Prevent users from deleting files

Forum rules
This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form:
https://account.synology.com/support/suppo ... p?lang=enu
Builtware
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 7:36 pm

Prevent users from deleting files

Postby Builtware » Sat May 30, 2015 12:51 am

I hope this hasn't already been asked 100 times and I just cant find it. I need to create a permission that will allow an Ipad user to upload files to a shared cloud folder but not delete any files once they are uploaded. I thought by unchecking the "Delete Folders and Subfolders" and the "Delete" option under the "Write" permissions section that the selected user would be able to sync files but not delete files or folders. When I uncheck these options the user can't upload files at all to the folder.

Is there something that I am missing? I appreciate the help!
Flopper
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 1012
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 6:00 pm

Re: Prevent users from deleting files

Postby Flopper » Sun May 31, 2015 8:54 am

You can try the option in Shared Folder advanced permissions:

Disable modification of existing files (look it up in Help)
Some people spent a lot of time writing the Help files, use it!
Do not expect serious answers if it can be found by searching for it yourself.
Wumbowarrior
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 6:41 pm

Re: Prevent users from deleting files

Postby Wumbowarrior » Mon Sep 18, 2017 4:05 pm

I would actually like to be able to do the same thing. I have searched in DSM Help with no luck. I accidentally deleted my entire music library. I'm working on recovering the deleted files now, but I would like to prevent the same accident from reoccurring.

I would like to implement something where I can move files to a "To Be Deleted" folder, and later log on to DSM Web UI as an admin to delete the items.

I went into Advanced Share Permissions as you described, but all I see is a window that reads, "Edit Advanced Share Permissions" and lists the users, and the only permissions I'm allowed to choose are "No Access," "Read/Write," and "Read Only." I don't see anything like what you are describing.

Any help would be appreciated.
synology_ukman
Enlightened
Enlightened
Posts: 423
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 4:51 pm

Re: Prevent users from deleting files

Postby synology_ukman » Mon Sep 18, 2017 4:18 pm

Known as WORM folder, ZFS has.
Tricky to mimic.
If you have the folder on permanent one way sync to second hidden folder no way files can be lost.

Of course recycle bin supposed to help here.
Wumbowarrior
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 6:41 pm

Re: Prevent users from deleting files

Postby Wumbowarrior » Mon Sep 18, 2017 4:28 pm

Okay I think I figured it out. For anyone else with this problem, navigate to Control Panel > Shared Folder > Select Folder > Select "Edit" tab > Select "Permissions" tab > Select, "Custom" for the user you want to apply these settings to (You could probably also create a user group for this)

You need to make sure that "Type" is set to Deny. Make sure that ONLY the following are checked, "Delete subfolders and files," "Delete," "Change Permissions," "Take Ownership."

Once those settings have been set, it should block that user from being able to delete any files they upload without restricting abilities to make changes or upload new files.

I hope that helps anyone.
User avatar
eaz
Ace
Ace
Posts: 748
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 9:04 pm

Re: Prevent users from deleting files

Postby eaz » Mon Sep 18, 2017 6:27 pm

Or make sure the backup is done and you can restore easily.
Please share if a reply was useful or how the issue was solved, it helps other DS users.

DS415+ (2*4TB HD raid1 + 2*480GB SSD raid1), DS212+ (2*WD red 2TB), previous DS411J, DS106

Return to “DS cloud”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest