Which mediaserver to use?

Sit back and relax! Talk about anything here!
Forum rules
We've moved! Head over to Synology Community (community.synology.com) to meet up with our team and other Synology enthusiasts!
oRBIT
Ace
Ace
Posts: 790
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 2:17 pm
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Which mediaserver to use?

Unread post by oRBIT » Sun Jun 03, 2018 8:15 pm

I've used Plex on my Synology for ages but I'm fed up with it now for many reasons. I've investigated a few other servers but came up empty.
Plex = Bugs. Latest UI-update and I've had it.. Not userfriendly for kids (which is a must, some kind of click-n-play UI..)
Emby = Not UI-friendly for kids either. Too many settings for my own taste
Videostation = Not enough control of playback (bitrate??). Not UI-friendly for kids.
??
What more to try? I really want a streaming solution that's able to transcode (for my iOS-devices). Have I missed an obvious solution that I can run on my NAS? Help is appreciated.
DS918+ (12B RAM, 6TB WD RED, 2x3TB WD RED WD30EFRX-68EUZN0)

My Synology blog: http://synofan.blogspot.se

User avatar
Rusty1281
Sagacious
Sagacious
Posts: 3246
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 10:51 pm

Re: Which mediaserver to use?

Unread post by Rusty1281 » Sun Jun 03, 2018 9:51 pm

I’m sorry but I have to ask. What bugs and how is plex not kids friendly? Plex is the only media platform that all my family members can use without any questions. Just curious.
Synology DS918+ (4x4TB WD RED - RAID 5 with 2x250GB 960EVO NVMe) | Synology DS412+ (4x3TB WD RED - RAID 5) | RT1900AC

sincarne
Guru
Guru
Posts: 1578
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 9:57 pm

Re: Which mediaserver to use?

Unread post by sincarne » Sun Jun 03, 2018 9:52 pm

what bug you have for plex? :?: :?:

oRBIT
Ace
Ace
Posts: 790
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 2:17 pm
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Which mediaserver to use?

Unread post by oRBIT » Mon Jun 04, 2018 6:30 am

1) Sometimes the movies just won't play. It gives me a spinner and spins what seems forever. Stopping and starting the movie will sometime fix the problem.
2) Subtitles are sometimes not displayed even if they're visible for Plex. Restarting the movie might fix the problem.
3) Subtitles are sometimes not found by Plex even if they're there (and doesn't contain any strange characters).
4) I find the offlinemode not very userfriendly together with the new UI.
5) I hate the new UI. :)

I don't think it's very kidfriendly, it's simply too much information and too many clicks going on.
DS918+ (12B RAM, 6TB WD RED, 2x3TB WD RED WD30EFRX-68EUZN0)

My Synology blog: http://synofan.blogspot.se

User avatar
Rusty1281
Sagacious
Sagacious
Posts: 3246
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 10:51 pm

Re: Which mediaserver to use?

Unread post by Rusty1281 » Mon Jun 04, 2018 7:36 am

Sorry to hear that but I can say that in the last 10y or so I have never had situations covering any of the 1st 3 points. UI is a personal preference so I will not comment on that.
Synology DS918+ (4x4TB WD RED - RAID 5 with 2x250GB 960EVO NVMe) | Synology DS412+ (4x3TB WD RED - RAID 5) | RT1900AC

sincarne
Guru
Guru
Posts: 1578
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 9:57 pm

Re: Which mediaserver to use?

Unread post by sincarne » Tue Jun 05, 2018 6:45 pm

you install version from plex website with plex pass? 1-2 sound like transcode issue
other player i see use is Infuse. You try that?

oRBIT
Ace
Ace
Posts: 790
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 2:17 pm
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Which mediaserver to use?

Unread post by oRBIT » Wed Jun 06, 2018 7:46 pm

I've tried Infuse awhile ago, however it doesn't transcode and that doesn't work when you're on 3G/4G only.. It requires signup at some other service aswell to keep track on which movies you've watched and not and that annoyed me aswell.
DS918+ (12B RAM, 6TB WD RED, 2x3TB WD RED WD30EFRX-68EUZN0)

My Synology blog: http://synofan.blogspot.se

User avatar
Rusty1281
Sagacious
Sagacious
Posts: 3246
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 10:51 pm

Re: Which mediaserver to use?

Unread post by Rusty1281 » Wed Jun 06, 2018 10:32 pm

I have to say that Plex on 918 rocks... Just testing 3 4K movies at the same time without breaking a sweat. HW transcode is awesome.
Synology DS918+ (4x4TB WD RED - RAID 5 with 2x250GB 960EVO NVMe) | Synology DS412+ (4x3TB WD RED - RAID 5) | RT1900AC

stormtigers
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 10:08 am

Re: Which mediaserver to use?

Unread post by stormtigers » Fri Sep 14, 2018 11:08 am

As a server package I use Serviio and KODI as access to the server

Locked

Return to “The Lounge”