DS918+ and M.2 NVMe?

The general discussion room of 2018 Synology Products.
Do not post support questions in this room, please refer to one of the rooms below for further assistance.
Forum rules
1) This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form:

https://account.synology.com/support/support_form.php?lang=enu



2) To avoid putting users' DiskStation at risk, please don't paste links to any patches provided by our Support team as we will systematically remove them. Our Support team will provide the correct patch for your DiskStation model.
oRBIT
Ace
Ace
Posts: 776
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 2:17 pm
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

DS918+ and M.2 NVMe?

Postby oRBIT » Fri Jan 12, 2018 9:59 pm

I read that the DS918+ has two M.2-slots for cache-usage. My question is, can these two slots be used for standard volumes instead (=total no of 6 "drives")?
DS718+ (10GB RAM, 2x3TB WD RED WD30EFRX-68EUZN0)

My Synology blog: http://synofan.blogspot.se
cfuttrup
Virtuoso
Virtuoso
Posts: 1304
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 8:01 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: DS918+ and M.2 NVMe?

Postby cfuttrup » Sat Jan 13, 2018 1:02 pm

Hi oRBIT

As far as I understand, this is not the purpose, and the GUI doesn't support it.

If it can or not at all, provided that you're willing to hack away - I'd say - almost anything can be done, if you're Linux savvy enough.

/Claus
User avatar
Rusty1281
Sorcerer
Sorcerer
Posts: 2357
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 10:51 pm

Re: DS918+ and M.2 NVMe?

Postby Rusty1281 » Sat Jan 13, 2018 3:03 pm

Cache only
Synology DS918+ (4x4TB WD RED - RAID 5 with 2x250GB 960EVO NVMe) | Synology DS412+ (4x3TB WD RED - RAID 5) | RT1900AC

Return to “2018 Synology Hardware Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests