RAID1 over Internet (across network)

The general discussion room of 2012 Synology DiskStations.
Do not post support questions in this room, please refer to one of the rooms below for further assistance.
Forum rules
1) This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form:

https://account.synology.com/support/su ... p?lang=enu



2) To avoid putting users' DiskStation at risk, please don't paste links to any patches provided by our Support team as we will systematically remove them. Our Support team will provide the correct patch for your DiskStation model.
puthrap
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 12:24 am

RAID1 over Internet (across network)

Unread post by puthrap » Thu Jan 24, 2013 12:27 am

Hi,

I am looking for an answer to this..I want to buy two single bay NAS devices (DS112j), keep them both at 2 different locations (infact Two different cities), each NAS will be equipped with 2TB hard drives & I want to use RAID-1 & have a mirror of my data stored at the other location. In case, my NAS fails, I will have a back up at the other location. Does that work?

Also, I want to know, can we put data at both the places? or it can be only done at one location?

Is there any software out there to actually RAID these things across a network or should I just look at some sort of back up software to do it?

I don't need instantaneous sync though it would be nice. We very rarely access the array at the same time.

please advice
Last edited by puthrap on Thu Jan 24, 2013 1:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
Posts: 19539
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: DS112j at Two locations

Unread post by HarryPotter » Thu Jan 24, 2013 1:16 am

You can not have RAID1 on a 1 bay model.

But yes you can backup from one to the other location.
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS718+ / DSM 6.2-23511 / ST4000VN000-2AH166 / SA400S37120G SSD cache /16 GB RAM
DS415+ / DSM 6.2-23511

LMS 7.9.1-166, 2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom

APC Smart UPS SUA750i

puthrap
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 12:24 am

Re: DS112j at Two locations

Unread post by puthrap » Thu Jan 24, 2013 1:20 am

HarryPotter wrote:You can not have RAID1 on a 1 bay model.

But yes you can backup from one to the other location.
Thanks HarryPotter for your quick response, in that case can I have two bay model at one location having 2TB & 4TB & 1 bay model at another location having 2TB, both 2TB's mirroring data to 4TB? is that possible?

puthrap
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 12:24 am

Re: RAID1 over Internet (across network)

Unread post by puthrap » Thu Jan 24, 2013 1:35 am

Or can I use 1 Bay at each location & use SyncToy that way both the NAS will have the same data?

User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
Posts: 19539
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: RAID1 over Internet (across network)

Unread post by HarryPotter » Thu Jan 24, 2013 7:47 am

As I said, you can backup from one to the other and vice versa. There is a folder sync built in, but it is a one way sync only. Raid over different devices is not possible, regardless of internet or lan.
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS718+ / DSM 6.2-23511 / ST4000VN000-2AH166 / SA400S37120G SSD cache /16 GB RAM
DS415+ / DSM 6.2-23511

LMS 7.9.1-166, 2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom

APC Smart UPS SUA750i

puthrap
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 12:24 am

Re: RAID1 over Internet (across network)

Unread post by puthrap » Fri Jan 25, 2013 8:39 pm

HarryPotter wrote:As I said, you can backup from one to the other and vice versa. There is a folder sync built in, but it is a one way sync only. Raid over different devices is not possible, regardless of internet or lan.
Thanks HarryPotter, Does DS212J support DRBD? I believe using DRBD I can do network based raid-1?

Pls advice.

User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
Posts: 19539
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: RAID1 over Internet (across network)

Unread post by HarryPotter » Fri Jan 25, 2013 9:27 pm

I have never read anything about DRBD in conjunction with Synology DiskStations.
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS718+ / DSM 6.2-23511 / ST4000VN000-2AH166 / SA400S37120G SSD cache /16 GB RAM
DS415+ / DSM 6.2-23511

LMS 7.9.1-166, 2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom

APC Smart UPS SUA750i

puthrap
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 12:24 am

Re: RAID1 over Internet (across network)

Unread post by puthrap » Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:20 pm

I read about SHA (Synology High Availability), it suits my need..however looks like it is only available for high end models like x86 series.

DSM 4.2 adds support for Amazon's Glacier cloud backup service. Synology High Availability (SHA), a scheme in which one NAS acts as an active server and a second one takes over seamlessly when there is a failure in the active one (because the two servers are being synced continuously), is now available for all x86 models. Synology also indicated that all the x86 models are VMware vSphere 5 VAAI and Windows Server 2012 certified.

IT Engineer
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 6:52 pm

Re: RAID over Internet (across network) or other solution

Unread post by IT Engineer » Sun Oct 20, 2013 11:27 pm

We have two exactly the same DS1512+ with 2x 4TB inside each - on TWO DIFFERENT places (work and home office). We need to have the same content on each of them and when making changes, it should be automatically also on the other NAS.
Did buy them dec 2012 and they are still not installed... : (

My Question is:
With totally 4x4Tb =16 TB, 7800, 24/7 Enterprise Hitachi drives - Raid with two 4 Tb HDD inside each NAS and synchronizing with the other NAS, will result in totally only 4TB for content. The rest is for Raid / mirror. Is pretty expensive to have filled up with 40 TB of the Hitachi drives, so how can I configure this system, so it can easily be extended, when new drives are available. The personal cloud is the most important to us, so iPad is working wherever we are in the world.

Do anyone know any smart solutions? Any ideas? Is SHA an option? Raid 0 ?

It's only all the ever expanding educational stuff for all our students, music, film, pictures etc. on both sides and synchronizing in both directions is essential, so we never loosing data when synchronizing just one way.

Thanks for reading so far and thanks for your creative, smart solutions! http://forum.synology.com/enu/posting.p ... 8&p=285965#

Cheers

cfuttrup
Virtuoso
Virtuoso
Posts: 1339
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 8:01 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: RAID over Internet (across network) or other solution

Unread post by cfuttrup » Mon Oct 21, 2013 6:41 pm

IT Engineer wrote:We need to have the same content on each of them and when making changes, it should be automatically also on the other NAS.
I don't know how to help you but I read on Wikipedia what you want is called "live mirror" - see:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mirror_(computing)

/Claus

cfuttrup
Virtuoso
Virtuoso
Posts: 1339
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 8:01 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: RAID1 over Internet (across network)

Unread post by cfuttrup » Fri Oct 25, 2013 5:59 pm

Synology offers Shared Folder Sync ... I think this is the closest to what you are asking for:
http://www.synology.com/dsm/business_da ... hp?lang=us

/Claus

Post Reply

Return to “2012 Synology DiskStation Hardware Discussion”