Hyper Backup Error

Discussion room for the Hyper Backup package
Forum rules
1) This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form:

https://account.synology.com/support/su ... p?lang=enu



2) To avoid putting users' DiskStation at risk, please don't paste links to any patches provided by our Support team as we will systematically remove them. Our Support team will provide the correct patch for your DiskStation model.
matt8445
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 9:44 pm

Hyper Backup Error

Unread post by matt8445 » Wed Feb 14, 2018 6:31 am

I am trying to rn hyper backup between two nas untis. I cannot seem to get hyper backup to work and am hoping for some help.

I go to the DSM for the Source NAS and go to hyper back up and click the little + sign to add a backup task, I choose data backup task, I choose Synology Remote NAS Device for my destination and click next to get to the next screen. I then get this error.

Backup Wizard
Image
https://www.dropbox.com/s/41x54fsptb2el ... 1.PNG?dl=0

Error
Image
https://www.dropbox.com/s/4xnkkjz3oowle ... 2.PNG?dl=0

I then check the destination nas to confirm that the hyper back up vault is installed and running. It is

Hyper Back up vault on destination
Image
https://www.dropbox.com/s/t4jrnekayt8i5 ... t.PNG?dl=0

I go to control panel to check the port mapping. The local port is set to 6281 for hyper back up vault. The router port is set to 52423. I am not sure if I cannot have the same router ports using 6281 because the two nas's are on the same LAN, but when I do the test connection it goes through okay.

Image
https://www.dropbox.com/s/wnluz0u7081nl ... 1.PNG?dl=0

I am not sure if I have my port forwarding wrong on my router set right or what. Any help is greatly appreciated.
DS214 Play
dsm 5.1-5004
(2) WD Red 5TB drives

xexebanana
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 6:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Hyper Backup Error

Unread post by xexebanana » Wed Feb 14, 2018 11:29 am

You must enable in the destination diskstation the rsync service.

Control Panel->File Services->rsync
DS211j & DS215j

matt8445
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 9:44 pm

Re: Hyper Backup Error

Unread post by matt8445 » Wed Feb 14, 2018 4:44 pm

Ahh so that helped, but now even more super confused.

Sorry if this seems a bit novice.

I have (2) DS. Lets say 1 is my main. Lets say 2 is only going to be used for a backup of my main. They are on the same wan. They have static IP's. Number 1 is 192.168.1.101 and number 2 is 192.168.1.102.

I messed around with the port forwarding on my router and seem to have gotten it to work correctly. However what I am noticing when I log into to my DSM for Number 1, go to hyper backup, + to add a task, I choose the server name and ip of (192,168.1.102) for server 2 as my destination target. Port is 6281. User Name is my Login and Password for the main account I use. When I click the share folder dropdown though the directory list I am shown is for the shares on number 1. I think in essence I am essentially creating a back up task to the same nas. But I have the IP Address targeting a different NAS. Any idea why this could be? This is very confusing to me.

The only thing in my googling to try and troubleshoot some of this is that I notice if I go to my synology account page. The external IP address for both NAS's is the same. I have no idea why that would be. Anyone have any idea?
DS214 Play
dsm 5.1-5004
(2) WD Red 5TB drives

xexebanana
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 6:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Hyper Backup Error

Unread post by xexebanana » Thu Feb 15, 2018 4:47 pm

Your Diskstation are not on the same WAN, they are on the same LAN. WAN=Internet ; LAN=internal home network.

For traffic inside the LAN there is no need to open ports on the router, in the LAN part of the router all traffic is allowed.

The user account that you must use is the administrator account for diskstation 2(192.168.1.102).

On the dropdown menu it should show the available shares on diskstation2 to where place the backup. Probably the shares have the same name of those in diskstation1.
DS211j & DS215j

Post Reply

Return to “Hyper Backup”