Any Networking expert tell me the best way to set up my 1515+ in my network

Sit back and relax! Talk about anything here!
Forum rules
This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form:
https://myds.synology.com/support/suppo ... p?lang=enu
spixnspex
I'm New!
I'm New!

Any Networking expert tell me the best way to set up my 1515+ in my network

Postby spixnspex » Fri Apr 15, 2016 2:39 pm

Hi

Im very new to networking and would like to try and get the most out of the equipment that i have and have drawn a diagram of my setup in the hope that someone can tell me the best way to setup my synology for the fastest speed.

I capture vhs footage (DV) to my computers and the local USB drives, however, i would like all computers on my network to capture to the 1515+ and do so simultaneously.

If you recommend a piece of equipment that could help me, please feel free to do so.

Here is what i have

https://www.dropbox.com/s/lp32yznrfusan5y/Screenshot%202016-04-15%2023.31.23.png?dl=0

Room 1 has the modem and router. I cant move this. I have a macmini server attached to the router.

I run an ethernet cat 6 cable from the router into my time capsule in room 2. And i use the capsule as a router which feeds my other mac computers.

I hope this gives you an idea of what i have.

Thanks for all your advice.
ctcousineau
Trainee
Trainee

Re: Any Networking expert tell me the best way to set up my 1515+ in my network

Postby ctcousineau » Sat Apr 16, 2016 1:23 pm

You should be able to plug a small 5-port gigabit switch into one of the LAN <-> ports on the TIme Capsule. Then you can plug one (or all) of the computers and the Synology into the switch. There are many brands, but this is one example http://www.amazon.com/TP-LINK-Gigabit-Ethernet-Desktop-TL-SG105/dp/B00A128S24/.
spixnspex
I'm New!
I'm New!

Postby spixnspex » Sat Apr 16, 2016 1:40 pm