Upgrade erased etc/hosts

A hotfix launched to address issues (see release notes) occurring after the DSM 3.2-1922 upgrade.
Forum rules
1) This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form:

https://account.synology.com/support/su ... p?lang=enu



2) To avoid putting users' DiskStation at risk, please don't paste links to any patches provided by our Support team as we will systematically remove them. Our Support team will provide the correct patch for your DiskStation model.
JohnM
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2011 6:54 pm

Upgrade erased etc/hosts

Unread post by JohnM » Thu Oct 27, 2011 9:16 pm

When I installed the upgrade the /etc/hosts file was overwritten. That is a problem for those of us that use dnsmasq. I do have a backup so not everything was lost but that was not expected.

Now I have to get the web server and wordpress working again. :evil:

haef67
Sharp
Sharp
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 12:58 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Upgrade erased etc/hosts

Unread post by haef67 » Fri Oct 28, 2011 7:27 am

You have to understand that almost every files which are located in the system partion may be overwritten by a firmware upgrade. So if you have modified some of the files it is up to you to backup them in order to be able to restore them after the upgrade

Patrick
DS-107+ (128Mo) | Firmware Version: 2.2-0959 | HDD: Samsung 500GB HD501LJ[/size]
DS-110j (128Mo) | Firmware Version: 2.3-1157 | HDD: Samsung 1TB HD103SJ[/size]
USBStation 2 (128Mo) | Alternative Firmware Version: 3.0-1417 (with IPKG)| 16Go Compact Flash card & 2.5" HDD 350GB[/size]

User avatar
gangsterwagen
Knowledgeable
Knowledgeable
Posts: 326
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 3:43 pm

Re: Upgrade erased etc/hosts

Unread post by gangsterwagen » Fri Oct 28, 2011 10:29 pm

haef67 wrote:You have to understand that almost every files which are located in the system partion may be overwritten by a firmware upgrade. So if you have modified some of the files it is up to you to backup them in order to be able to restore them after the upgrade

Patrick

Very silly explenation.
It's totaly normal for me, that during upgrade procedure data like hosts, domains, etc. should be not overwritten.

Post Reply

Return to “DiskStation Manager 3.2 - 1944”