Installing MyBB on Synology NAS using docker (Warning: Lots of pictures)

The discussion lounge for third-party packages.
Forum rules
Please note the Disclaimer before modifying your Synology Product.
JimmyBoy
Trainee
Trainee

Installing MyBB on Synology NAS using docker (Warning: Lots of pictures)

Postby JimmyBoy » Wed Sep 20, 2017 8:30 pm

Hi,

Im trying to get an installation of MyBB working using docker.

The issue is, I have no experience with docker so its quite a learning curve for me at the moment. I have decided to document my process here, as much for me for future reference, but also so I can hopefully ask for some advice (questions at bottom of post).

I have read through the Synology Help Pages for docker (Here), but there is some information missing regarding certain procedures.

Step 1 - Acquiring a MyBB Docker File

I searched for MyBB using Synology's docker search.

The docker file page shows the following (Docker Page)

Step 2 - Creating Volumes

The synology help states in the example given about mapping volumes to shared folders, but makes no mention of the correct procedure for creating these shared folders.

I was unsure if I can simply create these folders under admin account, or if they need to be created with root?

I found an article which would suggest that these folders should be created with root access using SSH. (See Here)

Using the information from the article above I logged into my Synology with SSH (on macOS), to gain root access.

Firstly, enabled SSH Service in Control Panel

Then followed this Synology Article to login with SSH / root access.

Then proceeded to create folders and change ownership as directed in article

Step 3 - Configuring the Container

Step 4 - Accessing MyBB through web browser

Using the address 192.168.1.100:9001 presents me with this page

Reading the MyBB docs specify what permissions are required for folders, specifying uploads needs a chmod of 777 (See Here)