Postgres not working

Questions that don't fit in any category below may go here
Forum rules
Synology Community is the new platform for the enthusiasts' interaction, and it will soon be available to replace the Forum.
TheNormsk
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 6:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Postgres not working

Unread post by TheNormsk » Sat Nov 05, 2016 3:48 pm

I can't login as root as I do not know the password. I logged in as an administrator and tried to su to root but it still asked for password. Ideas?
DS2415+ (SHR2 using 1x500gb, 2x1tb, 7x3tb)

User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
Posts: 19632
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Postgres not working

Unread post by HarryPotter » Sat Nov 05, 2016 5:38 pm

Answered probably a million time on this forum. Only a simple search needed...
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS718+ / DSM 6.2-23511 / ST4000VN000-2AH166 / SA400S37120G SSD cache /16 GB RAM
DS415+ / DSM 6.2-23511

LMS 7.9.1-166, 2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom

APC Smart UPS SUA750i

TheNormsk
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 6:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Postgres not working

Unread post by TheNormsk » Tue Nov 08, 2016 9:45 pm

Well in the end a simple reboot fixed the issue. My issue was that I was unable to reboot for five days while the disk group was expanding after I added a new disk.
DS2415+ (SHR2 using 1x500gb, 2x1tb, 7x3tb)

TheNormsk
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 6:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Postgres not working

Unread post by TheNormsk » Tue Nov 08, 2016 9:49 pm

HarryPotter wrote:Answered probably a million time on this forum. Only a simple search needed...
I did search. My issue is that the root password is not what I used when I set the Synology up. I set it up with the admin account and the root is not the same at that admin account. That linked post did not help. But as I wrote earlier, the DS fixed itself. I have no need to SSH around in the box normally so I am content for now.
DS2415+ (SHR2 using 1x500gb, 2x1tb, 7x3tb)

Post Reply

Return to “General Mods”