RT2600ac & Wemo Insight Switches - Reconnecting Issue

Discussion about the hardware compatibility of the Synology router.
Forum rules
1) This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form:

https://account.synology.com/support/support_form.php?lang=enu



2) To avoid putting users' DiskStation at risk, please don't paste links to any patches provided by our Support team as we will systematically remove them. Our Support team will provide the correct patch for your DiskStation model.
Runwire
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2017 3:17 am

RT2600ac & Wemo Insight Switches - Reconnecting Issue

Postby Runwire » Thu Feb 23, 2017 6:03 pm

Hello.

I just recently purchased the newly released Synology RT2600ac router. It seems to be working great, except for the fact that my Wemo Insight Switches are unable to reconnect to the wireless network if they experience any loss of power (ie: power outage, moving switch to another outlet, etc.). I have an open support ticket with Synology for this issue, and they have since further escalated my case to the Synology developers (located in Taiwan). I have confirmed this is an issue with the router and not the switches.

I'm curious if any other Synology + Wemo users are having similar problems? For the time being, as long as my switches remain powered on, I'm not having any trouble.
Capt_Lipiduz
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 2:28 am

Re: RT2600ac & Wemo Insight Switches - Reconnecting Issue

Postby Capt_Lipiduz » Wed Mar 01, 2017 2:38 am

Hi,

i'm having the same issue. i bought the Synology 2600 the same day that it came out and it was working great with my wemo light and power switches i have everything on the latest firmware, so far so good.

yesterday the power went out for a couple of seconds maybe a minute, my synology router is connected to a Battery UPS so the router stayed ON but my wemo switches all turned OFF. when the power came back only like half of my wemo switches connected to the wifi and the other where blinking orange as unable to connect to the wifi

i had to turn on my old wifi router i've never had issues with that one even during power outages
now i have 2 wifi networks 1 for my wemo switches and 1 for all the other stuff
kghaynes
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 3:32 am

Re: RT2600ac & Wemo Insight Switches - Reconnecting Issue

Postby kghaynes » Wed Mar 01, 2017 3:34 am

Yes, I have the same issue. The Insight switches will get a connection on the 2.4Ghz network but the router does not recognize that they have a valid IP. strangely, the device itself shows it has a valid IP via Netscan. a little frustrating!
User avatar
Rsmith7
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2013 1:42 pm

Re: RT2600ac & Wemo Insight Switches - Reconnecting Issue

Postby Rsmith7 » Tue Mar 07, 2017 2:46 pm

My WeMo Switch had trouble connecting but after a reset has been working. I also have two WeMo light switches, which had no issues connecting to the router. I have not experienced a power outage since installing the RT2600AC.

I will monitor for future issues. Maybe Belkin will come out with a future firmware to address this issue.

Ray
sincarne
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 1053
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 9:57 pm

Re: RT2600ac & Wemo Insight Switches - Reconnecting Issue

Postby sincarne » Tue Mar 07, 2017 6:34 pm

i have wemo reconnect issue on TP link router so i think wemo issue
ptiq
Novice
Novice
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 4:22 pm

Re: RT2600ac & Wemo Insight Switches - Reconnecting Issue

Postby ptiq » Fri Apr 07, 2017 8:17 am

Same problem with 2 Wemo.

In replacement, I buy TP-LINK HS100 / HS110 -> it's OK, good signal with RT2600ac.

Upgrade TP-LINK HS100/HS110 to firmware 1.1.2 and forget Wemo :D

TP-LINK Firmware version 1.1.2: http://static.tp-link.com/iotUpgradeTool_V1.0.zip
Synology DS916+
DSM 6.1

Synology RT2600ac
Scott H
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 11:25 am

Re: RT2600ac & Wemo Insight Switches - Reconnecting Issue

Postby Scott H » Tue Apr 11, 2017 11:31 am

I have a Synology rt2600ac router. After the latest WeMo update none of my wemo devices would connect to the wifi. To remedy I had to disable the rt2600ac Smart Wifi and change from 20/40Mhz channels under advanced to only 20Mhz. All works now. The wemo's only work on 20Mhz / 2.4Ghz band. It is odd that they don't connect to the router when it is set to smart wifi with auto 20/40Mhz mode, but it's repeatable to confirm the connectivity of the wemo devices by switching the router back and forth betemween 20/40 and 20 only.
Last edited by Scott H on Wed Apr 12, 2017 10:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Rsmith7
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2013 1:42 pm

Re: RT2600ac & Wemo Insight Switches - Reconnecting Issue

Postby Rsmith7 » Wed Apr 12, 2017 4:59 am

I had the same issue but solved it by just relinking the light switches and WeMo switch. It is a pain that we have to relink but knowing this will help with the next update.

http://www.belkin.com/us/support-articl ... 1488734684
al134830
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 6:35 pm

Re: RT2600ac & Wemo Insight Switches - Reconnecting Issue

Postby al134830 » Fri Dec 15, 2017 7:02 pm

Sorry to revive this old thread, but it sounds like many of you have a wemo device working consistently with your synology router prior to a power outage.

I'm having a different issue, but was hoping some of you could chime in. I just set up my rt2600ac yesterday with the same ssids as my old router, but my wemo light switch is constantly blinking the orange light. Oddly enough, I can still access the wemo if my phone is on the same network. When I reset the device and re-pair it, everything works for about 30 seconds to a minute (i.e. I can access it when I'm not on the network), but after that, the orange light starts blinking again and my remote access is lost.

I tried restarting the wemo, turning off the power to the room using the breaker, resetting it, deleting the app & re-pairing, but nothing seems to work. I've also tried changing router settings (set 2.4Ghz network to 20Mhz width, manually set channel to 11, wireless mode n only, added the device to DHCP reservation, added port forwarding rules for TCP/UDP 3478 and TCP 3475/5228/8080/8443 to the device, enabled NTP, disabled DOS protection, enabled UPnP), but still no luck.

My wemo is connected to my guest 2.4Ghz network, which does not have local network access. AP isolation is turned off. Any ideas what I'm missing?
Scott H
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 11:25 am

Re: RT2600ac & Wemo Insight Switches - Reconnecting Issue

Postby Scott H » Tue Dec 26, 2017 2:01 pm

Turn off smart connect and the WeMo’s should start connecting. This is a bothersome issue, but that fixes it 100% of the time. No router or wemo restarts needed.

You can turn off smart connect in the mobile app by tapping the WiFi icon on the left side of the Overview page.

You should not need any port forwarding rules.
al134830
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 6:35 pm

Re: RT2600ac & Wemo Insight Switches - Reconnecting Issue

Postby al134830 » Wed Dec 27, 2017 7:47 am

Unfortunately, I already turned off smart connect. I'm thinking it has something to do with the guest network (which is what my WeMo is connected to). Maybe the IGMP settings don't apply to the guest network?

I'd prefer to keep the WeMo off of my main network so that it doesn't have access to my local network devices, just in case of any IoT security holes.

Return to “Hardware Compatibility”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest