Assgin a LAN port to the Guest network

Topics pertaining to SRM usage, usability and management
Forum rules
1) This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form:

https://account.synology.com/support/su ... p?lang=enu



2) To avoid putting users' DiskStation at risk, please don't paste links to any patches provided by our Support team as we will systematically remove them. Our Support team will provide the correct patch for your DiskStation model.
manwdaplan
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2017 10:43 pm

Assgin a LAN port to the Guest network

Unread post by manwdaplan » Tue Mar 14, 2017 7:29 pm

Like the title says, I would like to assign a one of the LAN ports to the guest wireless network, this way I can hang a few wired devices to the guest network that I don't want on my full network. Basically I would like to have two networks that share the same internet but do not share anything else.


THanks Shawne

Babylonia
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 1156
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 10:47 am

Re: Assgin a LAN port to the Guest network

Unread post by Babylonia » Wed Mar 15, 2017 12:05 pm

Assign and use LAN IP-addresses of the second "guest" sub-net.
RT1900ac / DS213j / DS415+ / DS218+ (at different locations).

manwdaplan
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2017 10:43 pm

Re: Assgin a LAN port to the Guest network

Unread post by manwdaplan » Wed Mar 15, 2017 3:49 pm

So no DHCP, manually assign the IPs, thats ok, but is there a way to have it work with DHCP?

Babylonia
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 1156
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 10:47 am

Re: Assgin a LAN port to the Guest network

Unread post by Babylonia » Thu Mar 16, 2017 7:17 am

No as the "head" function of the second sub-net specially is made up for "WiFi" guest network.
RT1900ac / DS213j / DS415+ / DS218+ (at different locations).

pergola.fabio
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 7:42 pm

Re: Assgin a LAN port to the Guest network

Unread post by pergola.fabio » Thu Jul 12, 2018 7:46 pm

hi

i have a similar question, but i dont understand : assing a lan ip ... ?

i have setup also a quest wifi
i want to use lan port 4 also for a device, in my case its an Access point in another building, so i can extend my guest wifi?

so is it possible to assign a lan port to the same quest wifi? how can i do that ?

Babylonia
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 1156
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 10:47 am

Re: Assgin a LAN port to the Guest network

Unread post by Babylonia » Thu Jul 12, 2018 9:46 pm

As far as I know, it is not possible.
(Maybe introduced for SRM 1.2)
RT1900ac / DS213j / DS415+ / DS218+ (at different locations).

Post Reply

Return to “Installation and Configuration”