Web station setup for accessing website from domainname

Questions about hosting a Website, using MySQL, PhP or MariaDB may be posted here.
Forum rules
1) This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form:

https://account.synology.com/support/su ... p?lang=enu



2) To avoid putting users' DiskStation at risk, please don't paste links to any patches provided by our Support team as we will systematically remove them. Our Support team will provide the correct patch for your DiskStation model.
ActiV528
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2017 5:32 pm

Web station setup for accessing website from domainname

Unread post by ActiV528 » Sun Jan 21, 2018 9:23 am

Hi,

After setting up my web station i can access the website from http://username.synology.me/personalwebsite

Domain Name Registrar has a menu where you fill in "nameserver" and i am able to fill in only ip's and letters with dots, unable to fill in "username.synology.me/personalwebsite".

How can i access the website directly from http://www.personalwebsite.com?
What setup do i need to do in order to access the website stored on my NAS from http://www.personalwebsite.com?

I highly appreciate any support,
Thank you

wyodor
Sharp
Sharp
Posts: 192
Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 1:21 pm

Re: Web station setup for accessing website from domainname

Unread post by wyodor » Sun Jan 21, 2018 4:57 pm

Go to where you manage your domainname (and read the Help pages).

Add a CNAME record and point to the Synology DDNS name you currently use.

Something like :

Code: Select all

* CNAME username.synology.me.
The * wildcard character catches everything you use as a subdomain. Comes in handy when you use virtual hosts.

When the WAN IP number or your internetconnection changes, Synology DDNS is updated and your domainname still works.

ActiV528
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2017 5:32 pm

Re: Web station setup for accessing website from domainname

Unread post by ActiV528 » Mon Jan 22, 2018 5:27 pm

wyodor wrote:Go to where you manage your domainname (and read the Help pages).

Add a CNAME record and point to the Synology DDNS name you currently use.

Something like :

Code: Select all

* CNAME username.synology.me.
The * wildcard character catches everything you use as a subdomain. Comes in handy when you use virtual hosts.

When the WAN IP number or your internetconnection changes, Synology DDNS is updated and your domainname still works.
After reading help pages i contacted the domain name registrar and their answer was: "please contact your hosting service provider" "ROTLD only gives the right to use .ro domain names and how to announce the names of domain servers that provide their hosting service, not the redirection to apps"
ROTLD registrar provides only the possibility to enter nameserver.

Big simple question: can i, along with my NAS, can become hosting service provider for my personal website? How?

I already host the website and is available from http://username.synology.me/personalwebsite.
How can i make http://www.personalwebsite.ro to access http://username.synology.me/personalwebsite, using NAS?

Thank you

wyodor
Sharp
Sharp
Posts: 192
Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 1:21 pm

Re: Web station setup for accessing website from domainname

Unread post by wyodor » Mon Jan 22, 2018 6:23 pm

ROTLD is a toplevel registrar. They simple register the domainname. Just the characters so to speak. The offer no service beyond that.

In their FAQ page they mention that you sign up with an ISP where you can manage the domainname :

http://www.rotld.ro/engleza/contact_en/faq_en.html#dom8

So search for "domain hosting romania", tell them you have a domainname and they will make it work.

Note also that a domainname is NOT a website. So whatever you do with the domainname, do not refer to webpages.

ActiV528
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2017 5:32 pm

Re: Web station setup for accessing website from domainname

Unread post by ActiV528 » Mon Jan 22, 2018 6:42 pm

wyodor wrote:ROTLD is a toplevel registrar. They simple register the domainname. Just the characters so to speak. The offer no service beyond that.

In their FAQ page they mention that you sign up with an ISP where you can manage the domainname :

http://www.rotld.ro/engleza/contact_en/faq_en.html#dom8

So search for "domain hosting romania", tell them you have a domainname and they will make it work.

Note also that a domainname is NOT a website. So whatever you do with the domainname, do not refer to webpages.
I well know the difference, i'm administrating a website and i previously contracted hosting services.
I was just curious, and hoped for a positive answer, if i, with my NAS, can host webpages (for myself) and sort of become myself a "domain hosting". Guess is a negative answer.
If there is a positive answer, teach me how to make settings :)

The idea started when i saw that there is web station on NAS and recently discovered DNS Server app.

Conclusion: with NAS you can host websites but NAS cannot become a hosting provider and successfully redirect http://www.personalwebsite.ro to your files stored on the NAS.

Thank you for your replies,
Have a great day, best wishes

Buxelm
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2018 9:43 am

Re: Web station setup for accessing website from domainname

Unread post by Buxelm » Mon Feb 12, 2018 12:40 pm

Suggest you to have a look on strato.com. Domain forwarding is available in basic package.

Ralphort
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 4:14 pm

Re: Web station setup for accessing website from domainname

Unread post by Ralphort » Thu Feb 15, 2018 4:10 pm

wyodor wrote:Go to where you manage your domainname (and read the Help pages).

Add a CNAME record and point to the Synology DDNS name you currently use.

Something like :

Code: Select all

* CNAME username.synology.me.
A CNAME won't do the trick. It will only give him the option for ftp & www wildcard. What he needs is a Type A record with his external IP address pointing on his domain name. He can change this under DNS management settings on domain provider (ex. Godaddy). After than he can access DSM with his siteaddress:port.
Last edited by Ralphort on Thu Feb 15, 2018 4:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Ralphort
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 4:14 pm

Re: Web station setup for accessing website from domainname

Unread post by Ralphort » Thu Feb 15, 2018 4:31 pm

ActiV528 wrote: Conclusion: with NAS you can host websites but NAS cannot become a hosting provider and successfully redirect http://www.personalwebsite.ro to your files stored on the NAS.
Not anymore with DSM 6+ as the web server is now isolated in the Web Station standalone package. You still can do WP multisite though :D. Your best bet is going Qnap if you're looking for multiple web hosting on same & diffrent CMSs.

Post Reply

Return to “Web Server + PHP / MySQL + MariaDB”