialization, DSM update, HDD migration.
Forum rules
1) This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form:
https://myds.synology.com/support/suppo ... p?lang=enu
2) To avoid putting users' DiskStation at risk, please don't paste links to any patches provided by our Support team as we will systematically remove them. Our Support team will provide the correct patch for your DiskStation model.
hexalog
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 4:21 pm

expanding shr volume and changing Filesystem from ext4 to btrfs

Postby hexalog » Sun Aug 13, 2017 2:23 pm

Hi, This is my first post
I have a bit of a brain breaker here.
I have a 12 Bay RS2414rp+ nas which has currently 8 x 5TB in SHR ext4 that gives me 27 TB of space (24TB used)
I want to expand this volume with 4 x 8TB drives.
normally i would just put them in and expand, but i had a lot of problems with the ext4 file system in the past (corruption , errors, etc)
So i want to switch over to btrfs
but when i create a new volume of the 4 x 8TB drives I can't expand them with all my 5 tb drives so I'm stuck
I have 4 x 2TB laying around i can use
but if I create an SHR with 1x 2TB and 3x 8TB drives so i can later expand them with my 5TB drives,
I only have 18 TB of usable space and i need to put mu 24TB of data here :(
I dont think i can copy half of my data over to the new volume and than shrink the old one?
note: I dont have a backup or copy of this data
Does anybody have an idea to get me out of this conundrum?
User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
Posts: 18639
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: expanding shr volume and changing Filesystem from ext4 to btrfs

Postby HarryPotter » Sun Aug 13, 2017 2:31 pm

You can

- remove 1x 5 TB (=> degraded volume, but accessible)
- create a new volume with 1 x 5 TB + 4 x 8 TB,
- move data from old to new volume
- delete old volume and
- expand with 5 TB disks.

You will lose all packages.

Like alway, it is strongly recommended to have a backup available....
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS718+ / DSM 6.1.3-15152-7 / ST4000VN000-2AH166 / 16 GB RAM
DS713+ / DSM 6.1.3-15152-7 / HD501LJ + HD502IJ (RAID0)
DS415+ / DSM 6.1.3-15152-7

2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom

APC Smart UPS SUA750i
hexalog
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 4:21 pm

Re: expanding shr volume and changing Filesystem from ext4 to btrfs

Postby hexalog » Sun Aug 13, 2017 2:43 pm

<Wow I dind't think of that, that would be a great solution for me,
Thanks for the quick reply,
any chance i can export or backup my packages to an usb drive and restore them afterwards?
User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
Posts: 18639
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: expanding shr volume and changing Filesystem from ext4 to btrfs

Postby HarryPotter » Sun Aug 13, 2017 7:40 pm

Unfortunately, most packages cant be backed up and restored. However, check HyperBackup what options suit your needs.
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS718+ / DSM 6.1.3-15152-7 / ST4000VN000-2AH166 / 16 GB RAM
DS713+ / DSM 6.1.3-15152-7 / HD501LJ + HD502IJ (RAID0)
DS415+ / DSM 6.1.3-15152-7

2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom

APC Smart UPS SUA750i

Return to “Installation, Configuration, Migration, Expansion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: edray10, Google [Bot] and 13 guests