Guide: Add custom DDNS service to Synology

Questions and mods regarding system management may go here
Forum rules
Please note the disclaimer before modifying your Synology Product.
johanneso
Trainee
Trainee

Guide: Add custom DDNS service to Synology

Postby johanneso » Thu Jun 13, 2013 2:43 pm

Hi,
I'm a Synology noob and wanted to add a custom DDNS service to my DiskStation. I've found tidbits here and there but thought we could do with a coalesced guide... So here's my try.

1. Open the DSM Control Panel, Terminal. Enable SSH.
2. Open Terminal on your Mac (or install PuTTy on your Windows machine). Find the IP adress of your Synology and log into it as root (not admin). In terminal the syntax would be "ssh root@192.168.1.xxx" and press enter. Now input your admin account password and you're logged in as root. Don't do anything else than what we do next!
3. Next we need to make the DynDNS services database editable. Type "chmod +w /etc.defaults/ddns_provider.conf" and press enter.
4. Now we'll add a new DDNS service. Type "vi /etc.defaults/ddns_provider.conf" and press enter. You're now using a text editor to look inside the DDNS services database.
5. Press "i" to enter edit mode. Using the down key, scroll down until the rows starting with hash tags end. Here's the list. Now lets input our own service, in my case swedish provider Loopia. To make the structure as nice as the rest of the list, use the Tab key to move the second line a bit further in. Type:"
[Loopia.se]
modulepath=DynDNS
queryurl=dns.loopia.se/XDynDNSServer/XDynDNS.php?hostname=__HOSTNAME__&myip=__MYIP__
"
6. Press the escape button twice to get out of edit mode. Now type ":wq" to save and quit the text editor. Type "exit" to close your SSH connection to the Synology.