Prevent users from deleting files

Forum rules
1) This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form:

https://account.synology.com/support/su ... p?lang=enu



2) To avoid putting users' DiskStation at risk, please don't paste links to any patches provided by our Support team as we will systematically remove them. Our Support team will provide the correct patch for your DiskStation model.
Builtware
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 7:36 pm

Prevent users from deleting files

Unread post by Builtware » Sat May 30, 2015 12:51 am

I hope this hasn't already been asked 100 times and I just cant find it. I need to create a permission that will allow an Ipad user to upload files to a shared cloud folder but not delete any files once they are uploaded. I thought by unchecking the "Delete Folders and Subfolders" and the "Delete" option under the "Write" permissions section that the selected user would be able to sync files but not delete files or folders. When I uncheck these options the user can't upload files at all to the folder.

Is there something that I am missing? I appreciate the help!

Flopper
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 1080
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 6:00 pm

Re: Prevent users from deleting files

Unread post by Flopper » Sun May 31, 2015 8:54 am

You can try the option in Shared Folder advanced permissions:

Disable modification of existing files (look it up in Help)
Some people spent a lot of time writing the Help files, use it!
Do not expect serious answers if it can be found by searching for it yourself.

Wumbowarrior
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 6:41 pm

Re: Prevent users from deleting files

Unread post by Wumbowarrior » Mon Sep 18, 2017 4:05 pm

I would actually like to be able to do the same thing. I have searched in DSM Help with no luck. I accidentally deleted my entire music library. I'm working on recovering the deleted files now, but I would like to prevent the same accident from reoccurring.

I would like to implement something where I can move files to a "To Be Deleted" folder, and later log on to DSM Web UI as an admin to delete the items.

I went into Advanced Share Permissions as you described, but all I see is a window that reads, "Edit Advanced Share Permissions" and lists the users, and the only permissions I'm allowed to choose are "No Access," "Read/Write," and "Read Only." I don't see anything like what you are describing.

Any help would be appreciated.

synology_ukman
Seasoned
Seasoned
Posts: 535
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 4:51 pm

Re: Prevent users from deleting files

Unread post by synology_ukman » Mon Sep 18, 2017 4:18 pm

Known as WORM folder, ZFS has.
Tricky to mimic.
If you have the folder on permanent one way sync to second hidden folder no way files can be lost.

Of course recycle bin supposed to help here.

Wumbowarrior
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 6:41 pm

Re: Prevent users from deleting files

Unread post by Wumbowarrior » Mon Sep 18, 2017 4:28 pm

Okay I think I figured it out. For anyone else with this problem, navigate to Control Panel > Shared Folder > Select Folder > Select "Edit" tab > Select "Permissions" tab > Select, "Custom" for the user you want to apply these settings to (You could probably also create a user group for this)

You need to make sure that "Type" is set to Deny. Make sure that ONLY the following are checked, "Delete subfolders and files," "Delete," "Change Permissions," "Take Ownership."

Once those settings have been set, it should block that user from being able to delete any files they upload without restricting abilities to make changes or upload new files.

I hope that helps anyone.

User avatar
eaz
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 1097
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 9:04 pm

Re: Prevent users from deleting files

Unread post by eaz » Mon Sep 18, 2017 6:27 pm

Or make sure the backup is done and you can restore easily.
Please share if a reply was useful or how the issue was solved, it helps other DS users.

DS415+ (4TB HGST+ 4TB Seagate raid1 + 2*480GB SSD raid1), DS212+ (2*WD red 2TB), previous DS411J, DS106

mbobak
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2018 6:33 pm

Re: Prevent users from deleting files

Unread post by mbobak » Thu Feb 01, 2018 7:36 pm

Hi all,

I tried the solution outlined by Wumbowarrior, where I did:
Control Panel->Shared Folders->(select shared folder)->Edit->Permissions->(scroll to user in question)->Click Custom

In the dialog box, I set 'Type' to 'Deny', then I clicked 'Administration' (denying both 'Change Permissions' and 'Take Onwership'. Then I had nothing checked under 'Read', and under 'Write', I selected only 'Delete subfolders and files' and 'Delete'.

When I do that, the user can no longer even open the shared folder. I get a Windows permission denied error. Specifically, "Windows cannot access <share name>" "You do not have permission to access <share name>. Contact your network administrator to request access."

Can anyone offer me a clue?

-Mark

oscarcr
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 5:41 pm

Re: Prevent users from deleting files

Unread post by oscarcr » Tue Feb 06, 2018 7:37 pm

mbobak wrote:Hi all,

I tried the solution outlined by Wumbowarrior, where I did:
Control Panel->Shared Folders->(select shared folder)->Edit->Permissions->(scroll to user in question)->Click Custom

In the dialog box, I set 'Type' to 'Deny', then I clicked 'Administration' (denying both 'Change Permissions' and 'Take Onwership'. Then I had nothing checked under 'Read', and under 'Write', I selected only 'Delete subfolders and files' and 'Delete'.

When I do that, the user can no longer even open the shared folder. I get a Windows permission denied error. Specifically, "Windows cannot access <share name>" "You do not have permission to access <share name>. Contact your network administrator to request access."

Can anyone offer me a clue?

-Mark
Mark don´t forget assign read and write permissions in the specied folder in Filestation, if your forget this, the user don´t have read and write permissions.

Wumbowarrior
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 6:41 pm

Re: Prevent users from deleting files

Unread post by Wumbowarrior » Tue Mar 13, 2018 10:28 pm

So coming back to this after having had more experience with DSM, I don't know why I suggested that needlessly complicated idea. You just need to set custom permissions in your user group to

Type: Allow

Then just check all the options you want EXCEPT for "Delete" and "Delete subfolders and files" under Write.

Hope that helps and sorry for the confusion

dhel
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2018 10:17 pm

Re: Prevent users from deleting files

Unread post by dhel » Tue Jun 12, 2018 10:34 pm

I face same issue. If you deny users to delete, they cannot update existing files!
Any solution for that difference?

Post Reply

Return to “DS cloud”