Amazon Echo/Dot Alexa skills

Discuss with the community any ideas you'd love to see in future DiskStations and DSM updates! We do our best to monitor and forward all of them, but we recommend to also use this form as our team will systematically see your suggestion:
https://www.synology.com/form/inquiry/feature
Forum rules
1) This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form:

https://account.synology.com/support/su ... p?lang=enu



2) To avoid putting users' DiskStation at risk, please don't paste links to any patches provided by our Support team as we will systematically remove them. Our Support team will provide the correct patch for your DiskStation model.
Pfalder
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 9:40 pm

Re: Amazon Echo/Dot Alexa skills

Unread post by Pfalder » Tue Nov 28, 2017 10:18 pm

danmeljeff wrote:I went round and round for quite a while, and finally was able to get it to work. The trick for me was to open the 5001 port on my router. I wasn't allowing in external access. I too had to "Enable Amazon Alexa Service" within the DSM Audio Station, but couldn't do this until I opened up the router port.

Hope this helps.
I have passed this stage of the setup, I have opened the port 5001 and tested it works, it fails when in the Alexa skill trying to link.

rmchale
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2017 12:23 am

Re: Amazon Echo/Dot Alexa skills

Unread post by rmchale » Sun Dec 10, 2017 12:24 am

Does the alexa skill work with multi-room playback?

benswansea
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 10:37 pm

Re: Amazon Echo/Dot Alexa skills

Unread post by benswansea » Fri Dec 22, 2017 10:48 pm

I am getting "Failed to apply settings. Check Internet Connectivity" error message when trying to enable to Alexa service.

I have done the following so far, have I missed something?

1) Created a DDNS name -> <username>.synology.me under external access
2) Created a SSL certifcate for the hostname via "Let's Encrypt"
3) Made sure oAuth is active/installed
4) Opened port 5001 on my router to point at my synology server.

I am in the UK and I also cant see the Synology/Audio Station under skills in the Alexa app

benswansea
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 10:37 pm

Re: Amazon Echo/Dot Alexa skills

Unread post by benswansea » Sat Dec 23, 2017 9:31 am

Removed the synology.com cert and I have been able to enable the Amazon Alexa service on my diskstation.

I cant see the skill in my app though

jkorenstein
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2017 2:55 am

Re: Amazon Echo/Dot Alexa skills

Unread post by jkorenstein » Sun Dec 24, 2017 3:00 am

My Audiostation does not have the "Enable Amazon Alexa Service" check box.

I am running DSM 6.1.4-15217 Update 5 for which the control panel says "Your DSM version is up-to-date."

Any ideas why I can't see that option?

User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
Posts: 19437
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Amazon Echo/Dot Alexa skills

Unread post by HarryPotter » Sun Dec 24, 2017 10:39 am

Implemented in DSM 6.2 (currently beta)
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS718+ / DSM 6.2-23511 / ST4000VN000-2AH166 / SA400S37120G SSD cache /16 GB RAM
DS415+ / DSM 6.2-23511

LMS 7.9.1-166, 2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom

APC Smart UPS SUA750i

jmeekman
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2017 12:53 am

Alexa, Synology Diskstation and Sonos Play:5

Unread post by jmeekman » Sun Dec 31, 2017 1:02 am

Hi Everyone,

So I am attempting something that currently seems impossible, unless I just can't quite get the right phrasing down... Which has potential, because it's quite a mouthful to get some of my own personal music playing.

What works:

Alexa
Alexa playing Amazon Music to Sonos (Play:5)
Alexa playing Audio Station through Echo, Echo Plus and Echo Dot.

What I can't seem to get working:

Alex playing Audio Station music through Sonos

My main clearest attempt is:
"Alexa, ask Audio Station to play Album Thriller on Garage" (The Garage is where my Sonos is... so that's it's name)

I get nothing (no tracks found message)

Anyone have any luck with a setup like this?

It's not any sort of deal breaker at all... I can completely play all of my own music on the Play:5 directly through the Sonos App... but now I am spoiled by my personal assistant! :)

Thanks in advance for any input!

cattlerustler
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 12:34 pm

Re: Amazon Echo/Dot Alexa skills

Unread post by cattlerustler » Mon Jan 29, 2018 2:19 pm

benswansea wrote:I am getting "Failed to apply settings. Check Internet Connectivity" error message when trying to enable to Alexa service.

I have done the following so far, have I missed something?

1) Created a DDNS name -> <username>.synology.me under external access
2) Created a SSL certifcate for the hostname via "Let's Encrypt"
3) Made sure oAuth is active/installed
4) Opened port 5001 on my router to point at my synology server.

I am in the UK and I also cant see the Synology/Audio Station under skills in the Alexa app
Well the Alexa skill is not available in the UK, to say I'm annoyed is an understatement, come on synology make it available!

BoyScout_9
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 11:17 am

Re: Amazon Echo/Dot Alexa skills

Unread post by BoyScout_9 » Tue Jan 30, 2018 11:22 am

Well the Alexa skill is not available in the UK, to say I'm annoyed is an understatement, come on synology make it available!
The same situation is in Germany :-(

Dear Synology, when do you plan to make Alexa skill available in other countries?

cpascal
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 12:05 am

Re: Amazon Echo/Dot Alexa skills

Unread post by cpascal » Sat Mar 17, 2018 9:27 pm

I have linked my Alexa with Audio Station.

Most my music's metadata are not English.
I can modify the ID3 of the mp3 files into English-pronunciation.
But if there is a additional search-tag or, additional title-mapping file/db.. it could be more useful instead of invading the original tags..

wbmunro
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 5:38 am

Re: Amazon Echo/Dot Alexa skills

Unread post by wbmunro » Wed Apr 04, 2018 5:42 am

What finally got it to work for me ... was making sure I was OFF my home network when activating the Alex skill. So, I just used my phone with wifi turned off.

danielch
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2018 10:23 am

Re: Amazon Echo/Dot Alexa skills

Unread post by danielch » Thu Apr 19, 2018 10:39 am

Hello All,
I have problem with my audio station alexa skill.
Everything is connected and working fine. But after some time (~1 day) my alexa skill unlink and I have to link the skill again from alexa app.
After this my skill is working fine again

jhmorri2
Novice
Novice
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2017 12:04 am
Location: Arizona
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo/Dot Alexa skills

Unread post by jhmorri2 » Fri Apr 20, 2018 2:32 am

danielch wrote:Hello All,
I have problem with my audio station alexa skill.
Everything is connected and working fine. But after some time (~1 day) my alexa skill unlink and I have to link the skill again from alexa app.
After this my skill is working fine again
I gave up after spending about a week trying to get it to work. Instead I just started using DS Audio and Bluetooth to my various smart speakers. I know a lot of people will be happy when synology releases a working version for Alexa and one for Google home that actually works.

It should be as easy as saying, "Hey Alexa/Google, play (song title/album/artist) from my (NAS/Synology/Server/or nothing at all as it would be default player). It will get it in time I believe.

rx3858
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 12:50 am

Re: Amazon Echo/Dot Alexa skills

Unread post by rx3858 » Sun Apr 22, 2018 12:53 am


host324
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2018 8:20 pm

Re: Amazon Echo/Dot Alexa skills

Unread post by host324 » Wed Apr 25, 2018 8:29 pm

I was finaly able to succeed
what i've done :
Create certificate
EZ Internet
Create DDNS
open port forwarding on my router (80, 5000, 5001)

And problem was that in :
Certificate there is button Configure, there was everywhere synology.com i've changed it to my newly created certificate (web interface was restarted afterwards)

After this change i was able to enable Alexa in Audio station, after this also linking alexa's skill start working.

I hope that this will help also other people.

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests & Product Improvement Suggestions”