Synology Web-Filter+OpenDNS

Topics pertaining to SRM usage, usability and management
Forum rules
1) This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form:

https://account.synology.com/support/su ... p?lang=enu



2) To avoid putting users' DiskStation at risk, please don't paste links to any patches provided by our Support team as we will systematically remove them. Our Support team will provide the correct patch for your DiskStation model.
EasyRider69
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2017 6:43 pm

Synology Web-Filter+OpenDNS

Unread post by EasyRider69 » Mon Jul 09, 2018 11:37 pm

I discovered something interesting; possibly a bug.

I have my RT2600 configured to use OpenDNS Family Shield as the my DNS Servers..

If I use the Web-Filter in Synology then it seems to override the OpenDNS filtering; using the Web-filtering in the router as the primary. If I disable the Web-filter, then OpenDNS does the filtering. There doesn't seem to be a way to use both.

Babylonia
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 10:47 am

Re: Synology Web-Filter+OpenDNS

Unread post by Babylonia » Tue Jul 10, 2018 1:16 am

Did you refresh the web-browser pages?? (Empty the cache of the browser).
RT1900ac / DS213j / DS415+ / DS218+ (at different locations).

EasyRider69
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2017 6:43 pm

Re: Synology Web-Filter+OpenDNS

Unread post by EasyRider69 » Tue Jul 10, 2018 2:00 am

Yes, I also flush the dns. Neither of these made a difference. If I want OpenDNS to do the filtering on a device (Smartphone), then I need to have Web-filter disabled for that device.

Try it: Use OpenDNS as the Your DNS Server in the DHCP section of the Local Network tab. Then go to Parental Control and set up a custom Web-filter. If you go to a site that you know is blocked by the Router and OpenDNS, you get the router block page (don't forget to turn on block page). Now, add that site to your allow list; you will now be able to access that site, even though OpenDNS should have blocked it. I have been using proxpn.com as my test site. I don't know which category has this site since I have several selected.

Now, disable the filter and go to the site; you will now be greeted with the OpenDNS block page.

Babylonia
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 10:47 am

Re: Synology Web-Filter+OpenDNS

Unread post by Babylonia » Tue Jul 10, 2018 4:09 am

Did a test. Used browser = Firefox.
I did'nt realy flush for this test as I have several "normal" pages still open and don't want to be cleared.
But I did restart the router. Both methods are used: OpenDNS family as well Synology options.
Afterwards there are occasions that:
  • I get a Synology page
    Exception to "allow", didn't change the policy ----> Afterwards OpenDNS page takes over
  • I get an OpenDNS page
    Exception to "allow", didn't change the policy
  • Neither of both but a security error message "Your connection is not secure".
    And there is no possibility to make an exception. So not possible to see the page.
    Exception to "allow", didn't change the policy

For me, I don't care which method is used for filtering or which message is on the screen.
So in general there are occasions OpenDNS seems more tight than Synology, and Visa Versa.
At least it blocks, and that is the main reason to use these features.

But there is still a very important difference between OpenDNS family and Synology's "Safe Search" option.
- Synology doesn't show porn or adult images when you do a search by Google and see the result as images.
- OpenDNS family however (if Synology's option is not used for filtering), doesn't filter Google search options at all.
.. Only the redirects to the websites itself are filtered.

So it is best to combine the two options for Parental Control, OpenDNS family, as well the Synology approach.
RT1900ac / DS213j / DS415+ / DS218+ (at different locations).

User avatar
akahan
Navigator
Navigator
Posts: 943
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 6:52 pm

Re: Synology Web-Filter+OpenDNS

Unread post by akahan » Thu Jul 19, 2018 6:19 am

EasyRider69 wrote:
Tue Jul 10, 2018 2:00 am
Try it: Use OpenDNS as the Your DNS Server in the DHCP section of the Local Network tab.
I wonder if that's your problem.
What you want is to have the ROUTER using OpenDNS, in addition to pushing OpenDNS to the clients.

In the router's configuration, go to Internet, then Connection. Scroll down to Manually configure DNS server. Put the OpenDNS servers as preferred and alternate.

I'm thinking what might happen is what you were expecting: the router would block everything in the router's parental control, and any request that gets past the router's parental control will then be handled by OpenDNS. So the result would be that you'd block a superset of OpenDNS's "bad sites" and the router's parental control's "bad sites".
DS214play, DS216play, DS216, DS212J, DS414, DS816, rt2600ac

Babylonia
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 10:47 am

Re: Synology Web-Filter+OpenDNS

Unread post by Babylonia » Thu Jul 19, 2018 6:58 am

akahan wrote:
Thu Jul 19, 2018 6:19 am
So the result would be that you'd block a superset of OpenDNS's "bad sites" and the router's parental control's "bad sites".
That's why my test shows different results.
There are occasions that OpenDNS do not filter but Synology does.
Other occasions just the other way round.

By testing to set a webpage for Synology is set to allow, you can see it is kept still by OpenDNS filter.
RT1900ac / DS213j / DS415+ / DS218+ (at different locations).

EasyRider69
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2017 6:43 pm

Re: Synology Web-Filter+OpenDNS

Unread post by EasyRider69 » Thu Jul 19, 2018 7:21 am

akahan,

You are correct. I want OpenDNS to block stuff that Parental Control misses. Also OpenDNS does not block searches; Parental Control has a safe search option. Even enabling this, causes the devices not recognize OpenDNS.

i have the DNS configured in the Local Network in DHCP. I did not change it in the Internet section though. This may be the problem. If I change it, will the devices where I have DNS manually set different from OpenDNS use the different DNS or OpenDNS? I seem to remember changing DNS in the Internet once , but then OpenDNS was used instead of the DNS i manually set in the device.

EasyRider69
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2017 6:43 pm

Re: Synology Web-Filter+OpenDNS

Unread post by EasyRider69 » Thu Jul 19, 2018 7:35 am

I just set OpenDNS in the Internet, it worked. I do have one device that I don't want to use OpenDNS on. I have already set the DNS in that device some something different, but the device is still using OpenDNS. What do I do now?

Babylonia
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 10:47 am

Re: Synology Web-Filter+OpenDNS

Unread post by Babylonia » Thu Jul 19, 2018 7:44 am

EasyRider69 wrote:
Thu Jul 19, 2018 7:21 am
i have the DNS configured in the Local Network in DHCP. I did not change it in the Internet section though. This may be the problem. If I change it, will the devices where I have DNS manually set different from OpenDNS use the different DNS or OpenDNS?
Just try. The proof of the pudding is in the eating.
RT1900ac / DS213j / DS415+ / DS218+ (at different locations).

EasyRider69
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2017 6:43 pm

Re: Synology Web-Filter+OpenDNS

Unread post by EasyRider69 » Thu Jul 19, 2018 8:34 am

Just try. The proof of the pudding is in the eating.
I did try it and it worked, but there is one device where I have the dns set differently. That device is also using OpenDNS. How do I get that device to use the DNS that I set manually in it? I already set the DNS in the network stack of that device.

I may have to wait for SRM v1.2

I have heard it will provide more granular control.

Babylonia
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 10:47 am

Re: Synology Web-Filter+OpenDNS

Unread post by Babylonia » Thu Jul 19, 2018 10:40 am

Than you are doing something wrong. I just test changing to another DNS setting within my network setting.
And it takes over without exception.
Did you reboot or disabled network device for a moment, and enable it again after the change of DNS?

No waiting's for SRM 1.2, as it are basic functionalities of network devices.
RT1900ac / DS213j / DS415+ / DS218+ (at different locations).

EasyRider69
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2017 6:43 pm

Re: Synology Web-Filter+OpenDNS

Unread post by EasyRider69 » Thu Jul 19, 2018 11:04 am

Than you are doing something wrong. I just test changing to another DNS setting within my network setting.
And it takes over without exception.
Did you reboot or disabled network device for a moment, and enable it again after the change of DNS?
Okay. Here is my configuration

In the Local Network tab: I have OpenDNS set in DHCP section.
In the Internet tab: I have OpenDNS set in the manually configure DNS.

On my Laptop: I have a static IP address; DNS is set to 9.9.9.9 and 1.1.1.1

When I go to proxpn.com, it says it is blocked by OpenDNS. I have not rebooted the router or laptop, What do you mean by disable network device? I really appreciate all your help in this matter. Thank you very much. I know I must sound really dumb to you.

EasyRider69
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2017 6:43 pm

Re: Synology Web-Filter+OpenDNS

Unread post by EasyRider69 » Thu Jul 19, 2018 11:55 am

I just did the following:

1. I turned off my router using the power button
2. From my laptop: i cleared the browser cache, flushed the dns, then shutdown the laptop
3. I turned on the router and let it boot all the way.
4. I turned on the laptop

From the laptop: I went to proxpn.com and I get a block page from OpenDNS even though I have DNS set to 9.9.9.9 and 1.1.1.1 in the laptop.

I ran ipconfig /all from the laptop and it shows my DNS is 9.9.9.9 and 1.1.1.1

User avatar
akahan
Navigator
Navigator
Posts: 943
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 6:52 pm

Re: Synology Web-Filter+OpenDNS

Unread post by akahan » Thu Jul 19, 2018 2:42 pm

The laptop has multiple network adapters (wired, wireless, etc.). Are you sure that the one you are setting with the manual DNS addresses is actually the one it’s using?
DS214play, DS216play, DS216, DS212J, DS414, DS816, rt2600ac

EasyRider69
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2017 6:43 pm

Re: Synology Web-Filter+OpenDNS

Unread post by EasyRider69 » Thu Jul 19, 2018 9:45 pm

The laptop has multiple network adapters (wired, wireless, etc.). Are you sure that the one you are setting with the manual DNS addresses is actually the one it’s using?
Yes. I am using the wireless adapter. Right-click on Wifi in Network connections and select properties. I then select Internet Protocol Version 4 and choose properties. I enter the information.

ipconfig /all shows the current private ip address of the machine, dns servers, gateway, subnet mask. All the info is the same as what I manually entered in the laptop.

As I another test, I took my cellphone and entered a static ip address and dns servers of 9.9.9.9 and 1.1.1.1

I went to proxpn.com and it was blocked by OpenDNS also. The problem is with the dns server info in the Internet tab, All the devices are using that info; reguardless of what is manually configured in the device. It must be an obscured bug.

Post Reply

Return to “Installation and Configuration”