Virtualbox on DSM 6.1

The discussion lounge for third-party packages.
Forum rules
Please note the Disclaimer before modifying your Synology Product.
bobik
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2017 11:27 am

Re: Virtualbox on DSM 6.1

Postby bobik » Fri Jun 09, 2017 4:40 pm

Cerunnos wrote:
SIGUSRpi wrote:
onkelandy wrote:Here we go again. We should have known better. Everything is broken again with release DSM 6.1.1-15101
Everything worked fine with 6.1 some weeks ago :(


That's a shame, I was hoping to run a tiny Windows Server 2012 or 2016 on my network, but I wasn't going to buy another PC just to do that. (The goal is to just have WSUS running, so I can control which updates get shoved onto the Windows 10 boxes now that you don't get to pick and choose from a list from the target machine.)


Try the new VMM package that is in beta, should be able to replace VirtualBox.


Link to VMM ?
sincarne
Distinguished
Distinguished
Posts: 852
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 9:57 pm

Re: Virtualbox on DSM 6.1

Postby sincarne » Fri Jun 09, 2017 6:34 pm

bobik wrote:
Cerunnos wrote:
SIGUSRpi wrote:
That's a shame, I was hoping to run a tiny Windows Server 2012 or 2016 on my network, but I wasn't going to buy another PC just to do that. (The goal is to just have WSUS running, so I can control which updates get shoved onto the Windows 10 boxes now that you don't get to pick and choose from a list from the target machine.)


Try the new VMM package that is in beta, should be able to replace VirtualBox.


Link to VMM ?


https://www.synology.com/en-global/beta/2017_VMM
jeffdelyon
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 3:45 pm

Re: Virtualbox on DSM 6.1

Postby jeffdelyon » Wed Aug 30, 2017 3:51 pm

Hello to all,
I just install a VirtualBox and I have a message during its startup:
"An unknown PHP error occurred. This is most likely a syntax error in config.php in phpVirtualBox's folder. The most common errors are an unclosed quote
or a missing semicolon in a configuration item that has been entered (e.g. location, username, or password)....."
VirtualBox_x64_5.0.40-115130-1
Synology DS216 ll - DSM 6.1.3-15152 Update 3
PC under WINDOWS 7 pro 64
Internet Connection by ADSL Freebox V6 and switch D-Link 1005of
can you help me to make it work?
Thanks in advance.
thansen
Student
Student
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 8:55 pm
Location: Silkeborg - Denmark

Re: Virtualbox on DSM 6.1

Postby thansen » Wed Aug 30, 2017 8:14 pm

jeffdelyon wrote:Hello to all,
I just install a VirtualBox and I have a message during its startup:
"An unknown PHP error occurred. This is most likely a syntax error in config.php in phpVirtualBox's folder. The most common errors are an unclosed quote
or a missing semicolon in a configuration item that has been entered (e.g. location, username, or password)....."
VirtualBox_x64_5.0.40-115130-1
Synology DS216 ll - DSM 6.1.3-15152 Update 3
PC under WINDOWS 7 pro 64
Internet Connection by ADSL Freebox V6 and switch D-Link 1005of
can you help me to make it work?
Thanks in advance.


I have just installed it on an DS716+ without any problems.

Make sure that you only have PHP 5.6 and Apache HTTP Server 2.2 installed and have SOAP extension enabled in WEB Station, then try again.
Synology DS716+II - Firmware: DSM 6.1.3-15152 Update 7 - Logitech Media Server Version: 7.9.1-164 - Drive 1 WDC WD40EFRX-68N32N0 - Drive 2 WDC WD40EFRX-68N32N0
Synology DS112+ - Firmware: DSM 6.1.3-15152 Update 7 - Drive: WDC WD20EFRX
Synology DS-107+.128 - Firmware: DSM 3.1-1638 - Drive: WDC WD4000YS
sincarne
Distinguished
Distinguished
Posts: 852
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 9:57 pm

Re: Virtualbox on DSM 6.1

Postby sincarne » Thu Aug 31, 2017 1:36 am

thansen wrote:
jeffdelyon wrote:Hello to all,
I just install a VirtualBox and I have a message during its startup:
"An unknown PHP error occurred. This is most likely a syntax error in config.php in phpVirtualBox's folder. The most common errors are an unclosed quote
or a missing semicolon in a configuration item that has been entered (e.g. location, username, or password)....."
VirtualBox_x64_5.0.40-115130-1
Synology DS216 ll - DSM 6.1.3-15152 Update 3
PC under WINDOWS 7 pro 64
Internet Connection by ADSL Freebox V6 and switch D-Link 1005of
can you help me to make it work?
Thanks in advance.


I have just installed it on an DS716+ without any problems.

Make sure that you only have PHP 5.6 and Apache HTTP Server 2.2 installed and have SOAP extension enabled in WEB Station, then try again.


why do all this when can install synology VM?
thansen
Student
Student
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 8:55 pm
Location: Silkeborg - Denmark

Re: Virtualbox on DSM 6.1

Postby thansen » Thu Aug 31, 2017 6:18 am

sincarne wrote:
why do all this when can install synology VM?


For that simple reason that Synology VM does not support DS716+II or the DS216II :wink:
Synology DS716+II - Firmware: DSM 6.1.3-15152 Update 7 - Logitech Media Server Version: 7.9.1-164 - Drive 1 WDC WD40EFRX-68N32N0 - Drive 2 WDC WD40EFRX-68N32N0
Synology DS112+ - Firmware: DSM 6.1.3-15152 Update 7 - Drive: WDC WD20EFRX
Synology DS-107+.128 - Firmware: DSM 3.1-1638 - Drive: WDC WD4000YS
sincarne
Distinguished
Distinguished
Posts: 852
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 9:57 pm

Re: Virtualbox on DSM 6.1

Postby sincarne » Thu Aug 31, 2017 11:43 pm

thansen wrote:
sincarne wrote:
why do all this when can install synology VM?


For that simple reason that Synology VM does not support DS716+II or the DS216II :wink:


Just use SPK https://usdl.synology.com/download/Pack ... .1.0-8241/
work fine 4 me
thansen
Student
Student
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 8:55 pm
Location: Silkeborg - Denmark

Re: Virtualbox on DSM 6.1

Postby thansen » Fri Sep 01, 2017 11:26 am

sincarne wrote:
thansen wrote:
sincarne wrote:
why do all this when can install synology VM?


For that simple reason that Synology VM does not support DS716+II or the DS216II :wink:


Just use SPK https://usdl.synology.com/download/Pack ... .1.0-8241/
work fine 4 me


Thank you VERY much :D :D :D It work great as you said.
I never tried to install the SPK package, I really thought that there was something built in to prevent it from installing on a non supported DS.

The other Virtualbox package, is not very useful, as it will break on major DS firmaware updates.
Synology DS716+II - Firmware: DSM 6.1.3-15152 Update 7 - Logitech Media Server Version: 7.9.1-164 - Drive 1 WDC WD40EFRX-68N32N0 - Drive 2 WDC WD40EFRX-68N32N0
Synology DS112+ - Firmware: DSM 6.1.3-15152 Update 7 - Drive: WDC WD20EFRX
Synology DS-107+.128 - Firmware: DSM 3.1-1638 - Drive: WDC WD4000YS

Return to “Third-party Packages”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests