convert ext3 to ext4 [merged thread]

An update of DSM 3.0 operating system, including enhanced iPhone and Android phone support, Windows ACL integration, comprehensive iSCSI support, extended volume size capability, Surveillance Station, and a new feature of Time Backup application.
Forum rules
1) This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form:

https://account.synology.com/support/support_form.php?lang=enu



2) To avoid putting users' DiskStation at risk, please don't paste links to any patches provided by our Support team as we will systematically remove them. Our Support team will provide the correct patch for your DiskStation model.
depam
Novice
Novice
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 9:06 am

convert ext3 to ext4 [merged thread]

Postby depam » Thu Sep 23, 2010 6:06 am

Hi,

Does anyone tried converting ext3 to ext4? I read that it can be done without data loss? I was just wondering if someone have already did using their DSM. This is good to do if planning to increase the disk capacity.
jccguays
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 4:48 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Does anyone have tried converting ext3 to ext4?

Postby jccguays » Thu Sep 23, 2010 12:32 pm

I have my disks empties and I would like to do it, but I don't know how to.

Any help (from windows) would be perfect.

Regards
DS415+ / 2 Western Digital WD30EFRX - 2 Western Digital WD40EFRX
DS212+ / 2 Western Digital WD40EFRX
jccguays
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 4:48 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Does anyone have tried converting ext3 to ext4?

Postby jccguays » Thu Sep 23, 2010 6:19 pm

My experience

viewtopic.php?f=162&t=28492

Regards
DS415+ / 2 Western Digital WD30EFRX - 2 Western Digital WD40EFRX
DS212+ / 2 Western Digital WD40EFRX
jminiman
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 1:11 pm

Non-destructive EXT3 to EXT4 convert?

Postby jminiman » Thu Sep 23, 2010 9:25 pm

Simple enough question...with DSM 3.0, can I upgrade without performing a format?
depam
Novice
Novice
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 9:06 am

Re: Does anyone have tried converting ext3 to ext4?

Postby depam » Fri Sep 24, 2010 1:57 pm

I was wondering if you can do without formatting the hard drive and just converting ext3 to ext4. Has anyone tried using the command line to convert? What's your experience?
lifeline
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 10:55 am

Re: Non-destructive EXT3 to EXT4 convert?

Postby lifeline » Sun Sep 26, 2010 5:58 am

i wish to know this answer too.

found this on the web:
http://maketecheasier.com/how-to-upgrad ... 2009/04/21
if this is possible, then synology should come up with a straight-forward converter for endusers.

i hope the synology experts can clarify if there is any possibility of a ext3-to-ext4 converter and whether any is in the pipeline.
otherwise will have to bite the bullet to spend time backing up (got to do this anyway), then format to ext4 and do clean install, then refill my ds1010+.

the answer will help me to save 2 weeks of data transfer.

thanks in advance.
User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
Posts: 18962
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Non-destructive EXT3 to EXT4 convert?

Postby HarryPotter » Sun Sep 26, 2010 9:21 am

You may read the following comment from Synology (vm.franklin):

viewtopic.php?p=107889#p107889
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS718+ / DSM 6.2-23511 / ST4000VN000-2AH166 / SA400S37120G SSD cache /16 GB RAM
DS415+ / DSM 6.2-23511

LMS 7.9.1-166, 2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom

APC Smart UPS SUA750i
lifeline
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 10:55 am

Re: Non-destructive EXT3 to EXT4 convert?

Postby lifeline » Sun Sep 26, 2010 9:53 am

thanks HarryPotter. already read that plus lots of other threads too.
will just have to spend the time needed.
EvtK
Student
Student
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 7:06 pm

DS 207+ on RAID 1, convert to EXT4

Postby EvtK » Sun Sep 26, 2010 6:14 pm

Hi Everybody,

I have been running the beta 3.0 for a while and noticed my transfer speeds going down. I found a full release of the 3.0 software here and read on the forums of support for EXT4. EXT4 might boost the transfer speeds.

So I'm on raid I, meaning I have only one volume with 2 disks in it. I can't do backup within synology I guess, so are backing up everything to pc. After this I want to remove the volume to make a new EXT4.

I have 2 questions:

1. Is it really smart to convert to EXT4? Will it give me better performance?
2. Considering the speed: do you advise me to change the raid to raid 0 and make a weekly backup? If so: how do I manage this?

thnx.
synologyorqnap
Student
Student
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 10:08 pm

Re: DS 207+ on RAID 1, convert to EXT4

Postby synologyorqnap » Sun Sep 26, 2010 8:04 pm

I think EXT4 isn't available on the 7 series so you don't have to worry about it.
EvtK
Student
Student
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 7:06 pm

Re: DS 207+ on RAID 1, convert to EXT4

Postby EvtK » Sun Sep 26, 2010 9:34 pm

hmm indeed, it seems like it.

well then I don't have to think about it. thnx!

still interested if it is better to go for raid 1 or to do a JBDO or Raid 0 with weekly backup. Which wil give me the most speed?
User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
Posts: 18962
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: DS 207+ on RAID 1, convert to EXT4

Postby HarryPotter » Mon Sep 27, 2010 12:05 am

RAID0 is the fastest setup, but has the greatst risks.
RAID1 is the slowest one.
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS718+ / DSM 6.2-23511 / ST4000VN000-2AH166 / SA400S37120G SSD cache /16 GB RAM
DS415+ / DSM 6.2-23511

LMS 7.9.1-166, 2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom

APC Smart UPS SUA750i
EvtK
Student
Student
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 7:06 pm

Re: DS 207+ on RAID 1, convert to EXT4

Postby EvtK » Mon Sep 27, 2010 7:37 am

Allright..

and how about a JBOD? Meaning 2 disks = 2 volumes and a weekly backup from volume 1 to volume 2.

Will that be faster then my Raid 1 I have now?
User avatar
maxxfi
Compiler
Compiler
Posts: 6794
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 12:13 pm
Location: Espoo, Finland

Re: DS 207+ on RAID 1, convert to EXT4

Postby maxxfi » Mon Sep 27, 2010 9:21 am

What type of I/O do you typically have, in terms of writes vs reads?
If you basically have a static storage where you just read, I don't think there is
much difference between JBOD or RAID1. RAID0 could have some advantage as it
can read from both disks at same time.

If you are considering having JBODs backing up each other (i.e. you don't need
the 2nd disk to increase capacity) you are probably better offer with RAID 1.

If you are considering JBODs against RAID0, that at least would reduce the
amount of damages when you meet a disk failure (a dead JBOD would not
affect the other one).
DS-106j > DS-210j > DS-411
jccguays
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 4:48 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Does anyone have tried converting ext3 to ext4?

Postby jccguays » Mon Sep 27, 2010 9:35 am

Hi, I dind't for command line the conversion to ext4.

Anyway, previously I changed to ext4 the hard disks and I didn't have any problem
DS415+ / 2 Western Digital WD30EFRX - 2 Western Digital WD40EFRX
DS212+ / 2 Western Digital WD40EFRX

Return to “DiskStation Manager 3.0 - 1334/1337”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest