Teamspeak 3 and Murmur servers

Questions that don't fit in any category below may go here
Forum rules
1) This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form:

https://account.synology.com/support/support_form.php?lang=enu



2) To avoid putting users' DiskStation at risk, please don't paste links to any patches provided by our Support team as we will systematically remove them. Our Support team will provide the correct patch for your DiskStation model.
cyberwarden
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 6:35 pm

Teamspeak 3 and Murmur servers

Postby cyberwarden » Mon Sep 24, 2012 1:23 am

I have a DS1512+ and was able to get Teamspeak 3 and Murmur servers running on it using DSM4.0 and DSM4.1. So I will share how to do this. You might want to copy the code to a text file for easier reading.
For this to work you must have a unit with a Intel Atom CPU: D410, D425, D510, D525 or D2700 Processor no others will work.
For this to work you need to bootstrap your unit so make sure you read the "General Disclaimer on Modifying the Synology Server" and know the risk. If you install the wrong bootstrap you will have big problems!
Go here http://forum.synology.com/wiki/index.php/Overview_on_modifying_the_Synology_Server,_bootstrap,_ipkg_etc and install bootstrap if you haven't already. Make sure you read the directions carefully and and read what comes up on the
interface because I had to run 2 commands then reboot and start the install again. I copied the directions commands to a text file and copied and pasted to the interface.

Below is for refernce ONLY of the ATOM Processors so make sure you read the above directions that fits your unit!

Code: Select all

cd /volume1/@tmp
wget http://ipkg.nslu2-linux.org/feeds/optware/syno-i686/cross/unstable/syno-i686-bootstrap_1.2-7_i686.xsh (ATOM Processors ONLY!)
chmod +x syno-i686-bootstrap_1.2-7_i686.xsh
sh syno-i686-bootstrap_1.2-7_i686.xsh  (It may ask you to delete folders and reboot.  Do what it tells you and start over.)
rm syno-i686-bootstrap_1.2-7_i686.xsh
vi /root/.profile  (Read step 8 carefully first before commenting out the 2 lines it includes DSM4.1 which I run and remember hit Esc key and type :q! to get you out of vi without saving if you make a mistake.)
#PATH=/sbin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/syno/sbin:/usr/syno/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin
#PATH=/sbin...
type reboot   (My unit hung on this and I had to hard shutdown with the power button but everything was fine after that.)


TeamSpeak 3
Ref:
http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&sl=de&u=http://www.synology-wiki.de/index.php/TeamSpeak_3_Server&prev=/search%3Fq%3Dsynology%2Bteamspeak%2B3%26hl%3Den%26rls%3Dcom.microsoft:en-us:IE-Address%26prmd%3Dimvnsfd&sa=X&ei=BIBeUIiGH8eW2gXLkID4Cw&ved=0CCQQ7gEwAA

Code: Select all

cd /volume1

wget http://teamspeak.gameserver.gamed.de/ts3/releases/3.0.6.1/teamspeak3-server_linux-x86-3.0.6.1.tar.gz

tar -jxvf teamspeak3-server_linux-x86-3.0.6.1.tar.gz

rm teamspeak3-server_linux-x86-3.0.6.1.tar.gz

cd /volume1/teamspeak3-server_linux-x86

sh ts3server_startscript.sh start

copy "serveradmin" "<password>" and the "token" to a text doc and save (you will need it to login as the superadmin)

sh ts3server_startscript.sh stop

cd /opt/etc/init.d/

vi S99ts3.sh

Hit key "I" for edit
Paste text below between the ##### then hit key "Esc" (if the format is all messed up when pasted read my note below to fix it later)
Hold the Shift key down and type ZZ to save

(NOTE: The paste function in "vi" has problems maintaing format.  So I installed Config File Editor spk file from here http://www.mertymade.com/syno/ to properly paste the text below after I'm completed with this install to fix it. 
 Add these two lines to the Config File Editor selection at the bottom of the drop down or just the one you are installing.

 /opt/etc/init.d/S99ts3.sh,TeamSpeak
 /opt/etc/init.d/S99mumble.sh,mumble

 If the save button doesn't show up after a paste then backspace a letter and enter it again in the Config File Editor)

######COPY BELOW AND PASTE#######

#!/Bin/sh

### BegiN INIT INFO # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # #
#
#
# S99ts3.sh
# Starts Ts3 server at startup
# And stops at  shutdown / restart
#
### END INIT INFO # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # #
cd /volume1/teamspeak3-server_linux-x86/

case $1 in
start)
sh /volume1/teamspeak3-server_linux-x86/ts3server_startscript.sh start&
;;
stop)
sh /volume1/teamspeak3-server_linux-x86/ts3server_startscript.sh stop&
;;
*)
echo "Usage: $0 [start|stop]"
;;
esac

######COPY END ABOVE#######

chmod 755 S99ts3.sh


Mumble (murmur)
Ref:
http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&sl=fr&tl=en&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.nas-forum.com%2Fforum%2Ftopic%2F15119-installation-de-murmur-sur-syno-x86%2F

Code: Select all

cd /volume1

wget http://iweb.dl.sourceforge.net/project/mumble/Mumble/1.2.3/murmur-static_x86-1.2.3.tar.bz2

tar -jxvf murmur-static_x86-1.2.3.tar.bz2

rm murmur-static_x86-1.2.3.tar.bz2

cd /volume1/murmur-static_x86-1.2.3/

chmod 744 murmur.x86

./murmur.x86

killall murmur.x86

./murmur.x86 -supw <password>  (<password> is your password)

murmur.x86 && killall

./murmur.x86

cd /opt/etc/init.d/

vi S99mumble.sh

Hit key "I" for edit
Paste text below between the ##### then hit key "Esc" (if the format is all messed up when pasted read my note below to fix it later)
Hold the Shift key down and type ZZ to save

(NOTED ABOVE AlSO IN TEAMSPEAK INSTALL: The paste function in "vi" has problems maintaing format.  So I installed Config File Editor spk file from here http://www.mertymade.com/syno/ to properly paste the text below after I'm completed with this install to fix it. 
Add these two lines to the Config File Editor selection at the bottom of the drop down or just the one you are installing.

 /opt/etc/init.d/S99ts3.sh,TeamSpeak
 /opt/etc/init.d/S99mumble.sh,mumble

If the save button doesn't show up after a paste then backspace a letter and enter it again in the Config File Editor)

#######COPY BELOW AND PASTE######

#!/bin/sh
cd /volume1/murmur-static_x86-1.2.3/

case $1 in
start)
/volume1/murmur-static_x86-1.2.3/murmur.x86
exit 0
;;
stop)
killall murmur.x86
exit 0
;;
esac

#########COPY END ABOVE########

chmod 755 S99mumble.sh

For this part must be understood that Murmur is launched:

Mumble boot your client (in my case Mumble 1.2.3 for Windows).
Go to "Configure" then "Settings" and click "Advanced" at the bottom left.
Connect to the server with your personal information (nas ip, port, and username).
The server will eventually ask for a password after clicking "Login" if you define a password in the configuration file.
When you are connected to the server do right-click on your name and click "Register".
Disconnect from the server.
Go to your server list, which appears at the start of Mumble, please right-click on your server and then "Edit", change your nick to "SuperUser" and login.
The server will ask the SuperUser password that you configured earlier.
Once logged in click right on your channel root then "Edit", you can access all administration options, you can change the privileges of groups to users in a group, etc. ...
To reconnect as a normal user you have to change "SuperUser" with your username.


Finally reboot the unit and everything should be running. You Teamspeak 3 users might like this for managing the server.
http://addons.teamspeak.com/directory/tools/administration/YaTQA-Query-Admin-Tool-(German).html
pz1
Knowledgeable
Knowledgeable
Posts: 374
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 9:56 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Teamspeak 3 and Murmur servers

Postby pz1 » Mon Sep 24, 2012 8:10 am

It is always great to see people who are sharing their experiences.
Thank you for the efforts
DS-207+ 128MB; DSM 3.1-1594
HDD: WDC WD10EADS-00L5B1 (01.01A01)
LMS 7.7.1 via SSODS4.9.1mod2 (by j-r)
DS212+ 512MB; DSM 4.3-3827 Update 7
LMS 7.7.2-007 via Synology spk
montana
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 12:46 pm

Re: Teamspeak 3 and Murmur servers

Postby montana » Sat Oct 13, 2012 12:56 pm

cyberwarden wrote:I have a DS1512+ and was able to get Teamspeak 3 and Murmur servers running on it using DSM4.0 and DSM4.1. So I will share how to do this. You might want to copy the code to a text file for easier reading.
For this to work you must have a unit with a Intel Atom CPU: D410, D425, D510, D525 or D2700 Processor no others will work.
For this to work you need to bootstrap your unit so make sure you read the "General Disclaimer on Modifying the Synology Server" and know the risk. If you install the wrong bootstrap you will have big problems!
Go here http://forum.synology.com/wiki/index.php/Overview_on_modifying_the_Synology_Server,_bootstrap,_ipkg_etc and install bootstrap if you haven't already. Make sure you read the directions carefully and and read what comes up on the
interface because I had to run 2 commands then reboot and start the install again. I copied the directions commands to a text file and copied and pasted to the interface.

Below is for refernce ONLY of the ATOM Processors so make sure you read the above directions that fits your unit!

Code: Select all

cd /volume1/@tmp
wget http://ipkg.nslu2-linux.org/feeds/optware/syno-i686/cross/unstable/syno-i686-bootstrap_1.2-7_i686.xsh (ATOM Processors ONLY!)
chmod +x syno-i686-bootstrap_1.2-7_i686.xsh
sh syno-i686-bootstrap_1.2-7_i686.xsh  (It may ask you to delete folders and reboot.  Do what it tells you and start over.)
rm syno-i686-bootstrap_1.2-7_i686.xsh
vi /root/.profile  (Read step 8 carefully first before commenting out the 2 lines it includes DSM4.1 which I run and remember hit Esc key and type :q! to get you out of vi without saving if you make a mistake.)
#PATH=/sbin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/syno/sbin:/usr/syno/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin
#PATH=/sbin...
type reboot   (My unit hung on this and I had to hard shutdown with the power button but everything was fine after that.)


TeamSpeak 3
Ref:
http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&sl=de&u=http://www.synology-wiki.de/index.php/TeamSpeak_3_Server&prev=/search%3Fq%3Dsynology%2Bteamspeak%2B3%26hl%3Den%26rls%3Dcom.microsoft:en-us:IE-Address%26prmd%3Dimvnsfd&sa=X&ei=BIBeUIiGH8eW2gXLkID4Cw&ved=0CCQQ7gEwAA

Code: Select all

cd /volume1

wget http://teamspeak.gameserver.gamed.de/ts3/releases/3.0.6.1/teamspeak3-server_linux-x86-3.0.6.1.tar.gz

tar -jxvf teamspeak3-server_linux-x86-3.0.6.1.tar.gz

rm teamspeak3-server_linux-x86-3.0.6.1.tar.gz

cd /volume1/teamspeak3-server_linux-x86

sh ts3server_startscript.sh start

copy "serveradmin" "<password>" and the "token" to a text doc and save (you will need it to login as the superadmin)

sh ts3server_startscript.sh stop

cd /opt/etc/init.d/

vi S99ts3.sh

Hit key "I" for edit
Paste text below between the ##### then hit key "Esc" (if the format is all messed up when pasted read my note below to fix it later)
Hold the Shift key down and type ZZ to save

(NOTE: The paste function in "vi" has problems maintaing format.  So I installed Config File Editor spk file from here http://www.mertymade.com/syno/ to properly paste the text below after I'm completed with this install to fix it. 
 Add these two lines to the Config File Editor selection at the bottom of the drop down or just the one you are installing.

 /opt/etc/init.d/S99ts3.sh,TeamSpeak
 /opt/etc/init.d/S99mumble.sh,mumble

 If the save button doesn't show up after a paste then backspace a letter and enter it again in the Config File Editor)

######COPY BELOW AND PASTE#######

#!/Bin/sh

### BegiN INIT INFO # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # #
#
#
# S99ts3.sh
# Starts Ts3 server at startup
# And stops at  shutdown / restart
#
### END INIT INFO # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # #
cd /volume1/teamspeak3-server_linux-x86/

case $1 in
start)
sh /volume1/teamspeak3-server_linux-x86/ts3server_startscript.sh start&
;;
stop)
sh /volume1/teamspeak3-server_linux-x86/ts3server_startscript.sh stop&
;;
*)
echo "Usage: $0 [start|stop]"
;;
esac

######COPY END ABOVE#######

chmod 755 S99ts3.sh


Mumble (murmur)
Ref:
http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&sl=fr&tl=en&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.nas-forum.com%2Fforum%2Ftopic%2F15119-installation-de-murmur-sur-syno-x86%2F

Code: Select all

cd /volume1

wget http://iweb.dl.sourceforge.net/project/mumble/Mumble/1.2.3/murmur-static_x86-1.2.3.tar.bz2

tar -jxvf murmur-static_x86-1.2.3.tar.bz2

rm murmur-static_x86-1.2.3.tar.bz2

cd /volume1/murmur-static_x86-1.2.3/

chmod 744 murmur.x86

./murmur.x86

killall murmur.x86

./murmur.x86 -supw <password>  (<password> is your password)

murmur.x86 && killall

./murmur.x86

cd /opt/etc/init.d/

vi S99mumble.sh

Hit key "I" for edit
Paste text below between the ##### then hit key "Esc" (if the format is all messed up when pasted read my note below to fix it later)
Hold the Shift key down and type ZZ to save

(NOTED ABOVE AlSO IN TEAMSPEAK INSTALL: The paste function in "vi" has problems maintaing format.  So I installed Config File Editor spk file from here http://www.mertymade.com/syno/ to properly paste the text below after I'm completed with this install to fix it. 
Add these two lines to the Config File Editor selection at the bottom of the drop down or just the one you are installing.

 /opt/etc/init.d/S99ts3.sh,TeamSpeak
 /opt/etc/init.d/S99mumble.sh,mumble

If the save button doesn't show up after a paste then backspace a letter and enter it again in the Config File Editor)

#######COPY BELOW AND PASTE######

#!/bin/sh
cd /volume1/murmur-static_x86-1.2.3/

case $1 in
start)
/volume1/murmur-static_x86-1.2.3/murmur.x86
exit 0
;;
stop)
killall murmur.x86
exit 0
;;
esac

#########COPY END ABOVE########

chmod 755 S99mumble.sh

For this part must be understood that Murmur is launched:

Mumble boot your client (in my case Mumble 1.2.3 for Windows).
Go to "Configure" then "Settings" and click "Advanced" at the bottom left.
Connect to the server with your personal information (nas ip, port, and username).
The server will eventually ask for a password after clicking "Login" if you define a password in the configuration file.
When you are connected to the server do right-click on your name and click "Register".
Disconnect from the server.
Go to your server list, which appears at the start of Mumble, please right-click on your server and then "Edit", change your nick to "SuperUser" and login.
The server will ask the SuperUser password that you configured earlier.
Once logged in click right on your channel root then "Edit", you can access all administration options, you can change the privileges of groups to users in a group, etc. ...
To reconnect as a normal user you have to change "SuperUser" with your username.


Finally reboot the unit and everything should be running. You Teamspeak 3 users might like this for managing the server.
http://addons.teamspeak.com/directory/tools/administration/YaTQA-Query-Admin-Tool-(German).html



Hello,

i have a ds412+ and i have ts3 also running. but the problem that i have that when i close putty my server stops running. Also the script doesn't work for me that the server automaticly start ts3. If i look to yuor manual i did the same the only thing that i not dit is the bootstrap can this be my problem?

Thanks in advance
cyberwarden
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 6:35 pm

Re: Teamspeak 3 and Murmur servers

Postby cyberwarden » Sun Oct 14, 2012 5:12 pm

Hello,

i have a ds412+ and i have ts3 also running. but the problem that i have that when i close putty my server stops running. Also the script doesn't work for me that the server automaticly start ts3. If i look to yuor manual i did the same the only thing that i not dit is the bootstrap can this be my problem?

Thanks in advance


You can't use this with putty as you stated it stops when you close it. I had a problem getting Teamspeak to start when I went to DSM4.1. I had the S99ts3.sh in usr\syno\etc\rc.d\ but it would no longer start after the upgrade. If your running 4.0 you can try that location make sure you spell it S99ts3.sh and "chmod 755 S99ts3.sh" or it won't start. Otherwise you need to bootstrap your unit.
montana
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 12:46 pm

Re: Teamspeak 3 and Murmur servers

Postby montana » Mon Oct 15, 2012 7:09 pm

cyberwarden wrote:
Hello,

i have a ds412+ and i have ts3 also running. but the problem that i have that when i close putty my server stops running. Also the script doesn't work for me that the server automaticly start ts3. If i look to yuor manual i did the same the only thing that i not dit is the bootstrap can this be my problem?

Thanks in advance


You can't use this with putty as you stated it stops when you close it. I had a problem getting Teamspeak to start when I went to DSM4.1. I had the S99ts3.sh in usr\syno\etc\rc.d\ but it would no longer start after the upgrade. If your running 4.0 you can try that location make sure you spell it S99ts3.sh and "chmod 755 S99ts3.sh" or it won't start. Otherwise you need to bootstrap your unit.



Hello I have TS3 running now, i installed web console on my synology and started ts3 from there then it works even if i close the browser. The only thing to figure out is to fix the start/stop script.
goa200
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 1:26 pm

Re: Teamspeak 3 and Murmur servers

Postby goa200 » Fri Oct 19, 2012 10:26 am

cyberwarden wrote:
Hello,

i have a ds412+ and i have ts3 also running. but the problem that i have that when i close putty my server stops running. Also the script doesn't work for me that the server automaticly start ts3. If i look to yuor manual i did the same the only thing that i not dit is the bootstrap can this be my problem?

Thanks in advance


You can't use this with putty as you stated it stops when you close it. I had a problem getting Teamspeak to start when I went to DSM4.1. I had the S99ts3.sh in usr\syno\etc\rc.d\ but it would no longer start after the upgrade. If your running 4.0 you can try that location make sure you spell it S99ts3.sh and "chmod 755 S99ts3.sh" or it won't start. Otherwise you need to bootstrap your unit.

¨

Of course you can.

do the following

1. go at your dir of ts3 server
screen -dmS teamspeak3
screen -x teamspeak3
./ts3server_minimal_runscript.sh

then ctrl+a+d

If you get screen command not found (or something similar to that)

just do ipkg install screen

If you dont have ipkg then search around on the forums. theres plenty guides.

And to TS. thx for sharing the guides mate. It's always nice and most certainly appreciated to see ppl share
goa200
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 1:26 pm

Re: Teamspeak 3 and Murmur servers

Postby goa200 » Sat Oct 20, 2012 11:06 am

Did you manage to get ICE working? and if so how?
Trent - Synology
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 4:10 am

Re: Teamspeak 3 and Murmur servers

Postby Trent - Synology » Sun Oct 28, 2012 4:17 am

Just to prove you wrong, I was able to install murmur on my Diskstation 212j and its this is how its done.


First, let me say that uMurmur is exactly what I have been looking for.
I didn't think I could run a voice chat server on my entry level NAS.

I want to outline some of the steps I have taken in case it saves some time for others.
My Synology model is the 212j and it is currently running DSM 4.1

First, you should install the Mumble client on at least one machine.
I recommend getting the installation files from http://mumble.sourceforge.net

Next, log into the admin console of your Synology NAS: http://192.168.1.xx:5000
Start the Package Center, click 'Settings' button then 'Package Sources' tab
Click the 'Add' button and enter http://packages.synocommunity.com into the Location field for a new source.
Now, click on the 'Other Sources' tab and you will be able to install 'uMurmur'

Here's the first area where I think an improvement can be made.
I had expected to click on the uMurmur icon off the home menu and configure uMurmur.
Unfortunately, that is a hyperlink to start the client.

Here's how I was able to reconfigure the server:
First, I had to install the 'Configuration File Editor' package.
I downloaded the package from this guys website: http://www.mertymade.com/syno/
Save it to your local machine and then use the 'Install / Update' button from Package Center to install the package
Once installed, click on the 'Config File Editor' icon from the home menu.
Select 'Config File Editor' from the drop down menu and add this line to the bottom of that list:
/volume1/@appstore/umurmur/var/umurmur.conf,uMurmur
Click the Save button and then close the editor and re-open it.
Now you will see 'uMurmur' on the drop down list - when you select it, you will be able to edit the uMurmur configuration file.
Once edited use the client to connect to the diskstation hosting the mumble(murmur) server.

but make sure you have edited the config file to point to the diskstation IP address.
then you can connect to the server with your Client utilizing the external Ip address in the parameters.

And Enjoy! I had a headache with this for about 3 hours.
cyberwarden
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 6:35 pm

Re: Teamspeak 3 and Murmur servers

Postby cyberwarden » Sun Oct 28, 2012 5:31 pm

goa200 wrote:Did you manage to get ICE working? and if so how?

No I looked into it but could not find a way to run it on the Synology.

As for Murmur I had installed the uMurmur package but it was limited since it is a minimum coding of the orignal. Why I shared my install was to show you could run both "as is" servers on a Synology very simply. But you are correct that the uMurmur package will cover more units.
User avatar
iainb
Novice
Novice
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 7:07 pm

Re: Teamspeak 3 and Murmur servers

Postby iainb » Sat Mar 30, 2013 10:14 pm

I have my uMurmur server installed (per this youtube video) but I can't connect using my external MyDS domain name.

I have the port (UDP/TCP 64738) forwarded in my router but I'm not sure specifically how to add the ports in the Syno's firewall. I went into the Firewall and QoS, created a new entry under LAN:

Image

But I still can't connect.

Any ideas?
DS411+II - DSM 6.1.5-15254
12TB - 2x4TB & 2x2TB
(DS418play on the way)
Zerowind
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 4:35 pm

Re: Teamspeak 3 and Murmur servers

Postby Zerowind » Wed Apr 03, 2013 4:38 pm

Trent - Synology wrote:I was able to install murmur on my Diskstation 212j and its this is how its done.


Thank you very much for the instructions Trent.
I got it working on a 211j very quickly all thanks to you!
Jolinar
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 3:44 pm

Re: Teamspeak 3 and Murmur servers

Postby Jolinar » Fri Apr 26, 2013 2:54 pm

Hello, I have the DS212j from synology and I've installed umurmur from the syno community's package repository.
Its up and running fine except, I have no administrative rights on the server, and I read somewhere that, the logfile should write the admin user provided, when the server first started up, however there is no such thing in the log.
So do anyone know how to make and admin user on this version?
It's the newest version of DSM and umumur in the repository.

Thanks in advance :)
Jolinar
dtPelaez
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 3:56 pm

Re: Teamspeak 3 and Murmur servers

Postby dtPelaez » Fri May 24, 2013 9:02 pm

Trent - Synology wrote:Just to prove you wrong, I was able to install murmur on my Diskstation 212j and its this is how its done.


First, let me say that uMurmur is exactly what I have been looking for.
I didn't think I could run a voice chat server on my entry level NAS.

I want to outline some of the steps I have taken in case it saves some time for others.
My Synology model is the 212j and it is currently running DSM 4.1

First, you should install the Mumble client on at least one machine.
I recommend getting the installation files from http://mumble.sourceforge.net

Next, log into the admin console of your Synology NAS: http://192.168.1.xx:5000
Start the Package Center, click 'Settings' button then 'Package Sources' tab
Click the 'Add' button and enter http://packages.synocommunity.com into the Location field for a new source.
Now, click on the 'Other Sources' tab and you will be able to install 'uMurmur'

Here's the first area where I think an improvement can be made.
I had expected to click on the uMurmur icon off the home menu and configure uMurmur.
Unfortunately, that is a hyperlink to start the client.

Here's how I was able to reconfigure the server:
First, I had to install the 'Configuration File Editor' package.
I downloaded the package from this guys website: http://www.mertymade.com/syno/
Save it to your local machine and then use the 'Install / Update' button from Package Center to install the package
Once installed, click on the 'Config File Editor' icon from the home menu.
Select 'Config File Editor' from the drop down menu and add this line to the bottom of that list:
/volume1/@appstore/umurmur/var/umurmur.conf,uMurmur
Click the Save button and then close the editor and re-open it.
Now you will see 'uMurmur' on the drop down list - when you select it, you will be able to edit the uMurmur configuration file.
Once edited use the client to connect to the diskstation hosting the mumble(murmur) server.

but make sure you have edited the config file to point to the diskstation IP address.
then you can connect to the server with your Client utilizing the external Ip address in the parameters.

And Enjoy! I had a headache with this for about 3 hours.


WOW thanks great easy guide to get up and running I wish there were a teamspeak server for us ARM (ds212j) nas but it seems like those guys at TS want to keep renting their servers...
CerealCH
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 6:58 am

Re: Teamspeak 3 and Murmur servers

Postby CerealCH » Thu Aug 15, 2013 7:06 am

Warning just for your information
I have tested installation of 3.0.8 version on my DS1511+ with dsm 4.3-3750 and Teamspeak Server crash with error message.
CRITICAL|DatabaseQuery | unable to load database plugin library "libts3db_sqlite3.so", halting!

I have no problem with TeamSpeak Server version 3.0.6.1.
If you have any solution please give me.

I have use thoses commands :

Code: Select all

cd /volume1
wget http://teamspeak.gameserver.gamed.de/ts3/releases/3.0.8/teamspeak3-server_linux-x86-3.0.8.tar.gz
tar -jxvf teamspeak3-server_linux-x86-3.0.8.tar.gz
rm teamspeak3-server_linux-x86-3.0.8.tar.gz
cd /volume1/teamspeak3-server_linux-x86
sh ts3server_startscript.sh start
jolly_jester
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 1:37 pm

Re: Teamspeak 3 and Murmur servers

Postby jolly_jester » Tue Aug 20, 2013 9:39 pm

I've got it working by installing earlier versions of the libts3db_mysql.so libts3db_sqlite3.so files....
So...
Install Server x86 3.0.8 and replace the 2 files from the earlier 3.0.6.1 version....

Return to “General Mods”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests