New Router RT2600AC !!

The general discussion room of Synology Router RT1900ac.
Do not post support questions in this room, please refer to one of the rooms below for further assistance.
Forum rules
We've moved! Head over to Synology Community (community.synology.com) to meet up with our team and other Synology enthusiasts!
mraky
Versed
Versed
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 11:49 am
Contact:

Re: New Router RT2600AC !!

Unread post by mraky » Fri Sep 02, 2016 6:20 pm

syno.dustin wrote:
mraky wrote:
syno.dustin wrote:

I would guess the RAM would be 512 or 1GB at most based on the RT1900ac specs and this just being a jump up from that.
i hope router devs will use comon sence for l7 applications requirement. even 1gig is bloody smal ram...

//btw - this is same what i dont understand on synology. i am runing 1515+ with 16giga ram, and when i am looking on resources, this 16gig i see as optimum :)

User avatar
syno.dustin
Sorcerer
Sorcerer
Posts: 2244
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2015 11:03 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: New Router RT2600AC !!

Unread post by syno.dustin » Fri Sep 02, 2016 11:54 pm

mraky wrote:
syno.dustin wrote:
mraky wrote:
i hope router devs will use comon sence for l7 applications requirement. even 1gig is bloody smal ram...

//btw - this is same what i dont understand on synology. i am runing 1515+ with 16giga ram, and when i am looking on resources, this 16gig i see as optimum :)
The products aren't designed solely with power users in mind. They're designed for home users and business users. Most of which don't need these sorts of specs. This is very rarely brought up at tradeshows, presentations, Synology events, etc. It's really only a certain niche that actually has a use for a NAS with these specs.
If you need technical support please use this form: https://account.synology.com/support/support_form.php
Synology does not consistently browse this forum for technical support, feature requests, or any other inquiries as it notes at the top of the page. Please use the proper channels when you need help from someone at Synology.

mraky
Versed
Versed
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 11:49 am
Contact:

Re: New Router RT2600AC !!

Unread post by mraky » Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:11 pm

syno.dustin wrote:
mraky wrote:
syno.dustin wrote:
brought up at tradeshows, presentations, Synology events, etc. It's really only a certain niche that actually has a use for a NAS with these specs.
ok. i know what you are talking about, and to some extent i agree. on other hand hw specs for 1900 are realy extremly low for some l7 processing(and intrusion det on 1900 is way too heavy for that hw) . l3 rules are also quite exhausting...

issue with IDS(and other l7 applications) is, it is very very difficult to estimate requirements... and because memory is not most expensive on router, it is better not to cheat it .. i hope 2 gig as minimum. with 1gig it will work for normal user. problably... but with 500Mbytes ? this is not even for regular user...
super would be same aproache as synology did with NAS... where memory can be extended manually by owner... dont forget. even home routers must be able to process hundreds Mbps of traffic & in family you have usually 1-2 devices per person conected to wifi(plus devices like xbox for kids, sound system, tv etc etc...)... current average family is capable of generating simiar load(cpu&mem&net) for wifi router as it was common in small company few years back


//i just pray some from 1900 devs are reading this thread here :)

User avatar
syno.dustin
Sorcerer
Sorcerer
Posts: 2244
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2015 11:03 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: New Router RT2600AC !!

Unread post by syno.dustin » Tue Sep 06, 2016 10:32 pm

It seems to be like IPS was actually targeted at the 2600ac and then was released for the RT1900ac just to have feature parity. Not the decision I would have made but oh well. Hopefully they can refine it so it's more usable than it is now.
If you need technical support please use this form: https://account.synology.com/support/support_form.php
Synology does not consistently browse this forum for technical support, feature requests, or any other inquiries as it notes at the top of the page. Please use the proper channels when you need help from someone at Synology.

Maurice118
Versed
Versed
Posts: 201
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 9:02 pm
Contact:

Re: New Router RT2600AC !!

Unread post by Maurice118 » Tue Nov 29, 2016 9:33 pm

Still no news on the release date and price? I am in the market for an additional router. Instead of another rt1900ac I would prefer the rt2600ac, however time is running out and I must make a decision soon.
BTW for who is interested, here is the FCC page https://fccid.io/YOR-RT2600AC
aka divx118 #synology at freenode.net
rt1900ac packages https://synology.timara.nl

padgettj
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 10:06 pm

Re: New Router RT2600AC !!

Unread post by padgettj » Wed Nov 30, 2016 8:24 am

I've been waiting as well. Without knowing that it will indeed come to fruition and the estimated release data it was time to move on. Pulled the trigger on the nighthalk

Cerunnos
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2016 8:37 am

Re: New Router RT2600AC !!

Unread post by Cerunnos » Wed Nov 30, 2016 9:08 am

At the Synology 2017 events they seemed to mention "end of the year" which probably means December.

Meruem
Apprentice
Apprentice
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 9:04 pm

Re: New Router RT2600AC !!

Unread post by Meruem » Wed Dec 07, 2016 11:50 am

Do you guys think this can beat pretense? That's my go to router right now

mraky
Versed
Versed
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 11:49 am
Contact:

Re: New Router RT2600AC !!

Unread post by mraky » Wed Dec 07, 2016 12:13 pm

Meruem wrote:Do you guys think this can beat pretense? That's my go to router right now
what particular feature?

rolandrat
Apprentice
Apprentice
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 8:08 pm

Re: New Router RT2600AC !!

Unread post by rolandrat » Wed Dec 07, 2016 6:41 pm

There appears to be a recent review here:-

https://www.mobile01.com/newsdetail/201 ... mm-atheros

You may need to translate the page with google.

Noah
Seasoned
Seasoned
Posts: 537
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 3:20 pm

Re: New Router RT2600AC !!

Unread post by Noah » Thu Dec 08, 2016 9:12 pm

Meruem wrote:Do you guys think this can beat pretense? That's my go to router right now
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

I didn't think of that :mrgreen:

(Of course they can't. Nobody understands why a STORAGE SPECIALIST would design throwaway home office routers (not even with built in modems) in the first place).

I for one will never buy that kind of gear. It doesn't belong with Synology, it's not what they are good at, and they are wasting their human resources on fixing the wrong problem, while the right problem is unattended.
Somebody here sucks big time. BIG time. Small...

Noah
Seasoned
Seasoned
Posts: 537
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 3:20 pm

Re: New Router RT2600AC !!

Unread post by Noah » Thu Dec 08, 2016 9:19 pm

mraky wrote:
ok. i know what you are talking about, and to some extent i agree. on other hand hw specs for 1900 are realy extremly low for some l7 processing(and intrusion det on 1900 is way too heavy for that hw) . l3 rules are also quite exhausting...

issue with IDS(and other l7 applications) is, it is very very difficult to estimate requirements... and because memory is not most expensive on router, it is better not to cheat it .. i hope 2 gig as minimum. with 1gig it will work for normal user. problably... but with 500Mbytes ? this is not even for regular user...
super would be same aproache as synology did with NAS... where memory can be extended manually by owner... dont forget. even home routers must be able to process hundreds Mbps of traffic & in family you have usually 1-2 devices per person conected to wifi(plus devices like xbox for kids, sound system, tv etc etc...)... current average family is capable of generating simiar load(cpu&mem&net) for wifi router as it was common in small company few years back

I have 16GB in my router/firewall/IDS/IPS. 60% used. I have only a couple of dozen appliances, in a SOHO environment.

How is Synology going to do the IDS/IPS rules, btw? Free ET-rules? Free Snort rules? or Synologies own rules?

That aside: without dual fail over WAN (that means 3 ports for WAN) and some ports for VLAN (yes you can build multiple VLAN's on top of one physical interface and no that is not the most secure) this will remain only a router (and not even a built in modem...) for those who demand nothing. And even then you can buy that way cheaper.

Synology should build THE BEST NAS THINKABLE, and stay away from this black sheep kind of stuff. It doesn't belong in the family. And so the competition will also see.
Somebody here sucks big time. BIG time. Small...

mraky
Versed
Versed
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 11:49 am
Contact:

Re: New Router RT2600AC !!

Unread post by mraky » Thu Dec 08, 2016 9:47 pm

Noah wrote:
mraky wrote:
ok. i know what you are talking about, and to some extent i agree. on other hand hw specs for 1900 are realy extremly low for some l7 processing(and intrusion det on 1900 is way too heavy for that hw) . l3 rules are also quite exhausting...

issue with IDS(and other l7 applications) is, it is very very difficult to estimate requirements... and because memory is not most expensive on router, it is better not to cheat it .. i hope 2 gig as minimum. with 1gig it will work for normal user. problably... but with 500Mbytes ? this is not even for regular user...
super would be same aproache as synology did with NAS... where memory can be extended manually by owner... dont forget. even home routers must be able to process hundreds Mbps of traffic & in family you have usually 1-2 devices per person conected to wifi(plus devices like xbox for kids, sound system, tv etc etc...)... current average family is capable of generating simiar load(cpu&mem&net) for wifi router as it was common in small company few years back

I have 16GB in my router/firewall/IDS/IPS. 60% used. I have only a couple of dozen appliances, in a SOHO environment.

How is Synology going to do the IDS/IPS rules, btw? Free ET-rules? Free Snort rules? or Synologies own rules?

That aside: without dual fail over WAN (that means 3 ports for WAN) and some ports for VLAN (yes you can build multiple VLAN's on top of one physical interface and no that is not the most secure) this will remain only a router (and not even a built in modem...) for those who demand nothing. And even then you can buy that way cheaper.

Synology should build THE BEST NAS THINKABLE, and stay away from this black sheep kind of stuff. It doesn't belong in the family. And so the competition will also see.
best would be, if synology router have some slot for module extension ... i.e few sfp cages... and people can decide if to go for it or no...

Cerunnos
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2016 8:37 am

Re: New Router RT2600AC !!

Unread post by Cerunnos » Fri Dec 09, 2016 6:43 am

Noah wrote:
syno.dustin wrote:
mraky wrote:
They're designed for <snip> and business users. Most of which don't need these sorts of specs.
It depends on which 'business' users you are referring too. Anybody with more than a 'around the corner grocery shop' where mum and dad start up internet once a month to see if there is any news needs more than 1GB of RAM. Yes, I am referring to 1990, dial up internet (I was there and lived that dream too).

I'm a moderate fan of Synology (I was a HUGE one, but since none of my requests since DSM4 have been honored I'm not as big a fan anymore), but whomever is your Chief Solution Architect has never seen a big company in his life, and should be replaced by an experienced one (I happen to know of a brilliant one, but he doesn't want to...- and no, it's not me, it's a dear Friend of mine :wink: ).

And no, I'm not only talking about retarded "File Station", which isn't even as good as Windows 0.97-A1 Windows Explorer was... :mrgreen:

"File Station" is only one of the dozens of examples of bad design. And don't get me started on your 'task scheduler'...

There is ONE department I still consider second to none: the people who design the GUI. It is almost im-pos-si-ble to not do it right in that GUI. But then, of course, behind these extremely talented GUI designers we meet the other people. Yet another example of the dozens: how come I can not define groups of ports in the firewall? groups of hosts? It's 2016, not 1951...
You have to start somewhere, and plus, RAW specs are fairly useless if the software isn't up to scratch. SRM is still in its infant steps, meaning there are still things to iron out, basic features to work on. Once those are done, I believe they'll start working on larger routers. Consumer/small business routers are still very much hot items and specs are nowhere near what you are describing. Take for example the popular range of Ubiquiti gear, they aren't really enterprise grade, but they have good software and are extremely low-cost. The hardware isn't great, but it gets the job done for small businesses.

Locked

Return to “Synology Router”