Cloudstation 3005 error: "... cannot be synced due.."

Discussion room for the Cloud Station clients for PC/Mac/Linux computers, designed to sync files between your different work-stations and your DiskStation
Forum rules
Synology Community is the new platform for the enthusiasts' interaction, and it will soon be available to replace the Forum.
dlipin
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2014 9:26 pm

Re: Cloudstation 3005 error: "... cannot be synced due.."

Unread post by dlipin » Thu Sep 25, 2014 9:56 pm

This error occurs for me on occasion, seems somehow related to (triggered by?) a Cloud Station database inconsistency, usually when a full re-sync is occurring in the background. The re-sync does indeed stop when it encounters one of these errors, although current edits seems to continue syncing.

Anyway, I have two workarounds (but I certainly wish Synology would fix this recurring issue):

First workaround is to remove all read-only attributes from sync'ed files. If you know what you're doing, open a command shell and use attrib -r on the appropriate files (e.g., attrib -r *.* /s will recurse through subfolders). Note that this will not address "cannot be sync'ed" errors that have already been reported by Cloud Station (you'll need next workaround for that); this workaround will help keep Cloud Station from getting stuck on files it hasn't yet processed. (Not all files though; the read-only attribute seems to be only one trigger for this problem.)

Second workaround requires some patience and effort. Workaround is to navigate (in Explorer) to the file in question and rename it (e.g., rename file.doc to file1.doc). After a moment, Cloud Station will "restore" a version of file.doc (typically identical to what was there, but sometimes an older version), so now I see file.doc and file1.doc. I then delete file.doc and rename file1.doc back to file.doc Cloud Station registers the deletion and the rename, and is then happy with that file and moves on to sync other files.

Sometimes this happens for all of the files in a particular folder, in which case I use the same technique on the folder (i.e., rename Folder to Folder1, Cloud Station "restores" another version of Folder which I delete, then rename Folder1 back to Folder).

Usually, after the entire re-sync job is completed, this problem will go away (until the next time an upgrade or some other issue triggers a full re-sync).

I've also observed this to happen more regularly with temp files (e.g., temporary lock or status files from Microsoft Office apps, Quicken, etc). Several posts in related threads refer to sync problems with these temp files. I exclude these by opening the Cloud Station client app, Sharing tab, wrench icon next to the desired shared folder, Advanced button.

unclzero
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 3:47 am

Re: Cloudstation 3005 error: "... cannot be synced due.."

Unread post by unclzero » Tue Dec 09, 2014 3:58 am

Just locate and clear the blue Synology logo on 'problem' files by right clicking, then in Properties, uncheck 'READ ONLY' files and apply(make sure changes apply to all subfolders if there is a pop up) sync should auto restart.

charliejuliet
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 2:00 am

Re: Cloudstation 3005 error: "... cannot be synced due.."

Unread post by charliejuliet » Mon Jan 05, 2015 2:11 am

unclzero wrote:Just locate and clear the blue Synology logo on 'problem' files by right clicking, then in Properties, uncheck 'READ ONLY' files and apply(make sure changes apply to all subfolders if there is a pop up) sync should auto restart.
I concur with slight moderation: the reason for this behaviour on OS X seems to be the file's status as "locked". If you locate the file that will not sync in Finder, click CMD+I, you will see that the "Locked" under "General" is checked. Unchecking it will sync the file, and let syncing of all other files continue.

This took me a while to figure out, and it is a tedious task to search for the files that won't sync, as there is no real way to search for locked fils in OSX. As permissions is with the local user, and not with the Synology-server, I doubt they can do much to fix it.

rano
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2014 8:58 am

Re: Cloudstation 3005 error: "... cannot be synced due.."

Unread post by rano » Sun Jan 18, 2015 5:34 pm

Thanks, that worked for me. The MBP was syncing fine, but he iMac was not. What it was unable to sync was a "*.exe" file in a folder where i saved all my Windows-related program files. I deselected that folder (with all sub folders) and it worked.
However, selecting the folder again leads to the same symptoms (one-way syncing of iMac, not getting the changes on the MBP, and iMac ALWAYS in syncing mode).
Weeks i have been looking for a solution after this damn update, and this partial solution is already a relief.
I had a good impression of Synology/the product, but after this episode, i'm not so sure anymore ...

charliejuliet
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 2:00 am

Re: Cloudstation 3005 error: "... cannot be synced due.."

Unread post by charliejuliet » Sun Jan 18, 2015 9:19 pm

rano wrote:Thanks, that worked for me. The MBP was syncing fine, but he iMac was not. What it was unable to sync was a "*.exe" file in a folder where i saved all my Windows-related program files. I deselected that folder (with all sub folders) and it worked.
However, selecting the folder again leads to the same symptoms (one-way syncing of iMac, not getting the changes on the MBP, and iMac ALWAYS in syncing mode).
Weeks i have been looking for a solution after this damn update, and this partial solution is already a relief.
I had a good impression of Synology/the product, but after this episode, i'm not so sure anymore ...

I don't think you should let this ruin the Synology for you. It happens because there is some form of write protection on the files you're syncing. Just change that and it works as usual.

rano
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2014 8:58 am

Re: Cloudstation 3005 error: "... cannot be synced due.."

Unread post by rano » Mon Jan 19, 2015 3:43 am

I still think that it's a very convenient product, even for an non-IT-specialist, but am not sure that it is just a matter of "write protection" settings. Case in point (and update, and possibly tip for others with the same symptoms):
- The same folder (with "idle" files, stored just so i have them somewhere) was syncing fine before the DSM 5 update. I didn't change anything in terms of write-protection to any of these files before or after the update.
- I created a new folder, with a different name and COPIED (ie not "moved") the content of the folder with the problematic file. Lo and behold: the new folder is now syncing properly and "up-to-date" (ie not syncing continuously). I then just delete the old folder and ... voilà. It's still working after a few hours. Knock on wood.
What could provoke such a behavior/problem is way beyond my understanding of IT matters. Maybe the quantum computing is more widespread than assumed.
But thanks again to AngelIslington for his post. This problem has been a thorn in my side since DSM 5 (and Yosemite) and now i can move to less frustrating topics.

charliejuliet
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 2:00 am

Re: Cloudstation 3005 error: "... cannot be synced due.."

Unread post by charliejuliet » Mon Jan 19, 2015 9:41 am

Haha! Yup, must be that quantum computing that's behind it all! Good stuff with the copy instead of the move. Quick and dirty. I love it.

User avatar
VertigoRay
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 4:26 am
Location: Ecuador
Contact:

Re: Cloudstation 3005 error: "... cannot be synced due.."

Unread post by VertigoRay » Mon Apr 25, 2016 6:14 pm

I am having the same issue in Windows 10. Since renaming works for, I decided to just clean things up. I also submitted a support ticket with Synology via my DS.

The only thing is, I have over 4500 files in the queue. I know all of them aren't causing this error, but I didn't feel like waiting to figure out which ones were; this could take all day. Since I'm familiar with PowerShell, I opted to script it:

Code: Select all

[System.Collections.ArrayList] $already_done = @()
Get-Content .\AppData\Local\CloudStation\log\daemon.log -Wait | ?{ $_ -match '\[ERROR\]' } | %{
    $_ -match '(\\Users\\[^\\]+\\CloudStation\\[^\]]+)' | Out-Null
    if ($Matches[1] -and ($already_done -inotcontains $Matches[1])) {
        Write-Host ($Matches[1] | Out-String)
        Rename-Item (Resolve-Path $Matches[1]) "_$(Split-Path $Matches[1] -Leaf)"
        while (-not (Test-Path $Matches[1])) {
            Start-Sleep -Seconds 1
        }
        Remove-Item "$(Split-Path $Matches[1] -Parent)\_$(Split-Path $Matches[1] -Leaf)" -Force
        $already_done.Add($Matches[1]) | Out-Null
    }
}
Uggh ... that code is so ugly in this forum; here: https://gist.github.com/VertigoRay/1201 ... 5ee90f445d

Note: `Get-Content -Wait` will keep watching that `daemon.log` indefinitely. When you think it's all done, just CTRL+C the command (or just close PowerShell).

This worked for me. Hope this helps others.
~Ray
http://blog.vertigion.com
DS1511+ 1GB RAM
DS1515+ 2Gb RAM

casparvl
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2015 8:06 pm

Re: Cloudstation 3005 error: "... cannot be synced due.."

Unread post by casparvl » Mon May 02, 2016 10:25 pm

Yep, also having the same issue here (DSM 6.0, latest version of cloudstation). Solved it for now by simply unchecking the 'read-only' checkbox, but it's weird that I haven't run in to this before. My Cloudstation is doing a re-sync after update - and now it suddenly stops on all kinds of read-only files where I didn't have this problem before. I don't understand why they haven't designed the client to just skip the file for a moment and try again later. That way, most of my re-sync could just finish without my interference and at the end, I could find out which files are read-only and change that. But no... it stops every time, so I have to find out that for the past 2 hours my re-sync has been doing nothing (and this way, it takes ages to complete ofcourse). Very strange way to perform error handling :? Also annoying that you can't quickly right-click and open the containing folder on the file that fails to sync. Now I have to search for it every time...

User avatar
VertigoRay
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 4:26 am
Location: Ecuador
Contact:

Re: Cloudstation 3005 error: "... cannot be synced due.."

Unread post by VertigoRay » Thu May 12, 2016 11:29 pm

casparvl wrote:I don't understand why they haven't designed the client to just skip the file for a moment and try again later.
I have an open ticket with Synology Support and have suggested the same solution. In the meantime, try out the script I posted above so you're not manually digging for the file.
~Ray
http://blog.vertigion.com
DS1511+ 1GB RAM
DS1515+ 2Gb RAM

Post Reply

Return to “Cloud Station Drive”