Photo Station, File Station and Mail Station icon on desktop

An update of DSM 3.0 operating system, including enhanced iPhone and Android phone support, Windows ACL integration, comprehensive iSCSI support, extended volume size capability, Surveillance Station, and a new feature of Time Backup application.
koenraad
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 5:24 pm
Location: Belgium

Photo Station, File Station and Mail Station icon on desktop

Postby koenraad » Wed Sep 22, 2010 11:58 am

Hi

anyone knows how to put photostation link on users desktop?
In dsm3.0 only admin has possibility to put the link on desktop
in former release this was the case


thanks


Koen
User avatar
axj
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 1059
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 10:59 am
Location: Esbjerg, Danmark

Re: DSM3.0 Photostation link on desktop

Postby axj » Thu Sep 23, 2010 5:39 pm

I use a link like http://axj.dk:82/audio (I can't use port 5000 from outside).
It works fine and can be used both inside and outside my router.
DS509+ 4*1TB Raid+1TB DSM 4.0-2219. Logitech BOOM+Duet 7.6.1, WebCam: Linksys WVC54GCA + TrendNet TV-IP121
DS212+ 1TB & D-Link DIR-685, HP C7280, Dell 3100cn. iPad3, Programming Pascal, Clarion 5.5, html/php. http://axj.dk
User avatar
itari
Sharp
Sharp
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 9:17 am
Location: Germany

Re: DSM3.0 Photostation link on desktop

Postby itari » Sat Sep 25, 2010 2:19 pm

koenraad wrote:anyone knows how to put photostation link on users desktop?
In dsm3.0 only admin has possibility to put the link on desktop
in former release this was the case


This is a DSM 3.0 config mod, which does it. The modification goes on your cap :D and make a copy of the file before you do anything.

Look at file /usr/syno/synoman/webman/modules/LegacyApps/config - it's JSON:

Code: Select all

{".url":{"SYNO.SDS.MobileEdition":{"type":"url","hidden":true,"title":"common:mobile_edition","icon":"images/mobile_{0}.png","url":"?forceDesktop=0","urlTarget":"_self"},"SYNO.SDS.PhotoStation":{"type":"url","title":"Photo Station","allUsers":true,"icon":"images/{0}/Photo-Station.png","urlTag":"photo","urlTarget":"_syno_photo"},"SYNO.SDS.WebStation":{"type":"url","title":"Web Station","icon":"images/{0}/Web-Station.png","urlTag":"web","urlTarget":"_syno_web"},"SYNO.SDS.FileStation":{"type":"url","title":"File Station","icon":"images/{0}/File-Station.png","urlTag":"cfs","urlTarget":"_syno_cfs"},"SYNO.SDS.SurveillanceStation":{"type":"url","allUsers":true,"title":"Surveillance Station","icon":"images/{0}/Surveillance-Station.png","url":"/surveillance/cgi/","urlTarget":"_syno_surveillance","windowParam":"channelmode=1, directories=0, fullscreen=0, location=0, menubar=0, resizable=1, status=1, titlebar=0, toolbar=0"},"SYNO.SDS.AudioStation":{"type":"legacy","allUsers":true,"title":"Audio Station","icon":"images/{0}/Audio-Station.png","allowMultiInstance":false,"width":1060,"height":600,"url":"/audio/","urlTarget":"_syno_audio","urlDefMode":"embed"},"SYNO.SDS.DownloadStation":{"type":"legacy","allUsers":true,"title":"Download Station","icon":"images/{0}/Download-Station.png","allowMultiInstance":false,"width":960,"height":600,"url":"/download/","urlTarget":"_syno_download","urlDefMode":"embed"}}}


Modify the following part:

"SYNO.SDS.PhotoStation":{
"type":"url",
"title":"Photo Station",
"allUsers":true,
"icon":"images/{0}/Photo-Station.png",
"urlTag":"photo",
"urlTarget":"_syno_photo"
}

Now start the DSM 3.0 with a user account and make a shortcut to the desktop.

Try it out with other applications ... but know, system functions will rejected.

Itari
koenraad
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 5:24 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: DSM3.0 Photostation link on desktop

Postby koenraad » Sat Sep 25, 2010 10:38 pm

Thank you for this info,
I would realy like to give this a try but i dont know how to access this data to get it modified,
where can I find some info on how to do this?

Thanks

Koenraad
User avatar
itari
Sharp
Sharp
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 9:17 am
Location: Germany

Re: DSM3.0 Photostation link on desktop

Postby itari » Mon Sep 27, 2010 10:13 am

You may use telnet or ssh to access the file - editor may be vi or install MC (IPKG).

Itari
elfeneco
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 1:20 pm

Photostation and Mail Icon on desktop

Postby elfeneco » Thu Sep 30, 2010 1:26 pm

Hi,
Before upgrading to DSM 3, we had access to photostation and mail directly on desktop.
Now, when I log as an admin, no problem I have these 2 icons. But If I try to connect with another user account, no direct access to Mail ophotostation !
Does anybody have also this problem or is it just me ?

Thank you all in advance !
User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
Posts: 18675
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Photostation and Mail Icon on desktop

Postby HarryPotter » Thu Sep 30, 2010 4:24 pm

This is a (new) feature...
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS718+ / DSM 6.1.3-15152-7 / ST4000VN000-2AH166 / 16 GB RAM
DS713+ / DSM 6.1.3-15152-7 / HD501LJ + HD502IJ (RAID0)
DS415+ / DSM 6.1.3-15152-7

2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom

APC Smart UPS SUA750i
elfeneco
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 1:20 pm

Re: Photostation and Mail Icon on desktop

Postby elfeneco » Thu Sep 30, 2010 6:13 pm

Sorry but what do you mezn exactly ?
User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
Posts: 18675
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Photostation and Mail Icon on desktop

Postby HarryPotter » Thu Sep 30, 2010 6:15 pm

I mean it is not a bug or only you are affected. It is simply designed like this by Synology.
If you want to know the reason for it, you have to contact Synology and ask.
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS718+ / DSM 6.1.3-15152-7 / ST4000VN000-2AH166 / 16 GB RAM
DS713+ / DSM 6.1.3-15152-7 / HD501LJ + HD502IJ (RAID0)
DS415+ / DSM 6.1.3-15152-7

2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom

APC Smart UPS SUA750i
elfeneco
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 1:20 pm

Re: Photostation and Mail Icon on desktop

Postby elfeneco » Thu Sep 30, 2010 8:19 pm

Ok thank you for your quick answer... :wink:
antoiney
Synology Inc
Synology Inc
Posts: 767
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2009 3:41 am

Re: Photostation and Mail Icon on desktop

Postby antoiney » Mon Oct 04, 2010 4:46 am

Hi elfeneco,

The PhotoStation/MailStation icons will be added within the coming hotfix.
There is no announced release date yet, although one thing for certain - it'll most likely support this feature.

Thank you.
**Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!**
Library ~ SynologyWiki ~ Synology FAQ ~ Compatibility Lists
Forum Links ~ Forum Policy ~ 3rd-party forums ~ Help us help you ~ Posting Images
Demo Links ~ DSM GUI ~ Photo Station
Downloads ~ Firmware Downloads ~ Beta Program
Support ~ Support Form ~ Submit Kernel Log ~ Synology eNews
simonvinder
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2010 3:01 pm

Can't get File station to show on other users.

Postby simonvinder » Tue Oct 05, 2010 12:44 pm

Hey guys!

I can't get file station to show on other users? There is no short-cut even though I've given them access to the file station.
Can anyone help me with this?

Thanks in advance!
User avatar
axj
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 1059
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 10:59 am
Location: Esbjerg, Danmark

Re: Can't get File station to show on other users.

Postby axj » Tue Oct 05, 2010 2:18 pm

You should be able to use the FileStation using http://yourdomain:7000 (this may be redirected)
from outside world or using http://192.168.xxx.yyy:7000 from inside your LAN.
DS509+ 4*1TB Raid+1TB DSM 4.0-2219. Logitech BOOM+Duet 7.6.1, WebCam: Linksys WVC54GCA + TrendNet TV-IP121
DS212+ 1TB & D-Link DIR-685, HP C7280, Dell 3100cn. iPad3, Programming Pascal, Clarion 5.5, html/php. http://axj.dk
simonvinder
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2010 3:01 pm

Re: Can't get File station to show on other users.

Postby simonvinder » Tue Oct 05, 2010 3:35 pm

So there is no way go get a shortcut in your dekstop, as a different user ? Seems kinda odd when that feature was available in the 2.3?
snakedoctor13
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 4:19 pm

Re: DSM3.0 Photostation link on desktop

Postby snakedoctor13 » Tue Oct 05, 2010 4:36 pm

Exactly what I was looking for. It worked perfectly.
Thx!

Return to “DiskStation Manager 3.0 - 1334/1337”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest