Partition System volume in Crash Status

Questions pertaining to Power settings, Auto Block, Permissions, User Quotas and Email alerts may be posted here.
Forum rules
1) This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form:

https://account.synology.com/support/su ... p?lang=enu



2) To avoid putting users' DiskStation at risk, please don't paste links to any patches provided by our Support team as we will systematically remove them. Our Support team will provide the correct patch for your DiskStation model.
aeroxr1
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 10:24 pm

Partition System volume in Crash Status

Unread post by aeroxr1 » Wed Jul 11, 2018 12:24 pm

Hi,
today i'm come back to home after holiday and my ds215j has done to me a wonderful present : S.M.A.R.T in error for a bad sector , and the system partition volume blocked :roll:

In my NAS i have only one hard disk , a 2 years and half old WD Red 3TB
Periodically I do a backup on a external WD Blue.

This is what I have just done :
- I have deleted the S.M.A.RT error, in that way the DSM will give me the error only if the bad sectors will increase from 1 to above.
- I have bought a new WD Red

I have some question :
1- Is there a way to unlock the volume ? (currently i can access to data from network and with file station)

In what way can i unlock the volume ? Dsm tell me that i have to open a ticket. Is the only way ?
Last edited by aeroxr1 on Fri Jul 13, 2018 9:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

Flopper
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 1080
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 6:00 pm

Re: Partition System volume in Crash Status

Unread post by Flopper » Wed Jul 11, 2018 1:45 pm

Very quick answer to be begin.

As you have a backup, check on the WD site if your drive is still in warranty and get it replaced if so.
Some people spent a lot of time writing the Help files, use it!
Do not expect serious answers if it can be found by searching for it yourself.

aeroxr1
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 10:24 pm

Re: Partition System volume in Crash Status

Unread post by aeroxr1 » Wed Jul 11, 2018 4:03 pm

Flopper wrote:
Wed Jul 11, 2018 1:45 pm
Very quick answer to be begin.

As you have a backup, check on the WD site if your drive is still in warranty and get it replaced if so.
is the new hard disk will like tomorrow, what will the new hard disk arrive?
I have to keep the "broken" hd or have to keep both hard disk connected?

O.T: do you think that the S.M.A.R.T test is enough for the WD waranty?

Flopper
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 1080
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 6:00 pm

Re: Partition System volume in Crash Status

Unread post by Flopper » Wed Jul 11, 2018 4:08 pm

For WD warranty you need to ship the old drive. No point in keeping it if you cannot access it...
WD warranty does not require any SMART info, check their site: https://support.wdc.com/warranty/warrantystatus.aspx
Some people spent a lot of time writing the Help files, use it!
Do not expect serious answers if it can be found by searching for it yourself.

aeroxr1
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 10:24 pm

Re: Partition System volume in Crash Status

Unread post by aeroxr1 » Wed Jul 11, 2018 5:11 pm

Yes, but i wondering if the hard disk is really broken or not ;)
One only sector damaged is covered by WD waranty ?

Tomorrow I have to insert new hard disk setup everything like a new installetion and recover the backup ?

Flopper
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 1080
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 6:00 pm

Re: Partition System volume in Crash Status

Unread post by Flopper » Wed Jul 11, 2018 5:15 pm

Simple, if you can read everything, it ain't broken...
But what is it that you want to do anyway, add a second disk?
Some people spent a lot of time writing the Help files, use it!
Do not expect serious answers if it can be found by searching for it yourself.

aeroxr1
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 10:24 pm

Re: Partition System volume in Crash Status

Unread post by aeroxr1 » Wed Jul 11, 2018 6:01 pm

Flopper wrote:
Wed Jul 11, 2018 5:15 pm
Simple, if you can read everything, it ain't broken...
yes, i can read everything, or i think so.. but dsm for security has locked the write on disk on that volume. The orange status led is blinking.
Flopper wrote:
Wed Jul 11, 2018 5:15 pm
But what is it that you want to do anyway, add a second disk?
If i have to send the first hard disk to assistance , i want to use the nas with only the new harddisk until the wd send me a replacement.
In the other case i want create a raid 1.

I have to check if the wd waranty cover also a only settor damaged ;)

aeroxr1
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 10:24 pm

Re: Partition System volume in Crash Status

Unread post by aeroxr1 » Thu Jul 12, 2018 7:35 pm

in what way can i unlock the volume ? Dsm tell me that i have to open a ticket. Is the only way ?

aeroxr1
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 10:24 pm

Re: Partition System volume in Crash Status

Unread post by aeroxr1 » Fri Jul 13, 2018 9:54 am

Nothing, today I will pull the "broken" hard drive insert the new one, I will recover from backup and maybe with ubuntu copy the other file and format the broken hard disk.

Flopper
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 1080
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 6:00 pm

Re: Partition System volume in Crash Status

Unread post by Flopper » Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:02 am

What part of CHECK for warranty do you not get? It is FREE and you will have a NEW drive!
No, now you are wasting time, and actually even trying to use the 'old' one somewhere else.
Sometimes I really don't understand people...
Some people spent a lot of time writing the Help files, use it!
Do not expect serious answers if it can be found by searching for it yourself.

aeroxr1
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 10:24 pm

Re: Partition System volume in Crash Status

Unread post by aeroxr1 » Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:18 am

Flopper wrote:
Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:02 am
What part of CHECK for warranty do you not get? It is FREE and you will have a NEW drive!
Yesterday I have pull the broken hard drive from NAS, I insert it into an external box and I have tested it with Windows Data Lifeguard Diagnostics ;) (because wd waranty require the windows data lifeguard diagnostics test :) )
After all I opened a ticket to WD and I'm waiting for their answer.
Flopper wrote:
Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:02 am
No, now you are wasting time, and actually even trying to use the 'old' one somewhere else.
Sometimes I really don't understand people...
Why i'm wasting time ?
I have a new hard disk WD Red 3TB.
I need the nas.
I want to recover the backup from the external backup hard drive (where I have done a backup of a important file).
I want to recover other data not present inside the backup hard drive from the "broken" hard drive
I want format broken hard drive to not send to wd my private data

Where am I wrong?

Flopper
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 1080
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 6:00 pm

Re: Partition System volume in Crash Status

Unread post by Flopper » Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:47 am

aeroxr1 wrote:
Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:18 am
Flopper wrote:
Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:02 am
What part of CHECK for warranty do you not get? It is FREE and you will have a NEW drive!
Yesterday I have pull the broken hard drive from NAS, I insert it into an external box and I have tested it with Windows Data Lifeguard Diagnostics ;) (because wd waranty require the windows data lifeguard diagnostics test :) )
After all I opened a ticket to WD and I'm waiting for their answer.
Flopper wrote:
Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:02 am
No, now you are wasting time, and actually even trying to use the 'old' one somewhere else.
Sometimes I really don't understand people...
Why i'm wasting time ?
I have a new hard disk WD Red 3TB.
I need the nas.
I want to recover the backup from the external backup hard drive (where I have done a backup of a important file).
I want to recover other data not present inside the backup hard drive from the "broken" hard drive
I want format broken hard drive to not send to wd my private data

Where am I wrong?
WD does NOT require windows data lifeguard diagnostics test, where on earth do you get that? It is a tool they provide for you to test, that's all!

You BOUGHT an new disk, that is not a free warranty replacement, but ok..
You could have put it in several days ago and be up and running for some time now.

I have no idea what you try to achieve with recovering data from a broken disk, IF broken, because you mention somewhere you can access it from the network??? If so, then take off the data and replace it. If not and no backup, well, your bad... Good luck with that one.

As for WD and your 'private' data. First of all, ALL data is private, second, do you really think WD is going through your harddrive to look for files, really? That is a little paranoia. They cannot afford to ever get in trouble for that. See also: https://support.wdc.com/knowledgebase/a ... spx?ID=997
Some people spent a lot of time writing the Help files, use it!
Do not expect serious answers if it can be found by searching for it yourself.

aeroxr1
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 10:24 pm

Re: Partition System volume in Crash Status

Unread post by aeroxr1 » Fri Jul 13, 2018 11:23 am

Flopper wrote:
Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:47 am
aeroxr1 wrote:
Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:18 am
Flopper wrote:
Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:02 am
What part of CHECK for warranty do you not get? It is FREE and you will have a NEW drive!
Yesterday I have pull the broken hard drive from NAS, I insert it into an external box and I have tested it with Windows Data Lifeguard Diagnostics ;) (because wd waranty require the windows data lifeguard diagnostics test :) )
After all I opened a ticket to WD and I'm waiting for their answer.
Flopper wrote:
Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:02 am
No, now you are wasting time, and actually even trying to use the 'old' one somewhere else.
Sometimes I really don't understand people...
Why i'm wasting time ?
I have a new hard disk WD Red 3TB.
I need the nas.
I want to recover the backup from the external backup hard drive (where I have done a backup of a important file).
I want to recover other data not present inside the backup hard drive from the "broken" hard drive
I want format broken hard drive to not send to wd my private data

Where am I wrong?
WD does NOT require windows data lifeguard diagnostics test, where on earth do you get that? It is a tool they provide for you to test, that's all!

I don't remember where I read it, maybe I was wrong


You BOUGHT an new disk, that is not a free warranty replacement, but ok..
You could have put it in several days ago and be up and running for some time now.

I bought this hard disk because initially I want add a new hard drive to expand the space. Now after what happened I don't know what to do :
- increase the space to 6TB
- use the second drive for a SHR or Raid 1


I have no idea what you try to achieve with recovering data from a broken disk, IF broken, because you mention somewhere you can access it from the network??? If so, then take off the data and replace it. If not and no backup, well, your bad... Good luck with that one.

There is only 2 sector damaged, I can access to all data inside hard disk via file station , and i suppose I can also access to that data with linux. Dsm say that the volume is blocked in write and that I can't repair file system from myself but i have to contact the synology assistant

As for WD and your 'private' data. First of all, ALL data is private, second, do you really think WD is going through your harddrive to look for files, really? That is a little paranoia. They cannot afford to ever get in trouble for that. See also: https://support.wdc.com/knowledgebase/a ... spx?ID=997

SomeTimes ago I send an acer notebook to assistance beacause didn't boot because bios flash didn't go well and Acer send me a new notebook. Few weeks later an user contacted me via facebook, and told that acer replace his not working pc with a replacement. And... this replacement was my old pc regenerated but not formatted, and all my data still there...
I write the answer in bold. I don't know why you are so angry with me, but it's ok ;)

However I installed dsm on the new hard disk, after the reboot dsj215j doesn't accept ip from my router :roll: DHCP of my router has some problem with last firmware :roll:
Last edited by aeroxr1 on Fri Jul 13, 2018 11:34 am, edited 2 times in total.

synology_ukman
Seasoned
Seasoned
Posts: 529
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 4:51 pm

Re: Partition System volume in Crash Status

Unread post by synology_ukman » Fri Jul 13, 2018 11:26 am

Flopper wrote:
Wed Jul 11, 2018 4:08 pm
For WD warranty you need to ship the old drive. No point in keeping it if you cannot access it...
WD warranty does not require any SMART info, check their site: https://support.wdc.com/warranty/warrantystatus.aspx
Bear in mind NAS customers who buy complete Synology solutions (with disks) will find the WD/Seagate online warrranty check will not work for their drives serial numbers.

This is because the drives sold in complete solutions are OEM drives.

Only retail sales drives work in the warranty checkers.

Flopper
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 1080
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 6:00 pm

Re: Partition System volume in Crash Status

Unread post by Flopper » Fri Jul 13, 2018 11:58 am

synology_ukman wrote:
Fri Jul 13, 2018 11:26 am
Flopper wrote:
Wed Jul 11, 2018 4:08 pm
For WD warranty you need to ship the old drive. No point in keeping it if you cannot access it...
WD warranty does not require any SMART info, check their site: https://support.wdc.com/warranty/warrantystatus.aspx
Bear in mind NAS customers who buy complete Synology solutions (with disks) will find the WD/Seagate online warrranty check will not work for their drives serial numbers.

This is because the drives sold in complete solutions are OEM drives.

Only retail sales drives work in the warranty checkers.
I know about that, and that is why I never buy them prebuild. I mainly use WD Red or WD Purple for my configs.
Some people spent a lot of time writing the Help files, use it!
Do not expect serious answers if it can be found by searching for it yourself.

Post Reply

Return to “System Management”