Virtualbox on DSM 6.1

The discussion lounge for third-party packages.
Forum rules
Please note the Disclaimer before modifying your Synology Product.
User avatar
vletroye
Student
Student
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:55 am

Re: Virtualbox on DSM 6.1

Postby vletroye » Thu Mar 30, 2017 6:40 pm

:D

I am too lazy to use vi... I cp the files in a shared folder and edit them with notepad++ :D

special characters:
\r = carriage return.
\n = line feed.

I remember I had once weird issues with shell scripts and php scripts created on Windows. I concluded that it was due to the encoding (UTF vs ANSI) and the end of line chars. Indeed, doing a search and replace within notepad++ to remove \n and converting to ANSI solved the problem (It was a php script executing shell commands).

V.
DS1815+ - DSM 6.0
hugo5
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 7:56 pm

Re: Virtualbox on DSM 6.1

Postby hugo5 » Thu Apr 06, 2017 9:49 pm

As far as it is stated in this thread, one would have to uninstall php7 alltogether to get virtualbox working.

With this comes the problem, that Photosation refuses to work, since it seems to be dependent on php7. Does anyone know a workaround for this, since I don't want to loose my Photostation functionality?

Thanks in advance!

Hugo
User avatar
vletroye
Student
Student
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:55 am

Re: Virtualbox on DSM 6.1

Postby vletroye » Fri Apr 07, 2017 5:24 pm

As far as I am concerned, PHP 5.6 and 7.0 are both installed an running on my DSM.
Photo Station and VirtuaBox run both fine side by side.

V.
DS1815+ - DSM 6.0
rkflyer
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:29 pm

Re: Virtualbox on DSM 6.1

Postby rkflyer » Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:33 pm

EpicLPer wrote:No matter what I try, I always get this error

Code: Select all

An unknown PHP error occurred. This is most likely a syntax error in   config.php in phpVirtualBox's folder. The most common errors are an unclosed   quote or a missing   semicolon in a configuration item that has been entered (e.g.   location, username, or password).


I've already tried adding soap.so and json.so to the php.ini-config file at /etc/php/php.ini but that changed nothing...



Try going to Web Station, General Settings, second item PHP was set to blank in mine, Selecting PHP5.6 got rid of the above error and I could login with admin admin :D

Good Luck

Ric
DestroPro
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2017 3:06 pm

Re: Virtualbox on DSM 6.1

Postby DestroPro » Tue Apr 18, 2017 3:10 pm

I can install VirtualBox in my DS916+, but when I execute it and log in an error appear.

PHP does not have the SOAP extension enabled.

Exception Object
(
[message:protected] => PHP does not have the SOAP extension enabled.
[string:Exception:private] =>
[code:protected] => 32
[file:protected] => /volume1/web/phpvirtualbox/endpoints/api.php
[line:protected] => 134
[trace:Exception:private] => Array
(
)

[previous:Exception:private] =>
)


What can I do to fix it?
oRBIT
Ace
Ace
Posts: 755
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 2:17 pm
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Virtualbox on DSM 6.1

Postby oRBIT » Wed Apr 19, 2017 2:14 pm

DestroPro wrote:I can install VirtualBox in my DS916+, but when I execute it and log in an error appear.

[i]PHP does not have the SOAP extension enabled.

What can I do to fix it?


Check "web station" settings, there a SOAP extension that you need to enable.
DS718+ (10GB RAM, 2x3TB WD RED WD30EFRX-68EUZN0)

My Synology blog: http://synofan.blogspot.se
emax81
Student
Student
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 7:53 pm

Re: Virtualbox on DSM 6.1

Postby emax81 » Sat Apr 22, 2017 7:36 pm

Hi. I have this problem with my DS412+ DSM 6.1

Image

There is a solution ?

;)
DS412+ DSM6.1
User avatar
vletroye
Student
Student
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:55 am

Re: Virtualbox on DSM 6.1

Postby vletroye » Sat Apr 22, 2017 9:33 pm

Your Nas can't download the package (no idea why...).

Download it on your PC via the provided URL and do a "Manual install" in the Package Center.

V.
DS1815+ - DSM 6.0
emax81
Student
Student
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 7:53 pm

Re: Virtualbox on DSM 6.1

Postby emax81 » Mon Apr 24, 2017 7:01 am

NEW stable version

Changelog Version: 5.0.38-114632-1 Stable (latest)

Changes made by DI4bI0

1. Updated VirtualBox to version 5.0.38 r114632
2. Updated Kernel Modules (3.10.102) DSM 6.1-15047 to version 5.0.38 r114632
2.1 x86_64 (pineview) version 5.0.38 r114632
2.2 cedarview version 5.0.38 r114632
2.3 bromolow version 5.0.38 r114632
2.4 avoton version 5.0.38 r114632
2.5 braswell version 5.0.38 r114632
2.6 grantley version 5.0.38 r114632
2.7 broadwell version 5.0.38 r114632
3. Dropped kvm64 (VirtualDSM) modules
4. Package should be stable enough to switch to stable :)
DS412+ DSM6.1
emax81
Student
Student
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 7:53 pm

Re: Virtualbox on DSM 6.1

Postby emax81 » Tue Apr 25, 2017 12:42 pm

vletroye wrote:Your Nas can't download the package (no idea why...).

Download it on your PC via the provided URL and do a "Manual install" in the Package Center.

V.

I solved this problem with set Google DNS :)

Now I this new problem ; I disable VT

Image

but I have this :

Image


Help :(
DS412+ DSM6.1
User avatar
Mock
Apprentice
Apprentice
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 1:12 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Virtualbox on DSM 6.1

Postby Mock » Fri Apr 28, 2017 7:21 pm

Ok i had the error, that the package failed to install, but after just creating a share, everything went successful, but right now i'm struggling with coming into the application, when i go to the IP/hostname i only get a black page, no errors, or password page.

it seem like a simple issue that i just can't figure out, what have i missed
DS1515+ (16GB) | DSM 6.1-15047 Update 2 | SHR Raid 5 | DX510
Synology RT2600ac SRM 1.1.3-6447 Update 4 |(Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit 10.0.14393)
bobik
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2017 11:27 am

Re: Virtualbox on DSM 6.1

Postby bobik » Tue May 02, 2017 10:29 am

Is anybody run virtualbox successfully on DSM 6.1.1-15101 ?
User avatar
Mock
Apprentice
Apprentice
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 1:12 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Virtualbox on DSM 6.1

Postby Mock » Tue May 02, 2017 10:41 am

I got it working, try the spk from here instead http://spk.synologyitalia.com and remember to get the share created with the correct permission

my installation works with all apache installed, and PHP 7. as some say it wont work
DS1515+ (16GB) | DSM 6.1-15047 Update 2 | SHR Raid 5 | DX510
Synology RT2600ac SRM 1.1.3-6447 Update 4 |(Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit 10.0.14393)
bobik
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2017 11:27 am

Re: Virtualbox on DSM 6.1

Postby bobik » Tue May 02, 2017 9:40 pm

Mock wrote:I got it working, try the spk from here instead http://spk.synologyitalia.com and remember to get the share created with the correct permission

my installation works with all apache installed, and PHP 7. as some say it wont work


Ill try but no success on DS916+ with DSM 6.1.1-15101. It broke virtualbox. Problably virtualbox missing kernel modules.
From DSM shows that virtualbox started but from console no virtualbox processes/tasks.
<Login from web interface shows
Exception Object
(
[message:protected] => Could not connect to host (http://127.0.0.1:18083/)
[string:Exception:private] =>
[code:protected] => 64
[file:protected] => /volume1/path/to_phpvirtualbox/endpoints/api.php
[line:protected] => 134
[trace:Exception:private] => Array
(
)

[previous:Exception:private] =>
)
bobik
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2017 11:27 am

Re: Virtualbox on DSM 6.1

Postby bobik » Wed May 03, 2017 6:12 pm

bobik wrote:
Mock wrote:I got it working, try the spk from here instead http://spk.synologyitalia.com and remember to get the share created with the correct permission

my installation works with all apache installed, and PHP 7. as some say it wont work


Ill try but no success on DS916+ with DSM 6.1.1-15101. It broke virtualbox. Problably virtualbox missing kernel modules.
From DSM shows that virtualbox started but from console no virtualbox processes/tasks.
<Login from web interface shows
Exception Object
(
[message:protected] => Could not connect to host (http://127.0.0.1:18083/)
[string:Exception:private] =>
[code:protected] => 64
[file:protected] => /volume1/path/to_phpvirtualbox/endpoints/api.php
[line:protected] => 134
[trace:Exception:private] => Array
(
)

[previous:Exception:private] =>
)


Confirmed: There is no way to get it working, without the kernel source from synology for build 15101.

Return to “Third-party Packages”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests