SynoLED - The lightswitch for your Synology

Questions and mods regarding system management may go here
Forum rules
We've moved! Head over to Synology Community (community.synology.com) to meet up with our team and other Synology enthusiasts!
LosOutlandos
Student
Student
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 10:47 pm

Re: Disable status lights on front of nas?

Unread post by LosOutlandos » Fri Oct 21, 2011 11:00 pm

leonm91 wrote:This thread seriously inspired me for a small learning project in Android.
For people the people still having this issue:

Image
very nice, thanks alot!

leonm91
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 9:52 am

SynoLED - The lightswitch for your Synology

Unread post by leonm91 » Sun Oct 23, 2011 12:20 am

Plagued by the front LED's of my Synology, I decided to make an App for it :idea:
It's main function is to switch the LED's on/off, but it now also features a reboot and shutdown.

It's in the market currently and you can download it by scan/click the QR code below.
Like to get feedback or any suggestions :wink:

Permissions:
  • - [Internet] - make connection to your Synology
    - [Hardware] - haptic feedback implemented in some buttons
Link
Image

User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
Posts: 19674
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: SynoLED - The lightswitch for your Synology

Unread post by HarryPotter » Sun Oct 23, 2011 2:10 pm

Interesting project :) I am following the development on my android cell phone.
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS718+ / DSM 6.2-23511 / ST4000VN000-2AH166 / SA400S37120G SSD cache /16 GB RAM
DS415+ / DSM 6.2-23511

LMS 7.9.1-166, 2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom

APC Smart UPS SUA750i

mikeo
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 9:21 am

Re: SynoLED - The lightswitch for your Synology

Unread post by mikeo » Wed Oct 26, 2011 8:29 am

Nice one and working great. Only not all light will turn off on the Synology 211

LAN and Disk 1 and Disk 2 light stay on.

leonm91
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 9:52 am

Re: SynoLED - The lightswitch for your Synology

Unread post by leonm91 » Wed Oct 26, 2011 6:21 pm

mikeo wrote:Nice one and working great. Only not all light will turn off on the Synology 211

LAN and Disk 1 and Disk 2 light stay on.
Those are crucial.
The main purpose is to disable the most anoying and bright LED (power)

mikeo
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 9:21 am

Re: SynoLED - The lightswitch for your Synology

Unread post by mikeo » Mon Nov 14, 2011 3:20 pm

Maby a good idea to ask again if you want to reboot or shutdown your NAS. Now when you click on the button is start the process. Sometime you hit the screen accidentally and you are to late.
When this happens and there comes a popup or something asking if you are sure it is saver that way.

leonm91
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 9:52 am

Re: SynoLED - The lightswitch for your Synology

Unread post by leonm91 » Tue Nov 22, 2011 11:24 pm

mikeo wrote:Maby a good idea to ask again if you want to reboot or shutdown your NAS. Now when you click on the button is start the process. Sometime you hit the screen accidentally and you are to late.
When this happens and there comes a popup or something asking if you are sure it is saver that way.
Good idea!
Will implement it this week :idea:

ppsy
Sharp
Sharp
Posts: 176
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 2:10 pm

Re: SynoLED - The lightswitch for your Synology

Unread post by ppsy » Tue Jun 19, 2012 6:36 pm

Hi, is this project still on? I don't have android, but would like to dim / turn off the power LED in front of the NAS. Ideas?

zandhaas
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 11:06 am

Re: SynoLED - The lightswitch for your Synology

Unread post by zandhaas » Wed Jun 20, 2012 7:40 am

You can switch the LED's off from the commandline.

http://www.synology-wiki.de/index.php/LEDs_und_Buttons

Try a translator if you can't read German.

for switching off the Power-Led login with e.g Putty and issue

echo 6 >/dev/ttyS1
DS710+ DSM 5.1-5021 + 2 * WD20EARS
DS213+ DSM 5.1-5021 + 2 * ST2000DM001-9YN1

ppsy
Sharp
Sharp
Posts: 176
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 2:10 pm

Re: SynoLED - The lightswitch for your Synology

Unread post by ppsy » Wed Jun 20, 2012 7:59 am

Hi, looks good.

Since I'm a newbie to Linux, could you briefly explain where to run the command line from? Is there a command prompt in DSM? Do I need to install Putty and how? Sorry for such a basic question...

AllenG
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 9:57 am

Re: SynoLED - The lightswitch for your Synology

Unread post by AllenG » Wed Jun 20, 2012 10:32 am

Hi.

I too would like to turn off the Power LED of my DS412+ automatically on bootup.

I have found various threads as well as this and the commandline "echo 6 >/dev/ttyS1" does the trick on my DS412+.
I have created a script led.sh in /usr/local/etc/rc.d/
I have done the "chmod 700 led.sh"

I can run the script with sh led.sh and it works.

This is not working on boot so I must still have missed something.

The led.sh permissions show -rwx------ is this correct?

If I want to put the "echo 6 >/dev/ttyS1" into an existing autorun script which file should I add it to on my DS412 running DS4.0-2228?

I am a complete novice to linux so I would appreciate some guidance please

Regards Allen.

AllenG
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 9:57 am

Re: SynoLED - The lightswitch for your Synology

Unread post by AllenG » Wed Jun 20, 2012 8:47 pm

ppsy wrote:Hi, looks good.

Since I'm a newbie to Linux, could you briefly explain where to run the command line from? Is there a command prompt in DSM? Do I need to install Putty and how? Sorry for such a basic question...
Hi.

I'm a newbie to linux as well but I can help here. I've just learned how to do this myself

There is no commandline prompt in DSM. You have to install a Telnet or SSH client on a PC on your network. I used Putty on my windows7 PC. Putty doesn't need installation, just run the executable, choose Telnet or SSH, and enter the IP address of your NAS.
You also have to enable telnet and/or SSH access in DSM before you will be able to login via Putty.

To get full access rights you need to login using unsername "root" and your admin password.

Hope this gets you started.

Regards Allen.

Locked

Return to “System Managment Mods”