CrashPlan - need help editing JVM heap size

The discussion lounge for third-party packages.
Forum rules
Please note the Disclaimer before modifying your Synology Product.
roonie
Trainee
Trainee

CrashPlan - need help editing JVM heap size

Postby roonie » Sun Aug 25, 2013 4:43 pm

Can anyone help me with making the below suggested change to my DS412+ that I found on the Synology Wiki. I'm a Linux newb and stuck. I can SSH to the DiskStation> but do not have the CLI skill to get any further. My CrashPlan cloud backups were running very well until recently when the below constant re-start/disconnect issue started occurring.

Thanks in advance.

"CrashPlan silently crashes, and restarts (sometimes repeatedly) or stops after working for awhile

If there are large or many files in the backup set, it is possible that the Java VM runs out of memory and crashes. This would be evident if a GUI is connected as it will complain about loss of connection. It may be possible to find "Caused by: java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space" in /opt/crashplan/log as well.

This situation can be resolved by increasing the maximum heap size for the virtual machine, if the device has enough RAM to support it. The -Xmx switch determines the maximum size, while -Xms is the initial (minimum) size. Note that the maximum size CAN be set larger than installed RAM, which may be necessary in certain cases. Although this may cause swapping, it will only occur if necessary, and the performance loss may not be noticeable depending on workload.

Suggested values for devices with 1GB RAM and 2GB swap, not running any other memory intensive applications: modify the first line in /opt/crashplan/bin/run.conf

SRV_JAVA_OPTS="-Dfile.encoding=UTF-8 -Dapp=CrashPlanService -DappBaseName=CrashPlan -Xms20m -Xmx512m ...

to:
SRV_JAVA_OPTS="-Dfile.encoding=UTF-8 -Dapp=CrashPlanService -DappBaseName=CrashPlan -Xms128m -Xmx1536m ..."
roonie
Trainee
Trainee

Re: CrashPlan - need help editing JVM heap size