Using 4G modem as redundancy

Discussion about the hardware compatibility of the Synology router.
Forum rules
1) This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form:

https://account.synology.com/support/support_form.php?lang=enu



2) To avoid putting users' DiskStation at risk, please don't paste links to any patches provided by our Support team as we will systematically remove them. Our Support team will provide the correct patch for your DiskStation model.
emenick
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2010 11:16 pm
Location: Ringe, Denmark

Using 4G modem as redundancy

Postby emenick » Mon Nov 16, 2015 9:51 pm

Hi

i am curious to whether it would be possible to plug in a 4G modem to the USB port of the RT1900ac, and use the mobile broadband connection as redundancy, if my ADSL connection fails? I can se that it has 4G dongle support, but in which sense? I suspect most 4G modems need ISP software to make the connection, so this is a long shot, but maybe someone has a comment on this?

Anyhow, thanks in advance.

Regards,

Michael
Syno_DnT
Synology Inc
Synology Inc
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 6:41 am

Re: Using 4G modem as redundancy

Postby Syno_DnT » Mon Dec 14, 2015 6:53 am

Hi Michael,

Yes, you may use the 4G USB dongle on RT1900ac as a failover option. However, we are still working on expanding the list of the supported 4G dongles in the link below. If you have a specific ISP/dongle you would like us to test, feel free to drop us a support email here: https://www.synology.com/en-global/form/suggest_device

https://www.synology.com/en-global/comp ... mode=false

D-n-T
Synology
sfb
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 9:13 pm

Re: Using 4G modem as redundancy

Postby sfb » Fri Jan 01, 2016 10:41 pm

Android modem devices will be perfect :mrgreen:
FreeBeing
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 8:43 pm

Re: Using 4G modem as redundancy

Postby FreeBeing » Sun Feb 07, 2016 8:46 pm

sfb wrote:Android modem devices will be perfect :mrgreen:


I completely agree with that, Android modem USB mode support is a good thing.
nicohi
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 8:27 pm

Re: Using 4G modem as redundancy

Postby nicohi » Tue Feb 09, 2016 11:31 pm

Hello,

I found a E398 key, working now on my RT1900. Question, how to setup failover, I did not found this option...
When I connect the 3G session, where to say that in case of ADSL shut down, it must use 3g connection ?
kc1
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 142
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 3:14 pm

Re: Using 4G modem as redundancy

Postby kc1 » Fri Feb 26, 2016 8:04 pm

Syno_DnT wrote:Hi Michael,

Yes, you may use the 4G USB dongle on RT1900ac as a failover option. However, we are still working on expanding the list of the supported 4G dongles in the link below. If you have a specific ISP/dongle you would like us to test, feel free to drop us a support email here: https://www.synology.com/en-global/form/suggest_device

https://www.synology.com/en-global/comp ... mode=false

D-n-T
Synology

ZTE MF730M please
DS916+, DS412+ & 2x Netgear ReadyNAS, shared on gigabit ethernet, using Synology RT1900ac & Netgear GS110TP switches, to Win10 PCs, MacBook Air & streaming to Samsung UE40ES8000 + various Android devices
florian123
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 10:14 am

Re: Using 4G modem as redundancy

Postby florian123 » Fri Apr 29, 2016 10:37 am

Syno_DnT wrote:Yes, you may use the 4G USB dongle on RT1900ac as a failover option.



Hi Syno_DnT,

how can a 4G USB dongle configured as a failover? It show's connected when we plug it in, however if we block our modem attached to the wan port it does not automatically route traffic through/over the dongle. Any advice?

Best,
F
sudetak
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 12:27 am

Re: Using 4G modem as redundancy

Postby sudetak » Fri Oct 28, 2016 10:13 pm

Syno_DnT wrote:Hi Michael,

Yes, you may use the 4G USB dongle on RT1900ac as a failover option. However, we are still working on expanding the list of the supported 4G dongles in the link below. If you have a specific ISP/dongle you would like us to test, feel free to drop us a support email here: https://www.synology.com/en-global/form/suggest_device

https://www.synology.com/en-global/comp ... mode=false

D-n-T
Synology


Some new model on "expanding" the list of the supported 4G dongles ?
FreeBeing
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 8:43 pm

Re: Using 4G modem as redundancy

Postby FreeBeing » Sat Oct 29, 2016 6:04 am

I'm surprised there is not any Android modem (Android USB Connection share)...
User avatar
Dintid
Student
Student
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 1:33 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Using 4G modem as redundancy

Postby Dintid » Wed Nov 02, 2016 2:28 pm

Any modem options for outside of Asia?

I'm living in Denmark, and we have all kinds if Huwaii modems here, but the one I tested didn't register on either my RT1900 or my 1513 nas box.

Using an iPhone would also be nice as a sort of emergency for small office and home.

Someone mentioned Android USB modems would be good... any suggestions for a good one? Asking as I don't know anything about Android and honestly havn't ever seen an Android USB 4g dongle here in Denmark.
DS1513+ && DS214
drkaosdk
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 5:29 pm

Re: Using 4G modem as redundancy

Postby drkaosdk » Sat Jan 07, 2017 10:53 pm

Hey,

From Denmark aswell here.. I've invested in this 4G modem -> Huawei E-3372 - Works with the RT1900 .. Bought it from Telmore btw.

Since your article was posted long time ago - Maybe you already figured out with a working one.



Dintid wrote:Any modem options for outside of Asia?

I'm living in Denmark, and we have all kinds if Huwaii modems here, but the one I tested didn't register on either my RT1900 or my 1513 nas box.

Using an iPhone would also be nice as a sort of emergency for small office and home.

Someone mentioned Android USB modems would be good... any suggestions for a good one? Asking as I don't know anything about Android and honestly havn't ever seen an Android USB 4g dongle here in Denmark.
padgettj
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 10:06 pm

Re: Using 4G modem as redundancy

Postby padgettj » Wed Mar 15, 2017 9:44 pm

What about U.S. carrier support?

Right now I am on Verizon and have a need for a 4G fail over implementation. However, I will be moving within the next 6 months to a rural area that 4G is my only viable "high speed" option. Any chance that MiFi® 4G LTE Global USB Modem U620L will work with the 2600AC router? I understand this modem to be made by Novatel Wireless.

The number or supported devices / countries or lack there of is very disturbing....
sincarne
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 1142
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 9:57 pm

Re: Using 4G modem as redundancy

Postby sincarne » Wed Mar 15, 2017 10:11 pm

padgettj wrote:What about U.S. carrier support?

Right now I am on Verizon and have a need for a 4G fail over implementation. However, I will be moving within the next 6 months to a rural area that 4G is my only viable "high speed" option. Any chance that MiFi® 4G LTE Global USB Modem U620L will work with the 2600AC router? I understand this modem to be made by Novatel Wireless.

The number or supported devices / countries or lack there of is very disturbing....


It's a Taiwan company. Why is them not testing US specific things disturbing?
padgettj
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 10:06 pm

Re: Using 4G modem as redundancy

Postby padgettj » Thu Mar 16, 2017 10:56 pm

sincarne wrote: It's a Taiwan company. Why is them not testing US specific things disturbing?


Because the sale their products in the U.S.??? I am almost certain their U.S sales are as every bit as much if nor more then many other countries, It's typically bad business to spew a bunch of bells and whistles and then not be able to deliver.
sincarne
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 1142
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 9:57 pm

Re: Using 4G modem as redundancy

Postby sincarne » Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:23 pm

padgettj wrote:
sincarne wrote: It's a Taiwan company. Why is them not testing US specific things disturbing?


Because the sale their products in the U.S.??? I am almost certain their U.S sales are as every bit as much if nor more then many other countries, It's typically bad business to spew a bunch of bells and whistles and then not be able to deliver.


feature work fine with dual wired WAN

Return to “Hardware Compatibility”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest